RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ride Report – Twin Cities Road Bike Review Ride(13 posts)

Ride Report – Twin Cities Road Bike Review RideScot_Gore
Sep 30, 2002 8:00 PM
Minnesota's RBR posters got together for a ride yesterday, Sept. 29th.
We had a turn out of 7 for a 7:00am start. I was pleased that so many could make it.
The Twin Cities Marathon was the same day, 7000 runners in the race. They ran from downtown Minneapolis to downtown St. Paul, 26.2 miles. We rode from downtown Minneapolis to downtown St. Paul and back, 50 miles. Many bike friendly routes were closed by the race. I picked a route around the marathon with a stop at the finish line. Route is below. It was about 50 degrees and overcast at the start. The forecast said it would clear later in the day, but, just goes to show.....don't trust those guys. Stayed cloudy for the entire ride and misted on us a time or two. Not too bad weather for riding or running marathons, but hard on the photo ops.
Group Shot Along the WayScot_Gore
Sep 30, 2002 8:16 PM
Some people say that you can't create culture on the internet. This ride may have shown that they may be wrong. Here we were group of people who never rode together before, but it went great. Everyone riding to the right, obeying traffic laws, giving other riders room in the tight spots, and getting along. Just from the traffic on this board we seemed to understand the RULES and stick to em. I had a great time and would like to thank all for a nice Sunday on the bike.
Left to Right
NelZ - gs6769 - Filtersweep - bnlKid - FOShad - Shad
Group Shot at one of those important points along the wayScot_Gore
Sep 30, 2002 8:22 PM
gs6769 - NelZ - Friend of Shad - Filtersweep - bnlKid - Shad - Scot_Gore
Gateway Trail – St. PaulScot_Gore
Sep 30, 2002 8:25 PM
Downtown Minneapolis at the EndScot_Gore
Sep 30, 2002 8:30 PM
Gloomy weather.
Normally you can see a skyline of high-rises across the river. Maybe next time.

See you on the road.

Scot
Downtown Minneapolis at the Endflying
Sep 30, 2002 10:14 PM
Cool pics thanks!
You folks have some really nice riding areas.
If nothing else...look271
Oct 2, 2002 6:06 AM
This board serves as a great source of wallpapers and screensavers! Nice pics. Looks like you had a great time.
you guys are cool - well done NmSpirito
Sep 30, 2002 11:25 PM
Where's the photo of you doing wheelies?bnlkid
Oct 1, 2002 4:48 AM
Thanks for organizing the ride, Scot. I had a good time. Great group of guys to ride with. Look forward to riding with everyone again.
Yeah! Or that one where you jumped the portajohns?! ;-) (nm)gs6769
Oct 2, 2002 3:51 AM
Narrative reportfiltersweep
Oct 1, 2002 4:59 AM
I woke up at 6am- not all that early, but early enough. Sun is not even up. I begin obsessing about what to wear- forecast is for warm weather (in the 70s). I grab all my gear, hop on my bike and head downtown on Hennepin- figuring if I'm late, the ride will be on the same street in the opposite direction. Oddly I notice a police car at every intersection... I didn't make the connection that they were waiting for the marathon (I'm thinking someone was just shot).

I cross the bridge and turn right on Main... I swear there is no "Visitor's Center," but I have the address- I see shadowy figures in the distance standing around bikes. This is gonna be weird, I think... a bunch of strangers getting together in the "middle of the night" to go on a bike ride... anyway, everyone was really cool. We met, figured out who posted here as who (as we climbed out from behind the anonymity of our posting handles). I only saw two vehicles at the starting point- which ultimately meant that four of us rode to the start point (or more or less lived in the neighborhood). Someone later pointed out that no two riders had the same brand bike, and no one had a Trek or a Cannondale.

The weather was odd- foggy- almost misty at times- wet, without rain. After I returned home, I noticed a bunch of worms dried to the frame. It was cool enough that I barely touched my water. The pace was comfortable- a rather social pace, which was nice considering we were strangers, there was a bunch of traffic control along the route, and that is the point of such a ride. Everyone was very courteous and polite... everyone was a bit older than I expected (which was also nice).

Scott did an excellent job with the route, although I must admit I didn't really pay much attention to where we were going for the first two hours. I was very surprised there weren't more hills, considering the route involved both the Minnesota River and then Mississipi River. There was little road traffic, and I think we only encountered one mildly agitated motorist near the Capitol. Shad's friend had a flat tire... that oddly occurred during a nature call- not while riding.

Anyway, thanks again, Scott, for organizing it, and to everyone else who showed up... the only thing that could have been better was the weather (which easily could have been worse, so I'm not complaining).
Great Ride. Thanks Scot.NelZ
Oct 1, 2002 5:43 AM
Thanks again for organizing the ride and taking the pictures. Enjoyed it a lot.

Ride statistics: Time on bike- 3HR 16Min; Max Speed 27.6 MPH; Average Speed 15.5 MPH; Distance 50.7 Miles.

I flatted on the pave at the finish of the ride, but luckily I drove to the ride and was parked a block away on 2nd St. (Too far to ride in the dark from Woodbury to reach the start by 7AM)
re: Ride Report – Twin Cities Road Bike Review Ridealiensporebomb
Oct 1, 2002 8:18 AM
Sounds like it was a blast - sorry I couldn't make it.
Next time!

Great pics too!