RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is it worth it? Performance Improvement vs Marketing(23 posts)

Is it worth it? Performance Improvement vs MarketingPack Meat
Sep 30, 2002 8:54 AM
Two questions. First, I have a 2002 Fondriest Carb Level in team Lampre colors. I absolutely love the bike, I probably put about 2000 miles on it since May. I saw the 03 Fondriest catalog. First of all some of the paint jobs on the Carb Level are amazing including one with some of Italy's most famous landmarks. The 03 line is going to feature a Carb Level+ that has carbon seat stays and chain stays and is supposed to be 10% stiffer than the Carb Level and about 100 grams lighter. I think I can sell my 02 and get an 03 not lose to much money(I got an awesome deal on the 02.) Is it worth the extra money for the latest and greatest or is just a marketing ploy to get me to buy another bike? I understand I am not riding the TOur de France and I'm just a club racer so it's really not a performance issue as much as a new toy issue.

Retail for frame and fork for the Carb Level is about $2200, do you think I could get $1500 for a used, never crashed really cool bike?
Holy smokesfiltersweep
Sep 30, 2002 9:47 AM
You are a serious case: "Is it worth the extra money for the latest and greatest or is just a marketing ploy to get me to buy another bike? "

A one year old bike... not even, just since May? Replaced with basically the same thing? What happens next year? Of course it is not worth the money.

You say you "love the bike." I think it is bad Karma or Juju, or whatever to sell-out your well-loved bike for a younger, lighter, newer model... and the toy factor? I doubt you have a club full of Fondriest riders? I'd keep it until you can make an upgrade worth it.

...the features you mention, only an "expert" will be able to notice the difference between model years.
Yes, the old one is toast. Send it to me please. NMSpunout
Sep 30, 2002 9:56 AM
Send a check for 1500 and I'll send the bike. nmPack Meat
Sep 30, 2002 10:24 AM
No questions asked.
Sellbigrider
Sep 30, 2002 10:01 AM
I think paint is the most important part of a bike. If your 5 month old paint doesn't suit you then you should sell. Your old bike is worth about 500 for sure, I'll buy it if it fits me.

All kidding aside, there is no marketing ploy going on here other than your desire to ride the absolute latest and greatest. If they would sell a bike like that for 500 and had it painted puke pink and stipulated you couldn't repaint it I would buy it, ride it and love it because of its inner beauty. On the other hand if you thrive on Form and Functionality, don't be ashamed, just drop your cash down. Pretty frames always did get more attention, no matter whether they are bikes or people.
You are a brave soul...MXL02
Sep 30, 2002 10:03 AM
posting a message like that in here. Mind you, most of the people who post here could not afford to buy a Fondriest Carbon once in their lifetime, much less two in one year. There is almost never any perfomance increase in any frame that makes it worth getting rid of an almost identical frame that is less than one year old. If, however, you simply want a different paint scheme, buy it if you can afford it, and suck up the loss that will occur when you sell the used one for half price. But don't believe for one second that there is any increase in performance value to the newer frame.
Actually........Pack Meat
Sep 30, 2002 10:30 AM
Most of the racers on my team do ride Fondriests, mostly Carb Levels, one ti level and a couple Maddonas, and I think one of the girls rides a Don Racer.

What if I rephrased the question? How much would you pay to upgrade your current frame to the latest and greatest assuming you could get fair market value for your current frame?
Actually........MXL02
Sep 30, 2002 12:33 PM
If you truly are a racer, then you should know as well as anybody that it is not about the bike: LA could beat us all on an old Steel frame with Suntour equipment. Having said that if the issue is style and you got the bucks...do it. I trade out components all the time, improving the look and feel of my bike...trading out the frame is just the same thing just more of it. In answer to your final question, I would trade out my frame if I wanted the newest latest greatest, but I would not base my decision on what I could get for the old frame...figure maybe 50% retail...but rather on how much I wanted the new one and whether I had the money.
Fulfilling a Need or a Want?Tig
Sep 30, 2002 10:41 AM
Your current bike sounds wonderful. Thanks to the new Monobox design, the 2003's should be stiffer in the bottom bracket and rear triangle. I'm sure there is a tangible improvement, but is it something you NEED or WANT?

Do what makes ya happy!
The most depressing thing that I can think of...Spoke Wrench
Sep 30, 2002 10:47 AM
would be my kids standing around my coffin and talking about "How sensible dad was."
more depressing...Steve_0
Sep 30, 2002 11:07 AM
Wife standing over the coffin wishing daddy put away more for the childrens future and less on his own desires.
No kids, no wife, no problem. nmPack Meat
Oct 1, 2002 9:45 AM
My experiencehirevR
Sep 30, 2002 11:27 AM
I am 25 with a wife house a jack russell and a passioin for bikes. Children aren't an option for us so I never think of that. But anyway, I had a TCR0 that i thought was going to be MY bike for the next decade. however, after some miles and a couple of months (6) I realized yucky flex and that no matter how cool it looked, what beloki rode, or how light it was, it was not My bike. I came across a deal on a 2003 5900 that was insane and i would have to sell my baby TCR and fork up an extra 400-600 bucks. was it worth it...you bet!! stiffness, ride, shifting--everything is better...except for looks. the 5900 looks boring but oh well. It is MY bike and I am so glad i got it.
My experiencealiensporebomb
Sep 30, 2002 11:48 AM
YUCKY FLEX? Hahaha! Sorry, but I nearly snorted soda out
my nose on that one.

