RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Thanks to all RoadbikeREVIEW Supporters! (small update)(30 posts)

Thanks to all RoadbikeREVIEW Supporters! (small update)gregg
Oct 1, 2002 9:05 AM
Well it's been exactly 3 months since I posted this thread regarding RoadbikeREVIEW's parent company ConsumerREVIEW Inc. filing for Chapter 11:

gregg "Consumer Review files for Chapter 11 Reorganization..." 7/3/02 11:28am

I just wanted to offer a small update and thanks to everyone.

The good news is that RoadbikeREVIEW and MtbREVIEW are doing very well, thanks to all of you guys. In fact, we have been able to post the best number that we ever have! This is reflected in the number of good deals that we are able to offer you through our Hot Deals section and our Partner Stores. It may be a cliche, but you ARE making the difference in helping maintain this site, this resource, and this community.

It is great to see Scot_Gore, bnlkid, NelZ, et al. create a RoadbikeREVIEW Cycling Gathering. Wish I coulda been there. Scot or MB1, let me know when the next one is, I'll try to mail you some swag for the supporters!

Business wise, things have been kind of up and down. Numbers are up, but expectations are also, as we remain under the microscope. But our captains are still at the helm, which is a very good thing. As you can imagine, there is a lot that I am not at liberty to discuss here. But I would like to say that I strongly believe that everything will work itself out for the better for this online cycling community, that you all have helped build.

Keep on shopping and buying with us, every single purchase makes a difference. And thanks for all you help, support, and patience. Getting new products in our database for review is still job number one for me. Thanks for all the good suggestions and recommendations.

Feel free to email me with any questions, concerns, or criticisms. I will try to answer whatever I can here on the board as well.

Ride Safe,

-gregg
gkato@roadbikereview.com
Good newsmickey-mac
Oct 1, 2002 9:07 AM
Thanks, Gregg, for all your hard work keeping the site up and running.
Thanks for the update. Good news.. nmDave Hickey
Oct 1, 2002 9:13 AM
Cool. More good luck to you. nmDougSloan
Oct 1, 2002 9:20 AM
Good to hear, GreggScot_Gore
Oct 1, 2002 9:25 AM
I'm treating RBR like my bike related search engine. If I need something about a bike, I start here first. Hope it helps

Scot
Second that. nmfbg111
Oct 1, 2002 12:42 PM
go internationalMJ
Oct 1, 2002 9:27 AM
I almost never buy things from my LBS. I do frequent cycling websites in the UK/Europe and regularly make purchases - as do other posters. However, there aren't any Euro websites listed as partner stores.

Is there any chance in linking up with some Euro based sites as RBR Partner Stores? You will have seen there's a sizeable, or at least noticeable, Euro group of posters. Also, alot of North American posters buy stuff from Euro sites as they can be cheaper than US prices without VAT etc.
what would you say are the top 3 Euro shopping sites?gregg
Oct 1, 2002 9:52 AM
This sounds like a good idea, I'm not sure how much work it will entail, but I think it's worth investigating.

thanks,

-g
You might start with Totalcycling.com andRhodyRider
Oct 1, 2002 10:04 AM
Probikekit.com, and I've also seen frequent mention of Zonabici.com. I can personally vouch for the excellence of Totalcycling, that is a top-notch outfit. Located in Northern Ireland. Good luck, Gregg, and keep us "posted."
I second Totalcycling and probikekit. nmDave Hickey
Oct 1, 2002 10:08 AM
and I second Probikekit! nmnoveread
Oct 1, 2002 1:14 PM
Try here: http://www.parker-international.co.uk/(nm)hirevR
Oct 1, 2002 10:51 AM
www.prendas.co.uk....................................nmchopper
Oct 1, 2002 11:01 AM
www.prendas.co.uk.-----------I second that, superb service.Spunout
Oct 1, 2002 2:22 PM
Gregg, I told them that I was referred to them from this board, through a message thread. They were very interested to hear that.

