RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


NYC Bike Shops(16 posts)

NYC Bike ShopsBrianNYC
Sep 24, 2002 10:32 AM
Considering my last post asking for advice on a bike got only one response, I thought a more general one might do better. Any opinions or recommendations on bike shops in NYC would be greatly appreciated.
re: NYC Bike Shopsvelocity
Sep 24, 2002 10:38 AM
Sid's or Conrad's.
Howdy.Sintesi
Sep 24, 2002 10:41 AM
Check out this post Brian. Same question many responses. I recommend Bicycle Habitat.

pukka "Any NYC LBS recs on UES?" 8/28/02 9:18am
Howdy.BrianNYC
Sep 24, 2002 10:42 AM
Thanks, going through the posts now.
fuhhhgedaboutit .....Spirito
Sep 24, 2002 10:42 AM
well ... not quite

A-bikes on 14th st is my 1st choice.

with Bikeworks NYC, TOGA and Conrads a close second and all very different in what they offer and specialise in.

http://www.ny.com/shopping/sports/bike.html

the rest are a waste of time.

what is it you are looking for?

ciao
fuhhhgedaboutit .....BrianNYC
Sep 23, 2002 8:20 AM
Good point about specialization. I am looking for a road bike, don't want to go crazy since I just started riding again at the beginning of the summer, but am willing to spend for something good that will work as I get more indurance, etc. ($1500 - 200) range). Like the idea of carbon too from what I read about the ride in the reviews.
try the shops mentioned here ....Spirito
Sep 24, 2002 11:20 AM
take an afternoon off and check the shops out to see what they have in that price range. pick the store that listens and takes the time out to genuinely help you as you are paying a premium over what you can buy on the web.

expect to be well fitted and offered good advice in terms of being offered what will suit your needs and budget. perhaps even join a local bike organisation such as NYCC or CRCA as the members can advise towards stores that offer discounts to club memners (some as high as 10%) and good reputations.

above all take your time - its better to build a good rapport and find a good LBS as no doubt you will need other bits and servicing as well. ask when is a good time to visit so that way they aren't busy and you aren't rushed.

you will find a bike to suit you for the amount your willing to spend - be sure to set aside some coin for good shorts, helmet , shoes etc. it doesn't hurt to ask for a little better pricing on these if you are buying a bike as well.

its good that you have checked the reviews and armed yourself with some knowledge as this will help you in finding a balanced and quality bike.

good luck

ciao, ben
try the shops mentioned here ....BrianNYC
Sep 24, 2002 12:13 PM
Thanks to all. Very good advice from all responders and greatly appreciated. I will check out the shops and take my time - rapport is important as I plan to keep biking for a long time (I used to bike a lot and am kicking myself for having given it up for so long)and a good relationship with a trustworthy, knowledgeable shop can only be helpful. Also, thanks for the advice on local clubs, I will look into them. In terms of pricing, I am not sure when the "next year" models come out with bikes, but if they are anything like cars, hopefully there will be some sales coming up in the fall. Not being a slave to fashion, I would happily get more bike for less by buying last years model.

Thanks again.

PS - A good sign for all of this - when I got home to my apartment building a girl was just returning on a ride on her brand new Bianchi and I rode up on the elevator with her and sounded somewhat intelligent thanks to this website and y'all.
try the shops mentioned here ....BrianNYC
Sep 24, 2002 1:52 PM
By the way, what are the official names of the clubs so I can look up the numbers, unless you happen to have them handy. Thanks
links hereSpirito
Sep 24, 2002 2:35 PM
http://www.nycc.org/index.html

http://www.crca.net/

http://www.transalt.org/

all 3 are very different but membership with any will avail you to some good advice with regard to purchase, club discounts and recommended bike shops in the 5 boroughs. they also have scheduled rides and info on routes and events as well.

ciao
links hereBrianNYC
Sep 24, 2002 3:16 PM
Thanks
try the shops mentioned here ....BrianNYC
Sep 25, 2002 6:55 AM
Joined the NYCC - looking forward to discount
Habitat is really the best shop, then Toga even Metro AVOID Ren-VO2_max
Sep 24, 2002 1:10 PM
-aisance at all costs!!! - they charge for used boxes!!! And with their attitude you'd think Lance rode for them!

I just this week had a very good experience at Toga actually and was impressed with their friendly customer service and patience.

Habitat is the best shop in that they support all the bike related causes in the city - they will rent you any bike - yes even a $3000 trek if you want! Very friendly - even Metro on 88th and Lex (they have 5 stores) is good - I used to work their in the 80's -

Good luck!

-Nik
Habitat is really the best shop, then Toga even Metro AVOID Ren-BrianNYC
Sep 24, 2002 1:39 PM
Thanks. I am going to take the advice and check out all the stores and see what I think. I bought my present bike, a Trek 7300 at Metro's 88th street store and did not have a bad experience, but then again I just walked in without doing research or checking out other stores. One thing, Toga/Gotham have a good website, and I am somewhat disappointed that not all the other shops mentioned in the replies have websites that I can find, since then I could at least know the brands they carry.
re: NYC Bike Shopsfbg111
Sep 24, 2002 4:14 PM
FYI, sometimes peeps may not respond to a question just b/c it has already been asked and answered many times. Try searching the forum for your previous question, as lots of folks have asked for bike recommendations in the $1500 - $2000 range.
re: NYC Bike ShopsBrianNYC
Sep 25, 2002 5:18 AM
Thanks. I will give it a try.