RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I got neutered, oops, I mean FIXED(16 posts)

I got neutered, oops, I mean FIXEDbigrider
Sep 24, 2002 5:00 AM
This is a project in process. I converted the 70s Picchio frame to a fixed gear but used an unconventional rear wheel setup. I took an old freehub (8/9 speed) and welded it so it couldn't ratchet. I used spacers and one cog and right now have a 48/21 combo but can switch to a 20, 19 or 18, by lossening the lockring, taking off the spacers and putting on a different cog. I will let you know if this setup stands the test of weight and time.

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/bike3(12).jpg
show us a close up of the gear set up(nm)pukka
Sep 24, 2002 5:27 AM
how do I put a picture directly on the post?bigrider
Sep 24, 2002 6:04 AM
Here is a pic of the rear wheelbigrider
Sep 24, 2002 6:17 AM
I took apart some old 8 and 9 speed cogsets and used the spacers to fill up the hub and then used the standard lockring. Sure did make lining up that chain a lot easier. If the quick release doesn't hold the wheel tight enough I will just get a longer axle and use track nuts. The cost of conversion was, get this FREE!! I used all old parts, and got a freehub from a trashed MTB wheel. Spacers from worn out cogsets. Already had the cxp21 ultegra wheel.
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/rearwheel1.jpg
Nice...I'm working on one for myself...biknben
Sep 24, 2002 5:57 AM
I recently decided to scratch and itch for a fixed bike. I need a recovery ride/commuter. I got a late '80s Fuji frame from a friend hat is in great shape. The flip-flop wheel is being built now.

Unfortunately, I'll have it built just as it is getting too cold to commute.
bite your tongue!Steve_0
Sep 24, 2002 6:14 AM
www.enteract.com/~icebike/
Don't you worry...biknben
Sep 24, 2002 6:54 AM
I ride throughout the year. I actually have two pairs of studded snow tires for the MTB.

I was just a little grumpy after riding in to work this morning. It was cold and dark and I know it's not going to get any better.
What crankset is that? Very cool looking.. nmDave Hickey
Sep 24, 2002 6:09 AM
Coda, here is a pic of freewheelbigrider
Sep 24, 2002 6:12 AM
I have a coda splined 48tooth. Attached is the picture of how I welded the freewheel. The beauty of this is it holds up is I can re-convert the wheel to a standard wheel at any time by taking out the axle, taking off the welded freehub and installing the regular freehub.

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/weldedhub1
gotta ask...Steve_0
Sep 24, 2002 6:16 AM
why didnt you just thread the cog directly onto the hub?
gotta ask...bigrider
Sep 24, 2002 6:23 AM
On an 8/9 speed hub there is no place to thread the cog on the hub. The freewheel assembly comes off after you take out the axle with a 10mm allen. The side of the freewheel that is flush with the hub is the female part of a splined assembly with the male spline part of the hub. There are no threads to use like on the older wheels. A lot of people use the older wheels but keeping the cog on tight and chain alignment are an issue.
ah..Steve_0
Sep 24, 2002 6:30 AM
missed the 8/9 hub part. thanks.

BTW - been riding freewheel conversions for over 10 years; keeping cog tight is never a problem (have heard of people spinning them off, but never experienced it and I cant imagine it happenning if you use brakes). So dont fear it if you have an 'ol threadon hub laying around.

alignment (if an issue) is easily remidied with a re-dish.

Certainly a cheap solution though. I like that.
bad link HERE is PIC of Freewheelbigrider
Sep 24, 2002 6:25 AM
http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/weldedhub1(1).jpg
Very cool!look271
Sep 24, 2002 9:27 AM
I'm using an early 80's Bianchi for a fixed. It works quite nicely. Where'd you get the cow-horn bars?
Very cool!bigrider
Sep 24, 2002 9:37 AM
Out of my friend's old bar stash. Profile bars are fairly cheap at performance and a few other mail order places.
Thanks (nm)look271
Sep 24, 2002 3:31 PM