Very easy to drop alot of coin at this store!
www.xxcycle.com (nm)philippec
Oct 1, 2002 11:08 AM
Very cool website. thanks(nm)Dave Hickey
Oct 1, 2002 11:16 AM
http://www.edinburgh-bicycle.co.uk nmfbg111
Oct 1, 2002 12:53 PM
all the Euro sites I useMJ
Oct 2, 2002 12:20 AM
My top three are Probike Kit, Gearshift and XPedia - but I've purchased from all of these sites and have had no complaints - these stores should give me a permanent discount for my advertising work on their behalf...

Probike Kit
http://www.probikekit.com/

XPedia
http://xpedia.frogtrade.net/

Gearshift
http://www.gearshift.co.uk/acatalog/index1.html

Deeside Cycles
http://www.deesidecycles.com/

St John's Cycles
http://www.sjscycles.com/

Kinetics
http://www.kinetics.org.uk/

Prendas
http://www.prendas.co.uk/

Cyclestuff
http://www.cyclestuff.co.uk/

Wheelbase
http://www.wheelbase.co.uk/

Evans
http://www.evanscycles.co.uk/frameset.html

Orbit
http://www.orbit-cycles.co.uk/

Freerider
http://www.freeridercycles.co.uk/

Donohue
http://www.donohuecycles.co.uk/

On One
http://www.on-one.co.uk

Condor
http://www.condorcycles.com/flash/index.html
Dude, we are riding on the 5th and 26th.MB1
Oct 1, 2002 9:29 AM
Gregory Taylor "Here are the 2 DC rides I will lead in October, hope to see you there." 9/16/02 9:27am
got your address, will mail out for the 26th.gregg
Oct 1, 2002 9:53 AM
not sure I can get you stuff for this week, but I'll definitely send some out soon.

-g
Hey Gregg, where can I find a list of Partner Stores and then...js5280
Oct 1, 2002 9:31 AM
purchase from them so that RBR/MTBR/ConsumerReview gets credit for bringing me there? Recently I've found something I want to purchase and could have sworn that they advertise here but couldn't find a link. I think a lot of us have favorite stores that we surf regularly, many of which do support Consmer Review sites. It would be great if there is an easy to way to come back, click and get you guys the credit for traffic and conversion. Is it there or am I just not finding it? Most of the links I do see are more geared to impulse buying. Thanks and keep up the great work!
Wait, I found it on MTBR (Site Index right side) but only. . .js5280
Oct 1, 2002 9:39 AM
on the discussion board, and not at all at RBR and OutdoorReview. The case I brought up I was shopping for a tent so I was over at OutdoorReview. Is Campmor a partner?
currently Campmor is not a partner :-(gregg
Oct 1, 2002 9:57 AM
Really? Even even with Outdoor Review?Kristin
Oct 2, 2002 6:30 AM
I'm gonna send them an email.
Hello! Can I TYPE? (That was rhretorical) nm.Kristin
Oct 2, 2002 6:31 AM
look in the left hand column << (below the Hot Deals)gregg
Oct 1, 2002 9:57 AM
It is right there, now listing: Performance, Supergo, Bikesmart, Bikes Wholesale, Cambria Bikes, and Wrench Science.

Also, there is a link to the Hot Deals page on every page in the navigation bar at the top.

-g
It's All Thanks to These Guys!jromack
Oct 1, 2002 9:32 AM
http://www.clickmonkeys.com
LMAO. . .js5280
Oct 1, 2002 9:45 AM
All thanks to maritime law!

http://www.clickmonkeys.com/aboutus.shtml

Re: There's NO WAY for ad reps like DoubleClick to tell the difference between us and regular users!!

That's funny, I got laid off from DoubleClick (actually they acquired us) two jobs ago.
I'd hate to see the overhead for all those bananas!gregg
Oct 1, 2002 10:00 AM
Thanks for the link, this was a very popular joke 'round the offices here!

-g
No problemjromack
Oct 1, 2002 10:28 AM
Their "other website" is pretty offensive to pet owners, so I won't list it.