RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Lemond ti stiff enough for 210 pound rider?(10 posts)

Lemond ti stiff enough for 210 pound rider?aet
Oct 8, 2002 4:21 PM
i know that some ti bikes can be pretty flexy so i was wondering if anyone had some experience here. thanks.

btw, i already did a search.
One vote noElefantino
Oct 8, 2002 5:07 PM
One of my riding buddies just got a Victoire to replace his Zurich (which fell out of his friend's truck while on the way to a century, but that's another story).

He's 200+. He hates it. After our Sunday 50-miler, he told me he wants to sell it and go back to the 853 bike.

His frame is 58cm, BTW.

FWIW,
Mike
re: Lemond ti stiff enough for 210 pound rider?teoteoteo
Oct 8, 2002 5:14 PM
I think your good on the Lemond but just for full disclosure I work at a Lemond dealer. I have put bigger guys on the frames with success. One of my co-workers is 270 and was impressed with our Demo models. He rides Lemond Steel though....

Which model? The reason I ask is that they have a new model for 2003 named the Arrivee...it is a more affordable non butted frame. They use a stiff larger than normal Lemond downtube (I rode it today) on the arrivee to help offset the straight gauge tubing.

The Victoire and Tete de Corse are both Seamless 3/2 MECHANICALLY BUTTED frames with some shaping/manipulation. This means a good frame. Lemond uses only 4-5 people to build their frames and all were hand picked by a consultant that was a founder at Merlin I think...bottom line is that the Lemond is not "average" mass produced TI.

Advantages of Lemond: Mechanical Butts instead of Chemical ones used on 6/4 TI mean more reliable/consistant quality.

Seamless tubing on all models (many well known brands use flat sheets of TI rolled into a tube and welded along a seam) Seamless tubes mean better alignment of grain structure.....just picture a flat piece of paper that is rolled into a tube and taped...remove the tape and the paper returns to flat shape.

Nice price for the quality you get..Amreican made TI with Trek standing behind the product.
Whoa! Comparing rolled & welded Ti tubing to...RhodyRider
Oct 9, 2002 5:38 AM
...taped paper! That's a new one. I have it on good authority that Litespeed intends to introduce a new frameset with a scotch tape bonded & gusseted construction-paper main triangle glued to paper-towel-roll seat & chain stays. Should be light & fast, just don't ride in the rain. Carbon fork, of course. ;-D
Whoa! ...offended ?marcmarc
Oct 9, 2002 6:13 AM
whoa, he did not even mention LS by name, but I am not getting involved. Luv'n this though.

marc
Naw, not at all, and wasn't really trying to flame teo. JustRhodyRider
Oct 9, 2002 6:32 AM
having some fun on a slow Wednesday morning.
2001 victoire.aet
Oct 9, 2002 6:40 AM
who makes your decisions???C-40
Oct 8, 2002 5:36 PM
I would ride a demo model rather than trust anyone's opinion. Different riders have different needs. If you're a big gear masher, it's probably not for you, but you'll never know unless you try it.

I have the opposite problem. At 135, many frames are too stiff and abusive for me. Once again, I trust no one's opinion.
unfortunately i visited the dealers in town and they had none.aet
Oct 9, 2002 6:38 AM
Test an 853 Pro frame: Zurich or Maillot Jaune too. (nm)Spunout
Oct 9, 2002 4:24 AM