RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cannondale/Giant pricing?(9 posts)

Cannondale/Giant pricing?redtwin
Oct 10, 2002 10:55 PM
Does anyone know where I can get this info?. I have checked their websites, but they don't list MSRP. Giant gives a range, but that doesn't really help me much. It would be nice to know if the bikes I am looking at are within my price range. I would also like to be a bit more informed before I go into a bike store rather than have to pepper them with "How much is this" and "how much is that" questions.

Or is this one of those "If you have to ask, you can't afford it" type deals??.
re: Cannondale/Giant pricing?divve
Oct 11, 2002 12:37 AM
Go to the review section. Lots of retail prices listed there. Note that certain 03 models will be more expensive than their 02 counter parts due to feature upgrades.

http://www.roadbikereview.com/psc2002,Bikes/2002,Road,Bike/PLS_4229crx.aspx
re: Cannondale/Giant pricing?redtwin
Oct 11, 2002 1:29 AM
Thanks, I did see the pricing in the review section but was hoping to get 2003 prices. The Cannondale models changed name/designation between 2002 and 2003 so that makes things a bit more difficult.

Is there a particular reason why they don't publish their prices?. I can't imagine that a set list or MSRP would negatively affect their retail dealers.
Which models are you looking at?fbg111
Oct 11, 2002 3:26 AM
At my lbs in Wilmington, NC:

2003 Giant TCR2: $1400
2003 TCR Composite 1: $2499
2003 TCR Composite 0: $3499

Maybe somebody else remembers some other models' prices at their lbs. Also, you should be able to find these prices at online stores that sell each brand as well. Here's the only one I know that sells Giants:

http://www.fastrackbicycles.com/

You may have to email them for specific prices.

Don't know much about Cannondale dealers and prices.
Some '03 Cannondale pricing:jtferraro
Oct 11, 2002 4:44 AM
I'm considering the R2000, which cost $2400
The R1000 cost around $1800-$1900
The R3000 is around $3K+ish

Hope this helps.

-Jeff
Which models are you looking at?redtwin
Oct 11, 2002 11:16 AM
Thanks for the prices, but I am kinda at the other end of the spectrum and looking for something more entry level 8-). The Giant OCR 1 and Cannondale R600 were the models that caught my eye.

I went through the review section again and tried to narrow down a price but there is so much disparity between prices paid for the same model that I don't think I can rely on it. I have no way of knowing if prices listed there included taxes or were a close-out, "friend" price.

Yes I do intend to go to the local bike stores, but I just wanted to know what the bikes go for first so that I don't go shopping for Filet Mignon on a Hamburger budget and make a fool of myself. It would also help if I knew that an unscrupulous dealer was inflating the price just so he could cut me a "sweetheart" of a deal....if you know what I mean.
Which models are you looking at?fbg111
Oct 12, 2002 3:43 AM
lol. I actually did that a few months ago - shopping for a filet on a hamburger budget. I was clueless and told them I wanted to spend around $600 - $700 on a bike I could use in triathlons. I ended up with a $1000 '02 OCR1, which I exchanged a month later for a $1300 '02 TCR2. lol. I'm glad I did, though, the TCR2 is a much better entry-level racer. Luckily, the lbs owner is an acquaintence of the family, and has a good rep around town for customer service, so I wasn't afraid of getting gyped.

Maybe try visiting several lbs's, comparing prices at each one. That might give you an idea of the true market value of the bikes you're looking at. Also try to find your local bike club, at the YMCA or on the web or something, and find out from them which lbs's are good to deal with. A lot of bike clubs have deals worked out with lbs's where they get discounts at an lbs when doing business there. Maybe you could join the bike club and get a discount on your bike, or some accessories or something.

Also, if you like the Giants, there are a few other similar brands worth considering, that I've recently learned about. Both Specialized and K2 offer some nice looking bikes (neither of which I've actually ridden). There are some comments and reviews posted in these forums. Anyway, I suggest them, especially the K2, b/c you might be able to get them at a better price than the Giants. The Giant TCR line just increased in price about $100 from '02 to '03, and maybe the same with the less expensive OCR's. Worth comparing.
CAAD 4 105's for $999Jackie Chan
Oct 12, 2002 5:28 AM
bikeshopper.net
You have some cheaper models too. I think it's R400 or so.
DO NOT USE "WWW.BIKESHOPPER.NET"zmarke
Oct 17, 2002 2:49 PM
It may be a scam...

I have a thread in the "Hot Deals" section about them.