RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


to frog, or not to frog(14 posts)

to frog, or not to frogp dog
Sep 26, 2002 2:11 PM
I'm a relatively new rider (just bought a used Lemond Zurich) buying his first pair of clippless pedals. All my buddies ride speedplay x/2's. They all seem pretty happy, but I've been reading about the frog and like the idea of a walkable cleat. How comparable are these two for strickly road use? Would you use MTB shoes for the frogs? Am I going to look like a goober? I'd appreciate any thoughts or comments.

thanks,
pb
anytime you choose function over form...collinsc
Sep 26, 2002 2:27 PM
you will look like a goober.

I have many happy, goober-free roadies only X/2 pedals.

and I've almost learned to walk up and down concrete stairs with the cleats.

Really though, I dont think walking is that big of an issue. WTF are you doing walking anyway? If you have to walk more than 10 feet in your shoes you are not riding enough.

X/2s = good enough for me, good enough for your buddies, good enough for you.

that said, Ive never tried the frogs.
I'm a proud frog roadie goober fred ...PdxMark
Sep 26, 2002 3:14 PM
and have many X-2 roadie friends who will still ride with me...

Weights are comparable between frogs and X-2, especially if you get Ti frogs and include cleat weights. You will need mtb shoes for frogs - the shoe sole pattern protects the frog cleats. (so, mtb shoes will weigh more than comparable road shoes).

Of course, you need to decide whether you care about the opinion of anyone who is anal and judgmental enough to care about what pedals you use. If you do care about their opinion, rest assured that they will also look down on your bike, your other gear, etc., either because it isn't worthy or you aren't worthy of it.

I opted for frogs because I can imagine, and have experienced, many situations in which I need to walk some distance in cycling shoes. The Ti frogs are close in weight to the X-somethings... If you want to always carry cleat covers when you ride, dig dirt & debris out of your cleats on occaision, and have a hard time walking, X-2s are the way to go.
Oh, Frog it!!gogene
Sep 26, 2002 3:27 PM
my compromiseScot_Gore
Sep 26, 2002 3:40 PM
Pb,

I enjoy biking to places and sites I've never been and looking around. This often involves some walking, therefore it was important to me to have a shoe I could comfortably get around in....AND....I wanted a road shoe & pedal, just because I did.

I got a Lake shoe with hard rubber toe and heel pads. With the coffee cap on my X cleat it makes a decent walking surface.

My compromise. Hope that helps.

Scot
No need for mtb shoes anymoreSuds
Sep 27, 2002 6:35 AM
Check out the new frog cleats at speedplay.com. They claim that they are ok to walk on with road shoes.
re: to frog, or not to frogDERICK
Sep 26, 2002 4:32 PM
Yes go for the frogs. Even the steel frogs are lighter than most road pedals. I use them with a pair of Diadora MTB shoes which are almost as stiff as road shoes and not clunky looking at all. To me it is very important to be able to move well on my feet if I have to. I would hate to have to defend wy self while wearing road shoes with a big cleat in them.
What would you have to defend yourself from? nmfbg111
Sep 26, 2002 6:31 PM
What would you have to defend yourself from? nmDERICK
Sep 26, 2002 10:16 PM
How can you ask that? Any number of things could happed. Just look back at some of the posts on this board and other publications. Riding alone out in the country you could easily become the target of some bord redneck punk who wants to show off. Cyclists have been hit by cars and then attacked by the driver. Thankfully it is very rare but does happen. I never ride without this folding knife clipped in my wasteband. It opens easily with one hand and can shave the hair off your arm. And before you ask, yes it is perfectly legal to carry in my state. Yes I do know how to use it(10 years and counting of martial arts training including weapons)And no, it will not stop a bullet or speeding car. It ,like a helmet, does nothing but improve the odds in certain situations. Chances are we'll all ride tens of thousands of miles with nothing but a few yelled insults but you never know.
What would you have to defend yourself from? nmfbg111
Sep 27, 2002 4:52 AM
Interesting. I haven't done any long-range centuries out in the country yet, but I understand your point. I have some relatives who live out in the boonies and carry guns in the glove compartment. Out there you're all alone.

I have a few Spyderco knives like that, but I use them sailing. So sharp, I almost cut my thumb off with it one time, and didn't even notice it till somebody saw my blood all over the deck.
Why not try these:fbg111
Sep 26, 2002 6:34 PM
Small profile, walkable, road-specific:

http://www.coombe.com/
RibbitMe Dot Org
Sep 26, 2002 8:54 PM
I've been using frogs on my road bikes for 2 years now. They are the easiest pedal to clip/unclip. Recessed is good for walking around, a big plus in my book. They have plenty of float, so they don't bother my knees.

Contrary to what was written previously, you don't have to buy mountain bike shoes to fit frogs. I use them on Sidi Energy shoes. Speedplay just introduced new Frog II cleats don't require shoe trimming the way the older ones did, but they also cut down on float. (I actually prefer the older cleats. Consult the Speedplay web site for shoes that fit the old frog cleats.)

Anyway, I love 'em. Cleats and pedals are important, too important to worry about fashion. Wear what works for you.
re: to frog, or not to frogSep
Sep 27, 2002 7:08 AM
I use X-2's which recently replaced a set of frogs on my roadie. I switched because I wanted dedicated road shoes (i.e. a firmer sole). However, when I rode Cycle Oregon (a 6 day, 500 mile tour) I switched back to the frogs so that I could walk around the campsites.

If you are going to be touring, lots of stops, walking on unimproved ground, etc., I'd recommend the frogs. Also if you only want to have one pair of shoes to "share" between your MTB and roadie, the frogs are it.

If you are going to be riding aggressively (i.e. the ride is the ultimate end not viewing the scenery) and you are performance oriented get the X-2's.
re: to frog, or not to froghoopshot
Sep 27, 2002 8:26 AM
I have SPD pedals (Shimano 747) and am happy with them. What I ended up doing for shoes was to get a pair of Sidi Bullet MTB shoes. They are the same as the Bullet road shoes except for having rubber walking bumps on the bottom. I don't think Sidi has Bullets anymore but they may have some other similar shoe. Some people complain of hot spots with SPD pedals, but I haven't had a problem.

--Will