RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


best recovery tips?(24 posts)

best recovery tips?DougSloan
Oct 7, 2002 5:45 AM
Say you've over done it a bit and need to get ready for an upcoming event. What are the best ways to recover, other than the obvious -- "rest?" What works for you all? Thanks.

Doug
re: best recovery tips?JohnG
Oct 7, 2002 6:04 AM
Not in any order, but these seem to work good:
massage, whirlpool/spa, anti-inflamitories, swimming, spinning on a set of rollers.

JohnG
Short easy rides, chocloate malts and sleep.nmMB1
Oct 7, 2002 6:10 AM
Oh, one more thing. TDF videos. nmMB1
Oct 7, 2002 6:11 AM
It's hard to know what really works, but this is what I do.dzrider
Oct 7, 2002 6:19 AM
1. Lay on the floor with my legs straight up a wall. I do it like a stretching exercise, for a minute or so every few hours. Even if it's all in my mind, I'm grateful for the relief it provides.

2. Continue taking electrolytes and a little extra vitamin C & E. I also take Arnica if my muscles are sore.

3. As a long-term, bona fide endorphin junkie, the 2nd successive day off is hell for me. I sometimes do calisthenics and/or light weight training to feel like I've done something without feeling like I've interfered with my recovering.
Fruit smoothie recovery drinkaptr
Oct 7, 2002 6:20 AM
Blend 1 part frozen straberries(bluberries, really any frozen fruit), 1 part cranberry juice(again most any fruit juice will due), and 1 part soy milk in your blender. Tastes great and great for you.
My own favorite ...Humma Hah
Oct 7, 2002 6:51 AM
... I've been known to mix up recovery smoothies with a banana plus whatever fruit is in season. Most fruits are pretty good electrolyte sources, but bananas are especially good, naturally thicken the drink, and they're cheap.

For a little smoother drink, some folks use a smoothie mix. I've found that a teaspoon or two of instant pudding mix works about the same.

I'm not a fan of soy products for men. They're estrogenic. I usually crave a nice lean burger after a big ride, and don't feel guilty about indulging in one. For me, while fruits and veggies keep me healthy, beef heals me.
estrogenic?DougSloan
Oct 7, 2002 7:43 AM
What does that mean? Does that mean men will develop female features? Is it "anti-testosteronic"? Seriously. Thanks.

Doug
estrogenic?Humma Hah
Oct 7, 2002 8:15 AM
Literally, soy products tend to act like estrogen, although milder. They've good for women going thru menopause because they relieve the symptoms of estrogen loss. But in men, they have a mild feminizing effect, which can include fat distribution and muscle mass changes.

Of the men I know who promote soy, not ONE is a Republican! Is the effect strong enough to change your politics, or are your politics strong enough to change your diet? More of the later, I expect.
politics and diet..dotkaye
Oct 7, 2002 8:30 AM
made me laugh.. one Young Republican I know refers to fruit as 'the f-word'
estrogenic?dotkaye
Oct 7, 2002 8:25 AM
soy has large quantities of phytoestrogens, which very closely resemble human estrogens. There's a lot of controversy about whether these are helpful or harmful, but no actual conclusive research that I could find. Personally I took my son off soy milk after reading a few alarming stories, figured children have grown up on cow's milk perfectly happily for many generations, but soy is a new experiment which I'd prefer not be performed using my children.. Of course there are plenty of opinions that cow's milk is demon juice for children too.

Alarming articles and references can be found here,
http://www.soyonlineservice.co.nz/Male%20Health.htm
more reading here..dotkaye
Oct 7, 2002 8:29 AM
phytoestrogens are a kind of endocrine disruptor, see the closest thing to an unbiased opinion on the subject, at the EPA :
http://www.epa.gov/scipoly/oscpendo/
Asians eat lots of soy. I did. and I'm as healthy as a horseweiwentg
Oct 7, 2002 8:34 AM
seriously, if your ENTIRE protein intake is composed of soy protein, I suppose you might have problems. but soy is a good alternative to / supplement to animal proteins, and production of soy places markedly less strain on the environment. frankly, if you're that concerned over estrogen, why are you not similarly concerned about the hormones found in beef? or about the way food animals are treated? or how much food they consume in relation to the amount of protein produced? or the waste they generate?
no wonder none of Humma's Republican friends advocate soy. cuts the cattle industry out of a profit.
I rest my case. (nm)Humma Hah
Oct 7, 2002 8:50 AM
nm
My 13 year old son is a vegetarian.dzrider
Oct 7, 2002 9:40 AM
He eats lots of soy products, has had only 5 sick days in 9 years of school and is very strong for his age. He always enjoyed dressing up in scarves, dresses and robes. He still likes to play with makeup and painted his finger nails last summer. He's enjoyed the swim team where he is one of the only boys in his age group.

