RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


New Ride Photos (baby pictures) and Kudos to RBR(19 posts)

New Ride Photos (baby pictures) and Kudos to RBRSpunout
Sep 27, 2002 3:56 PM
Well, here is my review for 1km for every Canadian dollar (about 3K). Many thanks to everyone here answering my questions over the last few months. And, be sure to post reviews on the review side, that is SO valuable to have good opinions.

Bought the frame used on E-Bay, so-so experience because there is a rattle in the fork that can never be fixed. Silent when riding though.

Chorus 10, because I was caught between a triple and a hard place, but Campy's 13-29 swayed me to a double. My last road-bike (15 years ago) was Colnago and Super Record, so I just could not go anywhere else. Challenge: Spot a Japanese component on this bike!! Shifts better all of the time, but requires feel. It is easy to over-shift, because there are 4 shifts available!! 10 down is cool too.

Thomson stem and post systems, wow!! Maybe overdone, but competitive price, super functional, install and forget. Silent, and I'm 180 lbs. Cinelli Nerve bars, I'm not happy about the bends. I'd like a flatter top, deeper drops, these are quite shallow.

Lemond: Well, I'm old school, I watched and cheered through the 80s. This frame blows an 80s Colnago out of the water, so stiff yet supple, and descends on rails (max speed to date 70kmh).

Open Pros and Record hubs, why anything else? $1K for 200 grams less, well, I'll buy race tires instead. Flite TI is flawless, firm, and exact. Look pedals are functional, adjustable float works, and helps when you are searching for that perfect cleat position.

Thanks to all,

Michael.
Holy Smokesfiltersweep
Sep 27, 2002 4:06 PM
Nice photo- nice bike. I can't believe your yellows actually match... and your blues (cages)... forgive me for being so superficial ;)

What's up with the rattle in the fork?
Rattle in the fork..Spunout
Sep 27, 2002 4:28 PM
Seems like a ball of epoxy broke free from the dropouts. Rolls all over the place when lifting the bike, but silent when riding. I'd have to 'sneak' a warranty repair through my LBS to have it replaced.

Thanks on the Yellows, actually, they are not so exact. Same with the blues, I am actually better in photoshop and photography than bike building, so that always helps!

Photo Tech info: Nikon F70, 50mm 1.4 @f8; Fuji Provia, Nikon Circ. Polarizer, Nikon sb-28 set -1.7ev for fill flash. Dow's Lake Park, Ottawa, ON., Canada.
No wonderfiltersweep
Sep 27, 2002 4:55 PM
...all the photo specs, the yellow flowers in the background... a real camera... I should have know we had a ringer ;)
spot on ride mr. spunoutSpirito
Sep 27, 2002 4:35 PM
looks well balanced and a smart blend of parts.
very nice touches - enjoy yerself.

ciao
Thanks Spirito, I learned from the retro board ;) NMSpunout
Sep 27, 2002 4:48 PM
Yellow Bar TapeJaeP
Sep 27, 2002 4:44 PM
Hello,
Where did you get the yellow bar tape? My yellow bar tape is in dire need of a replacement.
Cinelli Cork tape, LBS. Can't you get this anywhere? NMSpunout
Sep 27, 2002 4:49 PM
re: New Ride Photos (baby pictures) and Kudos to RBRVon Zip
Sep 27, 2002 4:56 PM
You wouldn't happen to be Sweedish with those colors? Nice looking bike!
Nice...enclavecat
Sep 27, 2002 5:22 PM
'Das one spot on, super good looking ride there. Nice job with the colors.
Clean Machine Bro ! (nm)flying
Sep 27, 2002 5:32 PM
re: New Ride Photos (baby pictures) and Kudos to RBRaliensporebomb
Sep 27, 2002 9:55 PM
Love it. It's gone into rotation for desktop pictures. Nice!
Thomson stem - what do you think?Fez
Sep 28, 2002 5:31 AM
I was considering that stem. Did you choose it simply to match the seatpost, or is it better than other road stems out there?

Real nice job building that bike!
Re: Thomson stem - what do you think?Spunout
Sep 28, 2002 11:21 AM
The only stem on the review board that doesn't have a negative opinion. So, spend an extra $30 ($50 Cdn) and get the best. It is amazing, beefy, 4 bolts, clean at the steerer tube. I'm not a Clydesdale, but I've never heard a peep out of it. So, what is it, 50 grams heavier than a Deda? Stem is like a lifeline, better investment.

But, it is very wide at the clamp, so say goodbye to your cool graphics(obscured)or aerobars(cringe!).
Well now I have a good idea of what my Lemond will...Lone Gunman
Sep 28, 2002 5:43 AM
look like. The paint kept cracking, water would get under it, rust would form, and the paint peeled off like cheap tape. After touching up the bb area and spots around the bottle braze ons, I decided to go for a do over. When I began stripping parts off, the paint was flaking off by looking at it.

Obtained a set of black Lemond decals from the LBS, found a powder coater and had the entire steel frame coated in a coca-cola red. Found a painter who does custom work on just about anything who did the yellow just like is in this pic, decal application and clear coat. Going with black bottle cages. I should pick it up today. Red cinelli cork tape on the bars and planning to go the San Marco Regal red saddle and still using red rolf wheels until I get something else.
Black accessories would be cool. My paint flexes, no cracks. nmSpunout
Sep 28, 2002 11:23 AM
Just finished building it back up...Lone Gunman
Sep 28, 2002 6:47 PM
Stunning work on the paint. The yellow is very similar to what you have only bolder, it is a custom mixed yellow that the painter has mixed himself. The PC with clear on it has depth, the whole bike is just stunning.
Post pictures when you have a chance! NMSpunout
Sep 29, 2002 5:04 AM
Purty bike.look271
Sep 28, 2002 3:30 PM
Looks great. It's now part of my screensaver roation (and wallpaper-my wife thinks I'm ill.)