Sorry to hear it didn't work out for you, mine is a small
and I'm a smaller rider so sprinting up those hills I've
not experienced YUCKY FLEX.

Glad to hear you did find a bike you like though.

Damn, if I ever build a bike I'll call it the YUCKY FLEX.
Heh!
My experienceLactate Junkie
Oct 1, 2002 9:50 AM
What's a wife house??
re: Is it worth it? Performance Improvement vs Marketingjradford
Sep 30, 2002 1:19 PM
Well I guess that I am one of those people who love the sport and have little money. For me bikes like that will not be an option for at least 10 to 15 years from now. Right now I am riding an old late 70's early 80's Peugeot. I have problems finding parts and spend more time keeping it running than I should. I have now bought a look KG96 and it will take me at least until next summer or fall to save the money to build it.

Well my point is that at my level and 95% of the rest of world will never tell the difference between my old Peugeot and your fondest. When I am out on club rides my bike does not even compare to the others in looks. It has scratches and paint chips all over. But 7 out of ten times I am the one starting the break on the club rides. I can out sprint the guys on the treks, and the guys on bikes that separated them from $5,000 or more. Does the bike make a difference well it will take a long time to find that out for me.

So my opinion no don't go with the new frame. In fact go out on a club ride with your old beater and attack just because, sprint, and climb faster than anyone else and laugh at them when you beat the $5,000 bike with you $200 peace of s#$t.
re: Is it worth it? Performance Improvement vs Marketingxxl
Sep 30, 2002 1:47 PM
There, there, you're just suffering from bike envy; don't worry, I have a bad case of it myself (I have to fork a mid-80's Schwinn). A cureable condition, supposedly, but the cure costs thousands, I'm told.

It's not the quality of the bike, it's the quality of the rider (but I keep hoping someday I'll get flush--and then I'll probably sing a different tune altogether, from the back of my new superbike).
unload that archaic piece of junk!DaveG
Sep 30, 2002 3:44 PM
"do you think I could get $1500 for a used, never crashed really cool bike?"

Who would pay $1500 for that obsolete, flexy, boat anchor of a frame?

Its your money - spend it as you like
re: Is it worth it? Performance Improvement vs Marketingrengaracchi
Sep 30, 2002 4:39 PM
I bet you don't feel the expected difference between 02 and 03 Fondriest. If you do, it is all in your mind that creates wishful thinking.

This being said, I would say that if you buy a '12 Fondriest, you could feel a difference. Technical improvements do not happen overnight. This is true for almost any product we buy on the market. I used to be crazy about audio equipment's, but I stopped paying attention to them for good 15 years. Then I recently wanted to buy a decent stereo set and went to a store to listen to some, and WOW, what a difference!! The past 15 years surely made big improvements. But can I feel the same "WOW" next year from "new" and "improved" models? I bet I don't. I would hardly notice a difference. I can say the same for cars. I have a sports car that puts out 250hp from 2000cc engine, but it is LEV!! In fact, if it weren't LEV, I wouldn't have bought it.

So, my opinion is that don't waist your money now. Ride your 02 Fondriest for 10 years and make good memories with it. Then your bike has a "soul", and you cannot get rid of it. I have a bike like that myself :-)
Look at it this way....B2
Sep 30, 2002 6:22 PM
If you got a really good deal on the 2002, your not going to be out a whole lot selling it and buying the 2003 (assuming you can also get a really good deal on the 2003). Now you obviously WANT the 2003 and when the 2004's come out, you're going to WANT one of those too.

So.... figure out what it's going to cost you to sell a one year old bike every year and buy a new one. Heck, depending on your priorities, it just might be worth it. What if you figured $500 a year vs $4000 purchase price. You wouldn't be out any more dollars with the buying and selling every year scenario vs buying a bike and holding on to it for EIGHT years (not to mention you would have the latest year bike at the end of eight years). You'll have to do the math and figure out what makes sense for your situation.

Bryan
Thanks.Pack Meat
Oct 1, 2002 9:48 AM
This is definitely a want and not a need and since I can afford it I think I'm going to do it. How can I continue to bash Colnagos and Trek and be the bike snob I am if I'm not on the best of the best.
re: Is it worth it? Performance Improvement vs MarketingThe Human G-Nome
Oct 1, 2002 3:53 PM
IMO, you're just an idiot if you don't sell and buy the '03. that 03 makes your 02 look like a piece of junk. every time i see a club rider without pictures of Italy's famous landmarks on the frame, i just have to stop and laugh.
re: Is it worth it? Performance Improvement vs MarketingTraveller
Oct 1, 2002 6:05 PM
If your heart desires go for it. You only live once.