RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


flat proof tires(16 posts)

flat proof tiresRom12_1
Sep 25, 2002 11:30 AM
I want to get a set of clincher 700x20 tires that are as puncture resistant as possible for winter training rides. I had been looking at Specialized Armadillos but some of the reviews I have seen have been less than enthusiastic. What are some other options, and does anyone have experience with the Armadillos that would support their use? Also, any comments on how difficult getting the tires on rims would be of interest to me as I have weak hands from a spinal cord injury. (Rims CXP21 and CXP33). Thanks.
Some Suggestionsjromack
Sep 25, 2002 11:41 AM
Use 700x23s!

Also try Conti Gatorskins.

My wife has trouble with her hands and before she married me and employed me as her mechanic, she has this hinged tire lever that's used on mountain bike tires. It works well on her 650 tires.
re: flat proof tiresMVN
Sep 25, 2002 11:42 AM
Try Serfas Seca Road tires. I have some Armadillos on my Trek 1000 (now my trainer bike) and their ride is harsh. They are bombproof, but a harsh ride. With my new bike I bought the Seca road tires ($20 each). They have a Kevlar belt, wire bead, weigh 260 grams, and the ride is much more comfortable than the Specialized tires. I think the Spec. tires weigh about 330 grams each, or close to that. I only have 150 miles on them, but they work great so far. I had a flat so I took off the racing tires the bike came with and then put these on. They were a little tough to get on, but then I'm not the best tire changer in the world, lol. Hope that helps.
I Also Use This Leverjromack
Sep 25, 2002 11:52 AM
http://www.crankbrothers.com/faq/speed_lever.php
Looks interesting!Rom12_1
Sep 25, 2002 1:35 PM
I may have to check that out. Anything that would make it a little easier.
Tires (like everything else) are a compromisecory
Sep 25, 2002 11:58 AM
You can't have everything--I've found Dillos to be just about bulletproof, but they ride as harshly as anything I've tried. Ditto some allegedly tough Michelins the name of which I can't remember--tough as cast iron, and nearly as pleasant to ride.
Do you insist on 700x20s? Skinny tires have lots of built-in disadvantages, not offset (in my opinion) by the small-to-invisible increase in performance. I used Armadillos in 26mm for awhile--still harsh but better, and with all the toughness. The last couple of years I've been running Panaracer Pasela TGs in 32mm (measure about 25mm true width, so they'll probably fit). Nice ride, good cornering once the center rib wears down, and a Kevlar belt.
Sounds like bigger tires might be part of the answer. nmRom12_1
Sep 25, 2002 1:37 PM
2nd vote for Panaracer Pasela TGsMe Dot Org
Sep 26, 2002 6:56 AM
Had some good luck with these - did a flat-free California Aids Ride in 2001 (ought one?). Low rolling resistance for a tough tire.

These tires seem to size skinny: their 700x25 seems like most 700x23s.
Oh By The Way, Like You Forum Name (Romans 12:1)jromack
Sep 25, 2002 2:39 PM
That was one of the verses that got me back into a regular exercise routine.

The guy who does Lance's website also started a Christian Cyclists website, but it is rather slow traffic wise.
Thanks....Rom12_1
Sep 25, 2002 4:10 PM
Romans 12:1 and 2 have meant a lot to me! Where is the website? I'd like to check it out.
Christian Cyclists Websitejromack
Sep 25, 2002 6:48 PM
http://www.americancycling.net/fcc.htm

Last post was April 30th
Also check out Ironclad.org (nm)jesse1
Sep 26, 2002 1:57 AM
re: flat proof tiresdesmo
Sep 25, 2002 8:10 PM
Not sure why you need 20's for winter training. I ride 23's most of the time then go to 25's or 28's for winter. Actually on the one bike I really have set up for winter rain riding I run 27 x 1 1/4's with Schrader valve tubes and slime. They actually ride great and are still fast on level roads. Yeah, climbing is tougher but you are "training" right? To me winter riding is all about being as comfortable as you can be while putting up with fowl weather. The big comfy ride of huge tires and not having to fix flats in a downpour is a great start. Anyway, with the slimed 27's I did not have one puncture last winter.
re: flat proof tirescommuterguy
Sep 26, 2002 8:07 AM
I use Performance Forte Kevlar tires, riding in horrendous conditions (lots of broken glass, potential pinch-flat causing bumps, etc.) and essentially never have fl_ts. (Knock on wood.) The only thing that gets through is roofing nails or industrial strength packing staples taken at precisely the wrong angle, but these will defeat anything save a solid (noninflatable) tire.

I have recently backed off the tire pressure to 110-115 psi. The sidewall says inflate to 105, with 125 max. The lower pressure greatly increases ride quality (I would say its roughly 85% of the Axial Pro ride in terms of comfort) without a noticable increase in rolling resistance. Like the other posters, I wouldn't recommend 700x20, although this tire comes in that size.
Specialized Armadilloswink
Sep 26, 2002 10:29 AM
As amazing as it may seem I have over 2,600 miles on these tires with no flats ( I hope this posting does not whammy me) Would highly recommend, however they have been a slippery in turns and on wet pavement the last 300 miles or so. I think I better get new tires every 3,000 miles whether I need them or not!
Thanks all!! nmRom12_1
Sep 26, 2002 3:27 PM