RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Hi I'm the new guy(20 posts)

Hi I'm the new guyvindicator
Oct 4, 2002 2:22 PM
Time to de-lurk!

Brief stats:

Dave. 36. St. Louis, MO. Lawyer. Wife, four daughters. Viner "Competition" frame (steel) with Ultegra triple.

Editorial Discussion:

I'm new to the whole cycling thing, and a converted runner. So far, I've dropped 15 pounds in two months and I'm loving the whole thing!

I ran track and cross country in high school, and ran on the road off and on thereafter. As I got older and busier and fatter, running (which I still love) just became what I did when I wasn't injured. I'd hurt something, rest to heal it, do exercises to strengthen it, then go out and start running again and injure the next-weakest link in my body. Finally, I gave up.

A buddy of mine has been cycling, on and off road, since January, dropped a bunch of pounds, looks great, feels great, etc. He lives close enough to ride together so I finally decided to try and get in the act.

I have a 1996 Bianchi Advantage hybrid which I hauled out of the garage to ride and see if I could keep up with him and his buddies. (Of course, I was the guy in the T-Shirt, soccer shorts, tennis shoes, etc. At least I had a helmet and I wasn't using my cell phone). No dice, obviously, but I did OK, had fun, started losing weight, and didn't get any injuries!

So then I started shopping...

You know what happened next, and I've now spent about twice as much as I thought I would on my bike and 10 times as much on gear, but heck it's only money.

I found this board by using the "review" portion of the site to check out bikes. I found the site from my previous use of AudioReview to check out TVs and home theater components. While I'm new here, I'm not new to the world of discussion boards, having participated heavily in several wine boards over the last seven or eight years (any other winos out there?)

I appreciate the tips I've picked up so far here, both those I didn't follow (newbie's shouldn't buy a bike unseen over the internet and buy a merak with record 10) and those I did (buy from Gary Hobbs at gvhbikes.com and steel is real).

What I love about cycling so far:

1. No impact injuries!
2. Fast descents and fast corners (that's why the guys in my bike club call me "the cruiser") ;^)
3. Lance Armstrong
4. I get to wear ridiculous clothes and shoes, just like golfers do, only I get real exercise at the same time!
5. Just like winos, cyclists seem to bicker about all sorts of stupid stuff internally (Campy vs. Shimano, road vs. MTB, etc.) yet at the end of it all they realize that everyone who pedals (or loves wine) is their brother or sister.
6. The whole Italian thing. Italian wines are among my favorites, so I like being able to make another connection to Italy. My frame is even made in Tuscany, where my favorite Italian wines are made. (But I did go Shimano because I don't care for the thumb levers on Campy Ergos).
7. The wine related gear I can find. I have a PI "Velo Rosso" jersey and a "Vini Caldirola" wind jacket. Anyone know of any other wine-theme cycle cloting out there?
8. Clipless pedals

Things I'm not so crazy about so far:

1. "It's not IF you crash, it's WHEN you crash."
2. A sore ass and numb nads (though both are becoming less frequent)
3. Motorists who won't share the road.
4. Days I can't ride (weather, schedule, travel, etc.)
5. Anti-triple snobbery
6. The idea that I need to shave my legs ("not gonna do it...") to be a "real" cyclist and snobbery on this issue (not that I have anything against those who choose to go smooth, just against snobbery directed at us "au naturale" types).
7. Clipless pedals

Finally, I really enjoyed reading the recent thread about the RBRers who gathered for a first-time group ride in the Twin Cities. I remember when the folks on one of the wine boards first started getting together for dinners and tastings. The usual jokes about axe murderers, pathetic people who make friends over the 'net,
I wonder how many of us would still run if we couldretro
Oct 4, 2002 3:27 PM
Well...welcome. How do you like the Viner?
There are quite a few ex-runners on here, I think. I did 40-70 miles a week for about 15 years, but my knees finally gave up when I was 45. I love cycling, and did it off and on even when I was running. But when i dream of stuff like that, it's still of running, not riding.
Incidentally, don't give up on the triple. I converted both my road bikes about 10 years ago, and I'll never buy another bike with a double. It's SO much easier on the knees.
Thanks!vindicator
Oct 4, 2002 3:34 PM
So far I love the Viner. All I have to compare it to is my Bianchi hybrid, which is several years older and was a fraction of the price. Compared to that, it's light as a feather, but what a gearing change! Cranks seem huge and cassette seems tiny.

