RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Digital Cameras(8 posts)

Digital Cameraswerdna
Oct 13, 2002 4:48 PM
Does anyone bring a digital camera along for rides? Do you use it often? It is a hastle to take pictures? Is it hard to take picture while riding? How many pictures do you usually take per ride? And finally, how would you rate the Canon Powershot S200 Digital Elph camera?

Thanks,
Andrew
Yes,No,Yes,Yes,10,6firstrax
Oct 13, 2002 5:17 PM
Yes, yes, no, no, 30, 8 out of 10. nmMB1
Oct 14, 2002 4:50 AM
re: Digital Camerasjwarrenod
Oct 13, 2002 8:08 PM
I've got that camera. Haven't taken it on a ride yet, haven't done any rides lately that I'd expect to have "scenic vistas" on. It would easily fit in a jersey pocket or in a small to mid-sized seat pack (may replace the tube though). I'd probably pack it in a baggie to protect against water. Takes good pictures. I researched it here on the consumerreview photo forums.

JW
re: Digital Camerasfiltersweep
Oct 14, 2002 3:56 AM
S200 rates higher than a 6! Oh, he meant 6 out of 6.... I get it. For $300 or so at Target (even) you can't go wrong.

It has great bang for the buck, including a rechargeable battery and optical zoom... and it doesn't feel like a cheap kids toy like most "consumer-level" cameras.

The Elph might not have the world's highest resolution, but if have any experience with digital photography, you know that everything ends up being compressed into jpegs by the camera itself anyway...
re: Digital Cameraslnin0
Oct 14, 2002 6:30 AM
I often consider taking my digital camera (a small Canon s30) but always end up leaving it behind. For my taste, even the compact s30 is a little too bulky for a jersey pocket and on the trails if I toss it in my camel back I never seem to stop and enjoy the view. So if you ride hard or train for racing all the time then you probably wont get much use out of a camera. If, however, you already stop to enjoy the scenery then a camera may be just right for you.

As far a digital cameras go I don't think you will find a better compromise than with the Digital Elfs. You get a very high quality camera and lens which is also very small (maybe even jersey pocket small) and tough. Sure, it is not 5 MP but it is also not a beast to drag around - and as I said earlier, I consider my s30 a beast on the road if you travel with only what fits in your jersey pocket.

If you are happy with 5x7 (maybe 8x10 depending on how descerning your eye is) or you just plan on using you photos online then you shouldn't have any worries with this great camera. Try DPReview.com - you will find a lot of info on Digital Cameras there...assuming you already checked photographyreview.com :)
Get it for $249.00 deliveredInhighgear
Oct 14, 2002 11:28 AM
I have S200. Soon to be replaced by S220. Get it cheaper that 4299.00.

Check it out here:

http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.cfm?catid=40&threadid=886088&highlight_key=y&keyword1=s200
Get it for $249.00 deliveredInhighgear
Oct 14, 2002 11:29 AM
I have S200. Soon to be replaced by S220. Get it cheaper that $299.00.

Check it out here:

http://forums.anandtech.com/messageview.cfm?catid=40&threadid=886088&highlight_key=y&keyword1=s200