RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Oh, the horror, the horror...(24 posts)

Oh, the horror, the horror...Gator
Sep 24, 2002 6:50 AM
So there I am, doing a cool-down after my Sunday morning group ride, when what to my wondering eyes does appear? Some 40-something yuppie guy, about 50 pounds overweight, on a brand new Trek 5500, decked out from head to toe in some blinding neon Italian team outfit, stars-and-stripes do rag, no helmet, Air Jordans and white knee socks, weaving down the side of the road--against traffic--TALKING ON HIS CELL PHONE. Would it bad if I just happened to "accidently" run over this guy? Would that be wrong?
cell phonesSteve_0
Sep 24, 2002 6:52 AM
I see that more and more on bikes. Dont understand it; i ride to get AWAY from the phone and obligations.
EXACTLY - the solace of a long ride is often the point. (nm)RhodyRider
Sep 24, 2002 8:46 AM
Don't run him overmr_spin
Sep 24, 2002 7:00 AM
Just get his number and keep calling him. Eventually nature will take it's course!
moral paradox?DougSloan
Sep 24, 2002 7:03 AM
Well, it's probably ok to run him down, based largely on the fact that he's eaten too many Big Macs, is without a helmet, and is talking on a cell phone. However, if you plan to do so in an SUV, then my brain just goes all haywire from the moral paradox created and I can't process the dilemma any longer.

Doug
Is that your legal advice? (nm)Spoke Wrench
Sep 24, 2002 7:09 AM
only in California nmDougSloan
Sep 24, 2002 7:27 AM
*snicker ;-) nmMB1
Sep 24, 2002 8:18 AM
Give the guy a break. . .ms
Sep 24, 2002 7:28 AM
On almost any other day I would agree with you. I can live with the neon Italian team outfit, Air Jordans and white knee socks -- that only offends my visual sensibilities. If he keeps riding, he will lose the weight. BUT, I really have a problem with no helmet and talking on his cell phone. He could hurt himself (and cost all of us money indirectly by incurring insured health care costs) or others. However, as I said when I started, today is different. I ride to work about two days per week. I decided to ride today even though I was running late. I went to put air in my rear tire and somehow punctured the tire with the stem. So after I changed the tire, I was even more late. Then, I ran into a huge traffic jam on a two lane road with no shoulder (nearly impossible to pass on the right side, even though the cars were not moving). Not only was I become later, but the auto exhaust was killing my lungs and burning my contact lenses. After all of this, I saw the dorkiest cyclist I have seen in a long time coming in the other direction -- baggy shorts, sweatshirt, tennis shoes and a ski cap (even though it was in the high 60s at that point). No helmet. I gave a very weak wave and the guy broke into a broad smile and yelled thanks. It was the first thing that made me feel good on a very bad morning. Remember -- if the other person is on a bike, he or she has more in common with us than divides us, even if the other person violates a host of style and safety rules. Now, if we only could get the guys we saw into some 12 step program for wayward cyclists. . .
Funny. How would the ideal 12 step program go? (NM)rtyszko
Sep 24, 2002 7:53 AM
I'm a lawyer, I'll leave that to the mental health professionms
Sep 24, 2002 8:43 AM
Although I sometimes feel like I am a mental health professional when clients unload their problems, I leave behavior modification to the people who have proper training and know (or claim to know) what they are doing. I probably would come up with a regimen that would be a combination of a Clockwork Orange, the blood and gore movies that I saw in drivers' ed in 1974, and Fashion Emergency.
Hello, my name is Fred and I am a Fred. (nm)js5280
Sep 24, 2002 12:12 PM
dorky cyclists...Steve_0
Sep 24, 2002 7:54 AM
I think the same thing when I see someone walking through a restaraunt or shop in 'riding' garb and cleats.

'Style' is quite subjective.
I see a chance for profits.dzrider
Sep 24, 2002 7:32 AM
Invent a device for mounting the dial pad on the bars for a cellphone that you wear inside your helmet. Track the owners of the devices through a mail-in rebate program and buy up their used bikes really cheap after they are killed or maimed on the roads. You could have a bigger inventory than GVH in no time.
I see this more and more...MXL02
Sep 24, 2002 7:44 AM
Trek is being very aggressive in their marketing, pretty much shutting out the small LBS. They are being sold by the cycling version of hypermarkets...a place where a new middle aged, well heeled rider might go to get his/her first ride...and since they have the cash, the shop will steer them towards "the same bike Lance Armstrong rides." (except of course that Lance doesn't ride on platform pedals with basketball shoes, and he's pretty good about removing the spoke reflectors) It is kind of a shame that these people get taken so badly, but I guess if they are dumb enough to buy it, wtf. Look at it this way- when they get tired/bored with the bike by next month, you can buy it from them for a song.
Hmmm...laffeaux
Sep 24, 2002 10:11 AM
I work at an LBS that sells Treks. I'm not sure how they are "shutting out the small LBS," but I'll agree they are well marketed. Also Lance rides a 5900, not a 5500. I steer people with money to the 5200, as its's all the bike you'll ever need.
I ~thought~Steve_0
Sep 24, 2002 10:36 AM
he only used the 5900 in the mtn stages.
Ride for the Roses, 2001Leroy
Sep 24, 2002 7:56 AM
We watched as LA, and entourage pedalled past us at the start of last years RFR in Austin, and I swear Lance was either talking on a cell phone or messing with some other kind of electronics as he was riding. We joked at the time he was probably on the phone to his broker. He DID have a helmet on, however.

My take is to just wave to the guy on the trek 5500. You always see those people again.

Dave Loving
He was on his cellphone. He was getting...Dave Hickey
Sep 24, 2002 8:12 AM
the results of Paris-Roubaix.
What size was the 5500? n/mfracisco
Sep 24, 2002 8:41 AM
Here is a better one.Mudman
Sep 24, 2002 9:19 AM
MTBing while high on dope????????

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.ef6f7d4
Some of the MTBers need it...biknben
Sep 24, 2002 10:55 AM
...otherwise they'd never ride some of the stuff they do.

I know...when I look over the ledge I'm about to fly off of I wish I had some.
stop worrying about what other people do and ride....Raf1
Sep 24, 2002 9:01 PM
and at 40 he's no yuppy no more. If he gets killed by a car or a heart attack that's his problem too.
re: Oh, the horror, the horror...aliensporebomb
Sep 25, 2002 4:14 AM
At least he's on a bike. Most guys that age aren't going to
get on a bike much less exercise.

That being said, I can overlook loud team kits since it's
the only way a driver might see you ("Look honey, that guy
is having a fashion emergency!").

But the riding the wrong way, no helmet with a phone call?
Pull over and get a helmet buddy and learn how to ride on
the streets.