RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Getting used to road saddles(15 posts)

Getting used to road saddlesRob March
Oct 7, 2002 12:34 PM
Hello,

I am finally riding a road bike (purchased about 10 days ago), after about 5 months (~50-70 miles per week) riding on my old hybrid. I'm curious how long it generally takes to determine if a saddle is comfortable (I have a Specialized BG Comp road saddle). I actually was noticing some definite problems and my LBS realized that the seat was tilted 2 degrees forward, which they corrected. However, I then went for a 30 mile jaunt yesterday and was still pretty sore after a while. I figure there might be some residual soreness, but I'm just trying to figure out what I need to get used to.

Thanks.

Rob
You may find the seatpost more comfortable than the seat!filtersweep
Oct 7, 2002 1:01 PM
I had one of those torture devices once... first of all, I assume you have padded shorts? The edges of the cutaway in the saddle would dig into my flesh... "body geometry" my A$$!! (no pun).

Most people "upgrade" their saddle. Some people actually swear by body geometry, so you might disregard my tirade, but I find that gel or cutouts can make matter worse (for me), since there are always edges to the gel or cutout.

You'd really need to develop "bike butt" (the point where there really is nothing to "get used to") before you know for sure... and your posture can even affect comfort. If you are acustomed to a more upright position, you might be placing a lot of weight (relatively speaking, or course) on your saddle.
My BG Comp Saddle also found the waste basket....Scot_Gore
Oct 7, 2002 1:35 PM
I love my colored coordinated tires and bar tape, but I couldn't find enough love for the asethics to keep the color matching BG Comp saddle.

As Filtersweep said, others love em, but if you are finding your BG Comp uncomfortable, you're not the first.

If you have 500+ miles on the saddle, try another.

my 2 cents

Scot
On the other hand..............Dave Hickey
Oct 7, 2002 1:40 PM
All my bikes have the BG S-works saddle. It's the only saddle that fits my butt. As Filter and Scot said, if it doesn't work, try another.
My BG Comp Saddle also found the waste basket....Rob March
Oct 7, 2002 1:40 PM
Actually, I only have about 80 miles on this saddle. Plus, this is my first time ever on a real road bike. Add onto that Sunday's ride, which while only 30 miles, took me 2h47m. This was because I went with a friend on a mountain bike. I never would have believed in major performance difference if I hadn't witnessed it. I was coasting/barely pedaling for such long stretches, I was feeling bad for my friend. I tried to set him up to draft me, but it really didn't do him any good. The headwind and the weight of his bike just did him in. Sigh. I have a feeling that we won't be riding together that often anymore.

Rob
You may find the seatpost more comfortable than the seat!tremblay
Oct 7, 2002 1:40 PM
I prefer the Selle Italia body geometry saddles. The cuyaway coupled with a nice softshell does wonders for me. This is after I spent an entire summer last year commuting on an SDG Comp saddle that was on my mountain bike. The thing might as well have been a two by four Ouch.
My limited experience...MXL02
Oct 7, 2002 1:44 PM
I got a SI TransAm with a new bike purchase several months ago, and no matter what I did, I could not get comfortable on it. Posting a question here only confused me more, since saddle comfort is such an individual thing. So...I bought three saddles from Performance, tried them all out, picked the SI Flight Gel, sent back the other two, and sold the TransAM in the classified here in a matter of hours. By the way, the Flight Gel felt better immediately. You gotta try em to know, and using (but not abusing)Performance's return policy to your advantage is the way to go.
My limited experience...Rob March
Oct 7, 2002 1:58 PM
I'm not worried about a return policy. My LBS will let me trade in my current seat for credit if I decide that I don't like it. They just want me to give it some time to determine if it is just me getting used to a road bike seat/positioning or whether it is actually the seat. I am actually very happy with the support that I get at my store. Because of it, I've pretty much decided to give them all of my business.

Rob
My limited experience...MXL02
Oct 7, 2002 2:06 PM
I am not suggesting that you
b have
to go with Performance...just get several different saddles and try them out. My own experience tells me that if the saddle is uncomfortable in the beginning, it will not get better with time. If your LBS are good guys, they should trade out different saddles for you and let you try them out.
tell them to let you trade it in NOWweiwentg
Oct 7, 2002 3:35 PM
my BG comp was perfectly comfortable from day 1. ignoramus that I was, I sat on the nose (didn't think to push the saddle forward) in unpadded shorts (didn't think to get chamois). if it doesn't feel right now, I don't think it will feel right later. my SLR saddle, on the other hand, was not perfectly comfortable from the get go, but it did NOT cause me severe pain. I did get some saddle sores, but I adjusted to it, and even did a century on it. there's a difference between a saddle that you need to get used to, and a saddle you need to replace. start testing saddles at the LBS. tell them yours is eating your ass, or has been trying to talk you into committing suicide or homicide, or something like that.
re: Getting used to road saddlesfbg111
Oct 7, 2002 2:00 PM
I just started road biking a few months ago too, and went through three saddles before finding one that "fit". Giant OCR standard issue saddle with cutout made me numb after 10 miles. Selle Italia Prolink was next, and it helped, but still got numb after 20-30 miles. Finally, Selle Italia Flite Titanium Kevlar solved my problems, no numbness anymore. I bought two for when this one wears out. Lots of reviews on saddles here at RBR, both in the Forum and the Review section. The Review section helped me figure out that the Ti Kevlar was probably the right saddle for me.
re: Getting used to road saddlesaliensporebomb
Oct 7, 2002 6:45 PM
I have a commuter bike with one of those Body Geometry saddles and I must admit
I'm not keen on it. It seems unnecesarily big and the cutouts at the end are sort of
painful and not helpful.

After riding 630-some miles on my Selle Italia Prolink (not the Prolink Gel,
just the standard Prolink) I must say I'm sort of spoiled since it's like a
souped up version of the Gary Fisher mountain bike seat I have on my old
Mongoose mountain bike. Which is to say I like it but I'm afraid of clamping
it too tightly lest the carbon rails crack. Just a weird phobia of mine. But
it gets a tad loose at times so I have to re-tighten it. This time it should stay
put.

I am, however, considering the Selle Italia SLR for my roadie and maybe
relegating the Prolink to another bike. Just an experiment. It would make
my bike even lighter too, heh.
re: Getting used to road saddlesCrankist
Oct 8, 2002 5:57 AM
SI Prolink's rails are not actually CF, just some cheesy tape applied over metal, at least on my gel version. Just got an SLR saddle; short term review finds it amazingly comfortable. How are the SPD-Rs working?
Mike
re: Getting used to road saddlesmoabbiker
Oct 8, 2002 3:12 AM
No one saddle will be perfect for everyone. Also, those with a lot of padding, gel inserts, do not necessarily mean a more comfortable ride. For me, I found the most comfortable was the selle italia flite TT - which is the ultra lightweight version of the flite series. Just for kicks, I tried a padded flite version and it was not comfortable at all.
Saddle comfort can be counterintuitive . . .Look381i
Oct 8, 2002 5:24 PM
Many find that less is more. The smoother and firmer the saddle, the more comfortable it is. During the great impotence scare several years ago, I tried a BG Comp for about three months. All I got was discomfort. It was way too squishy, compressing body tissues not usually contacted by my former long-time saddle. I had to go back to my Flite Ti for relief. For the past several months, I have been riding an SLR, which may be even more comfortable.

All the padding most folks need is in a good pair of shorts. Of course, YBMV.