RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ripped off by saddlesore.co.uk(7 posts)

Ripped off by saddlesore.co.ukol
Sep 25, 2002 9:42 PM
This is not the first complaint about this company and I do not think it will be the last. I ordered goods from them 1 month ago and nothing has arrived as yet. I sent numerous emails without any response, and have tried calling them only to be greeted by a busy dial tone. What really irritates me is that this company is still trading, the website is still up and running taking money from unsuspecting buyers. I purchased goods from them with my credit card which was billed immediately, now I am would like to know if I can cancell this transaction?
The bottom line to this rant is do not do business with saddlesore.co.uk.
Boo Hoofiltersweep
Sep 26, 2002 4:05 AM
You were too cheap to buy from your LBS...

If you live in the US, are you SURE you know how to make an international call? No offense, but most Americans are rather ignorant of such matters.

Most of these online sites are mom and pop shops with an underwhelming technological infrastructure. I've had orders lost by totalcycling when their server crashed, and other similar experiences from small retailers... this is not a Colorado Cyclist type operation. The very reason these outfits even have such low prices is related directly to the fact that they don't pay an employee to just sit by a PC to answer every email the second they receive it, or answer each phone call on the first ring.

If you would like to know if you can cancel the transaction, call your CC company... they sort of deal with this ALL the TIME.
Boo Hoorcarbs
Sep 26, 2002 4:13 AM
I gues by your admitting to using totalcycling that you too are too cheap to buy from your LBS.........
Boo Hooscruffyduncan
Sep 26, 2002 4:24 AM
do they promise to get weighty items 1000s of miles in under a month?.
Nofiltersweep
Sep 26, 2002 7:45 AM
No, I'm admitting that I've had "lost orders" and a few hassles from low budget online retailers- never anything that couldn't be sorted out... I'm admitting that I would never order anything I needed yesterday from overseas (or anywhere online or mail order for that matter). I'll cheap out on some things, like Sidi shoes... I'll buy my frameset from my LBS... I'll buy an extra set of tires to have lying around for the day I need them from the cheapest source I can. I'll buy my saddle that my LBS does NOT stock through mail order.

My point is that I don't expect the world from the cheapest seller... and that if I DO have problems from a low budget website retailer, I'm not at all surprised. They aren't some slick website like coloradocyclist... look at adrenaline bikes- that advertise here- they don't even have their web store up and running....

...if I pay less than full retail, I don't expect much if any service.
Ripped off by saddlesore.co.uk alsotrekster
Sep 26, 2002 10:19 AM
I too am Boo-Hoo-ing over my order from saddlesore. I ordered tires to have laying around when I needed them. Guess what, six weeks have gone by and now I need them. I don't agree with filtersweep and think thats its okay for a low budget company to rip us off. If this is how they keep there prices down, I think I will shop somewhere else. Maybe they only steal from 1 out of 20 customers and pass the savings on to rest.I wonder who to report the theft to.How do we stop them from ripping off more people?Your credit card company will give you a hard time and make you file a dispute.
Ripped off by saddlesore.co.uk alsoemptyhanded
Oct 21, 2002 10:49 AM
I ordered wheels in early august. No wheels. No replies to my emails. no answers to my phonecalls.

disputed charges with credit card company. They got a hold of saddlesore. saddlesore is disputing the claim with my credit card company. In other words, they are trying to keep my money.

As for the previous opinions posted:

1) Local bike stores can be just as crooked as companies overseas.
2) Low prices don't mean you shouldn't expect a minimal amount of service. Like answering your phone or emails.
3) I usually support LBS, but cannot bring myself to pay the huge markup on certain items.
4) If paying $125 less for a pair of Sid's makes me cheap, then color me cheap. Or maybe smart. either way my feet are awfully cozy.
5) The closest LBS to me is 2 and half hours away. not exactly "local."

Instead of mocking those who have problems with this company and are looking for helpful information, why not spend that time riding your bike?