Two years ago he went out for football. Every other kid on the team had to be shown how to hit. He ran all over the field looking for players to hit and had to be restrained from hitting at practice. He has been yelled at repeatedly over the years for hitting his teammates too hard. He's been team captain every year that he's played.

I don't think soy has much to do with any of this stuff.
and I rest mine. nmweiwentg
Oct 7, 2002 4:17 PM
cautionmadwiscbiker
Oct 7, 2002 10:10 AM
not everything on the web or published in a book is fact, much is opinion. peer reviewed scientific articles have at least been written and reviewed by scientists active in that field. but just because a scientific article says that a particular food causes a particular trait to devolop, or not to devolop, you should remember two things: there are few scienticic papers that are unanimously agreed upon, and two, be careful with dosing. many studies in rodents especially that have to do with diet feed only that substance and at high amounts. this is nothing like the human who eats a balanced diet, a bit of everything.

there is far better data that shows a direct correlation with animal fats, especially beef fat, and prostate and colon cancer. i just took an exam for med school on this topic and the numbers are pretty outstanding. but again, see for yourself.

also, estrogens are naturally in men as well as women, of course not as high in men. and estrogens play key roles during development of both boys and girls, so it is not that men are never exposed to estrogens.
phytoestrogens have been shown to have some powerful anti-cancer effects, so make up your own ming.
wow!DougSloan
Oct 7, 2002 10:25 AM
You mean I can grow my own boobs and avoid cancer at the same time? I love science! :-)

Doug
I just like my prostate thats all.madwiscbiker
Oct 7, 2002 12:23 PM
seriously, how much soy do we need to get boobs?weiwentg
Oct 7, 2002 4:19 PM
or to see any other undesirable side effects? I'm betting it's more soy than I'd want to eat in a month.
more than i can eatmadwiscbiker
Oct 7, 2002 6:36 PM
i eat soy at least once a day, either in a shake, on cereal (lactose intolerant) in a stirfry, somewhere and there are no signs of boobs on my body. and no fat redistobution, although there just isn't alot to redistibute.

i would be way more concerned with psudoestrogens than phytoestrogens found in soy. the phytoestrogens in soy are very weak activators of estrogen receptors, so don't do too much. pseudoestrogens are strong activators of estrogen receptors. and where do we find them: well plastics are a huge source of them. so????
still no boobs here and i drink out of a plastic bike bottle everyday for a couple hours.
swimming is hard to beattarwheel
Oct 7, 2002 6:23 AM
As boring as it is, I haven't found a better recovery exercise than swimming. It gives you an aerobic workout, but really loosens up the muscles and joints. Don't make the mistake I did and try to get some recovery exercise on a rowing machine. I tried rowing on my recovery days, and even though it didn't feel very strenuous, it really toasted my quads and ruined my climbing legs for the weekend. I also walk a lot of real recovery says. It is pretty hilly where I live, so it is hard to do a real recovery ride on a bike unless you really spin on the climbs.
Recovery TipsJon Billheimer
Oct 7, 2002 7:53 AM
1. Lay on back and prop legs up for about half an hour.

2. Hot shower followed by self-massage.

3. Short naps.

4. Eat about every 2 hours for 24 hrs.
yep, make your own smoothiesnowman3
Oct 7, 2002 9:31 PM
My blender gets used all the time. Glend some fresh fruit, canned fruit, yogurt, milk, juice, drink mix, etc and enjoy.

I mix and match the following:

Fruit: banana, strawberry, melons, mango, blueberry
Yogurt: Dannon fat free Light Vanilla (low sugar and yummy taste)
Drink Mix: Throw in a tablespoon of recovery drink for flavoring. I like the Rasberry Emergency avail from HiHealth.
Milk or whatever fruit juice or water is in the fridge.

Sprinkle a dash of cinnamon if ya like as well. Beware that it fills up your tummy really fast and digests really fast as well, but dang it always makes me feel better and revitalized.