RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cheated on Ebay(8 posts)

Cheated on Ebayzray61
Sep 26, 2002 9:02 PM
Awhile back I brought a frame from a seller on Ebay. He advertised one thing but the condition of the frame was different then advertised. I wanted a $100.00 settlement but the seller would not answer my emails. I used Ebay's
mediator services($20.00) and also filed a fraud report. Settled
for $50.00. So I had a net gain of $30.00 and he had a penalty of $50.00. With hindsight I should have gone straight to the fraud claim and not used the mediator.

It is buyer beware and I should have been more diligent in my prequestioning. Also, it reinforced what I already know. You/I can not change a sick person we can only change ourselves. I settled for a low amount because in reading the seller's email(rebuttals) I realized I could get more money if I pursed the matter but it would have taken much more time than I cared to put into the problem. But more importantly this guy was exciting my revenge fantasies and
I was spending more time in a negative state of mind then
the matter was worth
Thanks for the Heads Up!DUOHEAD
Sep 26, 2002 9:38 PM
re: Cheated on Ebaytarwheel
Sep 27, 2002 3:49 AM
I had a similar experience last spring, but in my case I was lucky and the seller refunded my money. I still ended up paying shipping costs on both ends, but that's the price you pay. Some of the warning signs I ignored were poor quality photographs and the seller being a newbie (shades) with no prior sales. I am much more cautious about buying stuff over eBay or other online sources now. I also refuse to pay more than 1/2 of retail unless I am totally convinced about the condition of an item -- after all, when you buy over eBay you will have no warranty protection and a guaranteed hassle trying to return something if it's not as advertised.
Samefiltersweep
Sep 27, 2002 4:51 AM
I could have just written that post- except my seller didn't have shades- he was working through his adult daughter's account (and speaking with her, he DID accept a return for selling absolutely CRAP wheels)... same deal- low quality photos, ambiguous replies to my emails... it taught me a lesson worth far more than paying shipping both ways... I'm almost thankful ;)
Excellent points here are some add. guidleines for buying on ebaOld_school_nik
Sep 27, 2002 5:27 AM
As a frequesnt seller and buyer of bike parts on Ebay I have a few recommendations for folks who wish to have a good experience picking up parts frames etc on Ebay.

Mind you, you can get better bargains by ignoring some of these safeguards but as the story above illustartes it is not worth the risk.

Ebay is a great place to buy items for less than retail if you follow these guidelines:

*First thing first, only buy from a seller who has a solid 20+ rating from more than 20 SALES not just buys.

*The sales should be of bike parts not other items such as electronics. That is, the seller mainly sells lots of parts frames etc.

*Do not just look at the feedback numbers and ratings also look at the feedbck of the folks who gave the seller the feedback. If the person leaving the feedback for your seller also has a high feednack that is the best person to buy from. It measn that an expierienced buyer bought and received the goods from the seller and examined the item and then left good feedback after they were satisfied.

*if the folks leaving feedback on your seller all have low feedabck like 5 or less transactions DON'T BUY FROM THAT SELLER- It could be feedbackleft by friends of the seller.

*When buying always always always use a major credit card through Payapl - that way you have some recourse in addition to Ebay services to resovle and get money back.

* if there is any question about the seller - e-mail some of the folks who have transaction with him - they will tell you everything you would be surprised.

On one ocaision a guy from Japan was bidding on my auction and was asking really cryptic questions that made it seem like he didn't know what the hell he was talking about - so I e-mailed a couple of the people he transacted with and they told me he was this dentist in Japan who buys a ton of vintage Campy parts all the time and that he always comes through he just doesn' write English very well.

I sold to him and he seemed to bid much more than the next nearest bidder was willing to pay.

*even if the seller has a vey high feedback rating in the hundreds or thousands don't assume that they are good look at the individual tranasctions - the negatives what did they claim? - is the stuff just late in shipping? or is it misrepresented?

If you follow all these steps you will never get ripped off.

When I was selling a lot of vintage Campy parts I got to know all the sellers and buyers on a first name basis - it is a tight knit community -

* Again, to get the lowest prices you will have to buy from sellers with no or little feedback - but just know that you are really taking a risk - instead, buy from an established seller of bike parts. The last thing they want is a negative feedback or a bad transaction.

Good luck,

-Nik

(not selling anything now- so not a conflict of interest!)
yes butlonefrontranger
Sep 27, 2002 6:08 AM
How do those rules apply to a casual seller like myself who DOESN'T use Ebay that frequently and has sold only a couple cycling related items (both high-quality frames in excellent condition). Thank god my buyers didn't buy into those sets of rules; their feedback indicates both of them believe they got a great deal professionally packed.
Lone, I am totally with you - I just suggest those guides forOld_school_nik
Sep 27, 2002 6:48 AM
folks who think buying from ebay is like buying from a store - I always buy from casual seller like yourself - because those are where the best deals are - maybe you buy a saddle or shoes and don't like them - they are essentially new - and your happy f you get anything for them - I really just wanted to give folks more tools for hecking out a seller - I may have erred on the side of caution too much - but I still don't understand who so many poeple always seem to get ripped off on enay when you just have to do some homework is all - so anyway, I didn't mean to discourage folks from buying from casual sellers - so to all: buy from everybody whose credibility you can check out! - even casual sellers.

-Niko
Make sure to post their name/handle in Good/Bad Trader forum!js5280
Sep 27, 2002 8:26 AM
Include other identifying info such as email, name, etc. Doesn't hurt to include it here either to get the word around. Sorry to hear you got cheated.