RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Need backpack advice(8 posts)

Need backpack advicefbg111
Oct 12, 2002 5:23 AM
I'm building up my mileage, and will probably start doing centuries sometime in November. I've decided I want to get a camelbak (or similar product), but I want something that not only stores water but gear as well. I'd like a camelbak that I can stuff a rain jacket into, as well as an extra pair of socks, biking shorts, and jersey, and a small towel. Anyone have any good recommendations for such a backback?
MULE or HAWGsn69
Oct 12, 2002 6:15 AM
http://www.camelbak.com/rec/cb_prod.cfm?catid=6&product_id=146

I've ridden several centuries and one 24 hour mountain bike race (well...19 hours of it, at least) with the MULE. I find the other too large. Between internal storage and external compression storage, the MULE holds enough to include a spare change of clothing, fould weather gear, bike goodies and food.

Scott
Camelbak Blowfishregulajo
Oct 12, 2002 8:17 AM
It can be unzipped to fit more gear, or with it zipped it is more compressed. Works well for me for Mtn. Biking and not as big as the Hawg. Good Luck.
Camelbak vs. Hydrapakfbg111
Oct 12, 2002 1:31 PM
Thanks for the advice. How about Hydrapak? They have a few that look relevant as well, and I've heard their bite valve is better than Camelbak's. Any brand preferences between these two?
I vote Ultimate DirectionKristin
Oct 12, 2002 2:11 PM
I love my UD pack. They design them to be flexible to fit a variety of settings. Mine (The XSpurt http://www.mtbreview.com/reviews/Water_Carrier/product_86637.shtml) carries 100 ounces of water, with room for gear, and an extra bladder or wet weather clothes. The yoke straps are blissfully comfortable, and the back is well padded. In addition, all the straps are removable. And UD has one design that is a pack within a pack. You can take the whole bag with up to 130 oz of water, ALL your gear, plus the kitchen sink; or you can remove the largest bladder, attach the back pack straps to it and just carry water. Best of both worlds.

If you have only one purpose for the bag, then flexiblity is probably not what you need. I like mine because I can take it hiking, riding or backpacking (without straps, it carries 200 ounces of water nicely inside an internal frame pack.)
UDs are great; how about a Gregory RPM?sn69
Oct 12, 2002 3:29 PM
http://www.rei.com/online/store/ProductDisplay?productId=12712351&storeId=8000&catalogId=40000008000&langId=-1

The RPM has a 128 oz resevoir, a sizeable gear compartment, compression straps, 3M refelctive tape, and a screw-on nipple. =)~

They are a bit pricey, though.

A real masochist, however, would simply ride the century lugging a Gregory Palisade or Arcteryx Bora 70. ...On a lugged steel single speed...with Chuck Taylor high tops.
Thanks for the info! nmfbg111
Oct 14, 2002 4:11 AM
Vaude Sienna - hands downpben
Oct 14, 2002 5:53 AM
have had this product for 3 years and is by far one of the BEST pieces of equipment I have EVER owned.