But to me it rides like a dream. I think I've got the fit pretty dialed in at this point, and I just love getting on the thing and going!

The running thing is a tricky question. Certainly if I could still run I'd never have taken up riding. But having taken it up now, I'm enjoying it too much to necessarily say I'd give it up if I could run. Lots of advantages to both. If I could suddenly go back to running today, I think I'd try to keep up with both.

But certainly in my dreams I still see myself crossing the finish line in the Olympic track and field stadium, not wearing the yellow jersey through Paris...
One more thing on the "not so crazy" list...vindicator
Oct 4, 2002 3:39 PM
What's up with the cost of the gear?

In my running days, you splurged on a pair of shoes for training and the hardcore guys also sprung for a pair of spikes for racing. $150 total.

You trained in t-shirts and sweats you already had. If you wanted to geek out, you bought a few pairs of running shorts for training and racing, and a singlet for race day. Another $150 total.

Now I can't walk into a bike shop or go to a bike retail site (including advertisers here) without spending $150, and I've just scratched the surface. I still have only one long sleeve jersey, one pair of tights, and one jacket, and winter's coming fast!

Whoever said a $1000 budget means $300 for the bike and $700 for the gear wasn't kidding!
Two things about all that gear...OffTheBack
Oct 4, 2002 4:02 PM
One, as you've probaly discivered already, all of it is functional: shoes, shorts, jersey, gloves, glasses, all improve your riding experience in a very real way.

Two, regarding the cost, see my post a few threads down in response to "how do you justify it?". A few Ben Franklins is a small price to pay for a decade of fun, health, and great memories.

Welcome to the clan! We're glad you're here. :-)
Now to the good stuffPaulCL
Oct 4, 2002 6:17 PM
Wine of choice these days??? I'm always looking for suggestions.

My wife and I have gotten into the big red zins...my personal favorite being Grgich Hills. We just finished ...alas....our last bottle of '97 that we bought on our last trip to Napa. Time to pack the wife and bike and head west again.

Welcome. Paul
Hey vindicator . . .Andy
Oct 4, 2002 6:15 PM
Did you run in college? I'm originally from Missouri and ran in college there. I had quite a few friends from the St. Louis area. I gave up running a few years ago because my knees were STILL in great shape so I decided to quit while I was ahead. All those 100+ mile weeks had to do something but I'm lucky it isn't showing up yet.
Not competitivelyvindicator
Oct 5, 2002 5:16 PM
I went to Georgetown for my first two years of college, which is a D-I school in track and CC and I was way out of my league there. I finished up at Wash U here, which is D-III, but by that time I was out of competitive shape and just running for fitness.

Quitting while you were ahead was a great idea.

Oddly enough, my knees were never a problem, but everything else from the waist down...

Cheers,

Dave
"no impact injuries"empacher6seat
Oct 4, 2002 9:34 PM
Try getting doored while going 40kph... that's one hell of an impact injury! :)

I'm glad you're enjoying riding as much as you are! Here's a few tips for saving cash:
1) If you're not going to be riding for hundreds of miles at a time, get Nike dri-fit spandex shorts. Around half the cost of padded biking shorts. Your ass will adapt in no time. Same for jerseys. Especially short sleeved for the summer. Just get a dri-fit shirt in a size too small for you! :)
2) Don't buy long sleeved jerseys. Go short sleeved and get arm warmers.
3) duct tape will fix ANYTHING :)
4) Keeping your bike clean, properly lubed and properly dialed in will ensure your bike and components last longer then it would if you mistreat them.

