RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Has GRZY been banished from this site?(21 posts)

Has GRZY been banished from this site?graham22
Oct 3, 2002 4:53 AM
About time, his comments were typically rude, crude and out his arse....
Not that I'm aware of...TJeanloz
Oct 3, 2002 5:12 AM
He's posted on the 'components' board as recently as yesterday; so apparently his rudeness continues (as it should).
At least he didn't double post.Sintesi
Oct 3, 2002 5:15 AM
Well anyways, I always thought he was a pretty funny guy. Where are you Grzy? Your detractors are getting lonely.
Hey what happened to the double post?Sintesi
Oct 3, 2002 5:18 AM
It was here a minute ago.
Grzy can be a little too direct for some people.Spoke Wrench
Oct 3, 2002 5:19 AM
He's also usually right. Grzy is on the short list of guys that I'd allow to work on my personal bike.
No - only yesterday he'sEager Beagle
Oct 3, 2002 5:29 AM
posting on the components board whinging on about the price of Campy stuff.

I find it's slightly endearing, like those old "world's against me, life's not what it used to be" guys you find soaking it up in bars...
re: Has GRZY been banished from this site?Scot_Gore
Oct 3, 2002 5:29 AM
I lurked a long time here before I started posting, here's a FACT of the board I learned:

Grzy knows his stuff
Grzy knows he knows his stuff
Grzy wants you to know he knows his stuff

Read every GRZY you'll learn something
Reply to no GRZY posts unless you're trying to learn where your wrong about something.

my 2 cents
Scot
grzy is an acquired taste ...tarwheel
Oct 3, 2002 5:31 AM
Although he can be (and usually is) rude, I appreciate grzy's humor, directness and knowledge. He has been posting on the components board lately. Read his comments on rain bikes for some vintage grzy acid wit.
grzy is an acquired taste ...Rusty Coggs
Oct 3, 2002 5:41 AM
Yeah,what he knows is the important part. Just blow off any stuff you don't like.
I like him toojtolleson
Oct 3, 2002 6:42 PM
and I butted heads with him my first day on the board ... and it was sooo unpleasant I thought about not coming back. But I was just being hypersensitive. He's OK in my book.

And I'll take his substantive informed curtness over Lazywriter's uninformed flotsam any day.
re Reliable posterdzrider
Oct 3, 2002 6:03 AM
My dad told us over and over that everybody's full of shit some of the time, but the technical aspect of his postings are consistantly good.
he's very helpfulDougSloan
Oct 3, 2002 6:22 AM
He's an engineer and a former military pilot. Combine the two, and you get an analytical, knowledgeable, skeptical, and maybe cocky person.

I've never found him to be wrong on the facts. He's just blunt, couldn't care less what people think about what he has to say, but sincere and helpful, too. You just need to be a little thicker skinned to appreciate him. He's one of those "tough love" sort of guys.

Often I and others disagree with his opinions, but hey, I figure I'm wrong about 2/3's of the time, and him only 1/2. At least he backs up his opinions with legitimate reasons and facts, and isn't talking out his butt.

Don't we all have friends who get under our skin a little now and then, but we highly value them as friends nonetheless?

Doug
former military pilot explains a lot..dotkaye
Oct 3, 2002 9:01 AM
I knew some of these guys in the air force, they all had self-esteem problems. That is, they had too much..
Some had both substance and style, some were simply unendurable prats. Personally think grzy is in the former camp, but also think he's wrong about rain bikes.. heh.
engineer & military pilot ? Maybe I met him last week...PeterRider
Oct 3, 2002 10:09 AM
Does he live in CA ? I'm wondering, maybe I met him last week on the Heartbreak century...

Pierre
engineer & military pilot ? Maybe I met him last week...DougSloan
Oct 3, 2002 3:36 PM
Santa Cruz, last I heard. Rides some sort of ti bike, but I can't remember what brand.

Doug
Good info and the best laugh I've had on this board...PdxMark
Oct 3, 2002 8:06 AM
In a thread talking about crashing roof-mounted bike into garages, his story of loading the bikes inside the carport and then trying to drive out was as good as it gets...
Good info and the best laugh I've had on this board...dzrider
Oct 3, 2002 8:57 AM
My favorite was his answer to where the Racing Triple sits in the Campy line "between contradiction and oxymoron".
All I know is I'd ride or surf with him any dayTig
Oct 3, 2002 9:12 AM
I may not always agree with what people say, but I do respect most of them. Griz gains high respect from me for cutting to the chase and not trying to shove rainbows up anyone's ass!
Interesting image...Eager Beagle
Oct 3, 2002 9:15 AM
What exactly is "shoving a rainbow up someone's ass" (for the benefit of non-American speakers?
Interesting image...Sintesi
Oct 3, 2002 9:21 AM
Trying to make them feel good about their idiotic question? Must be regional, I'm not familiar with the use.
Posts mainly on the component forum..DINOSAUR
Oct 3, 2002 6:41 PM
Grzy takes awhile to warm up to you. Always dead-on with his advice.