RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


advantage of slope frame(8 posts)

advantage of slope framesilroadbike
Sep 25, 2002 8:57 AM
what are the advantages and disadvantages of a sloping frame?
re: advantage of slope framecastrello
Sep 25, 2002 9:04 AM
Disadvantages?

Read...

http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/innovation/sloping.html
re: advantage of slope frameThe Human G-Nome
Sep 25, 2002 10:10 AM
ok, that's one opinion... but it reads like an advertisement for Cannondale. if you're really concerned with weight, also concern yourself with the seatpost, wheels, fork, gruppo, etc. if you're buying a Cinelli Starlight, for example, do you really care how much a longer seatpost is going to add to your overall weight? probably not. some view the slope as an abomination (it looks like a mountain bike). your only question should be, "when i testride the bike at my LBS, does it feel right?" if it does, don't worry about the slope. if not, find something else your size.
more skirt friendlySpirito
Sep 25, 2002 10:17 AM
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/gloss_i-l.html#ladys

ciao
Just girls? what about our mixed-gendered readers? nmDave Hickey
Sep 25, 2002 10:41 AM
"we should all ride mixte-compact frames" is a quote by ...Spirito
Sep 25, 2002 11:11 AM
a man who is a perhaps the foremost authority in these matters - Marv Albert

ciao
re: advantage of slope framelaffeaux
Sep 25, 2002 11:31 AM
If you're short you get more standover on a compact frame. Actually if you're tall you get that too, but it's probably not as important.

Also, in theory a manufacturer can save money by reducing the number of frame sizes, and thus carrying a smaller inventory. This savings might be passed to the consumer resulting in a lower cost bike. Again, this is theoretical, and a well run company can save money producing anything.

I ride a compact frame and love it, but it's not to say it's because it's compact. Ride what's comfortable to you. Compact versus standard frames is a lot like the Campy versus Shimano argument - there is no right answer.
re: advantage of slope framefbg111
Sep 25, 2002 1:21 PM
Are we talking about the sloping frame of a lady's bike, or of a compact frame? Assuming the latter, check these out:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efb23b6
http://www.hydromedia.com/phorum/read.php?f=4&i=163&t=162 (Tom Kellogg's response to your question, short but good)

You can search this forum or any other active cycling forum for other opinions. It's been discussed to death. I bet even Google will find plenty of answers for you. But in short, the advantages are that it 1) slightly lowers the bike's center of gravity, 2) stiffens the rear triangle, 3) decreases standover height, and 4) uses slightly less frame material, so less weight. #1 helps when you're pedalling standing, moving the bike back and forth to quickly build up speed. Less top heavy, less effort to move the bike back and forth underneath you. #2 helps mainly when accelerating, especially uphill. Less rear frame flex = more power transfer. It also means you can incorporate more flexible structures or material (hourglass seat stays on the Merlin XL Compact, carbon/ti seat stays on the Litespeed Sienna, or full Titanium frame) and have less flex than you would on a traditional frame, giving a more comfortable ride to a stiff bike. #3 just means less chance of squashing your crotch on the top tube when you jump off.

Some peeps say they notice those advantages, others say they don't. I'm a noob with nothing to compare it too, so I can't say (my first and only road bike is a compact). The only two disadvantages I've seen people attribute to the compact frame is that 1) old school roadies thinks it looks ugly, and 2) bike fit is more hit or miss. While I pesonally don't think the compact looks ugly, I can appreciate the sleek, streamlined look of a top tube perfectly parallel with the ground, and understand the old schooler's point on that. As for fit, mass market compacts like Giants sell in only a few sizes = small, medium, and large. They rely on changing seatpost height and stem length to tailor the fit of one of those frames to a particular rider, rather than making a whole range of 50cm - 66cm (or whatever) sized frames. But if one of those frame sizes doesn't fit you, then you're SOL. Also, some folks don't like screwing around with the stem length b/c they feel that it messes up the bike's steering characteristics. Some up market bike manufacturers make many more compact sizes, though. Both Merlin and Litespeed, for example, have x-small, small, medium, medium-large, large, x-large, and Merlin even offers custom sizing in case one of the standard sizes don't fit you.