Don't forget to have FUN!
Try Barossa valley shiraz you will never look back.ol
Oct 4, 2002 10:49 PM
Funny you should mention thatvindicator
Oct 5, 2002 5:27 PM
Once a year I host a dinner for some friends who like wine but aren't quite wine geeks like me. There's a theme each year, and this year it's Barossa shiraz. I'll open four of the best, including the '98 Fox Creek Reserve.

That being said, I can't say it's one of my favorites. Generally too extracted and too oaky for my palate. My favorites these days tend to be from the Rhone valley and Tuscany, though I also love good Bdx, Burg, some more restrained Cal Cabs, and some Cal syrahs, with zin to go with BBQ ribs. And for everyday stuff, just about anything from the Rhone Valley's "lesser" areas, plus the Languedoc and lots of Spain and southern Italy.

Cheers,

Dave
Try cool climate wines from OZ.ol
Oct 6, 2002 5:47 PM
If you like Pinot try wines from Tasmanian, a good example of Burgundy and new world style melted into one elegant package. For spicy cool climate shiraz central Victoria cannot be beat, very Rhonish at half the price. Cabernet from Margaret River are to die for, elegant structure, fruit intensity, length and balance all present and accounted for ( 1/4 of the price of Californian cabs). Try www.winepros.com.au.
Cheers.
ol.
( sorry for the non cycle related talk)
"Stripes" line...husker
Oct 5, 2002 2:02 AM
Can I follow up the quote "thats why they call me the cruiser." with "they ought to call him the dork." By the way, I have a somewhat similar background, and there are a lot of good group rides in St. Louis. Have fun.

Anyone for a "Hulka-burger?"
I'm glad someone picked up on thatvindicator
Oct 5, 2002 5:27 PM
Otherwise, everyone else might have thought that I was really in a "bike club" where everyone called me "the cruiser"!

Whew...

Cheers,

Dave
lots of cyclists are ex-runnersbianchi boy
Oct 5, 2002 8:11 AM
In my 20s, I thought I would keep running forever. Then, in my 30s, the injuries started and I had to quit. That's what so nice about cycling --as long as your bike fits and you don't crash, you can keep doing it just about forever without tearing up your body.

Another nice thing about cycling is the social aspect. I really enjoy the friends I've made on group rides, and it's cool the way you can ride faster and longer in a group. About the only time most runners get together is in a race or "fun run," and then they're all trying to beat each other. Even in somewhat competitive situation, cycling is more of a team or group sport.

I'd like to know how you have lost weight cycling. Although I am in much better shape since I took up cycling again several years ago, I haven't lost any weight. I seem to eat (or drink) whatever it takes to maintain the same weight.
Losing weightvindicator
Oct 5, 2002 5:36 PM
What I've done:

1. Start out fat. Makes losing a given number of pounds easier.

2. Modify diet. No more big lunches with french fries on the side. Salad for lunch (with some protein in it like grilled chicken or some salami) most days, and light on the carbs at dinner.

3. Ride before breakfast, with only water before and during the ride. A bowl of cereal and a protein bar immediately following the ride.

4. Smaller portions at dinner, but I pretty much eat the same stuff as before (just less), except I really try to limit the potatoes.

5. Ride 5 days a week whenever possible, including longer rides both weekend days.

Cheers,

Dave
Oh my God ,your'e me!!!!!!!TREKY
Oct 5, 2002 1:15 PM
I have almost the exact background and reason for getting into cycling.I don't think I'm ever going back to running.It's nice not limping around all the time isn't it.I do shave my legs though.But then I shave my head to.
St. Louis? Where did you go to high school? Ha! ;) n/mmmquest
Oct 5, 2002 1:15 PM
If you must knowvindicator
Oct 5, 2002 5:37 PM
Parkway Central, class of '84

And yes I got the joke. ;^)

Don't forget:

GO CARDS!!!

Cheers,

Dave
Parkway Central... HummmmAndy
Oct 5, 2002 10:31 PM
When I was in high school I think I remember Parkway Central as having a pretty strong cross country team. (late 70's and early 80's) Brings back lots of old memories of the state cross country meets in Jefferson City. Now I want to give up cycling and start running again.