RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Help me accesorize my new Look 381i!!!(22 posts)

Help me accesorize my new Look 381i!!!Cheezhead
Sep 21, 2002 4:04 PM
Hey all! I just purchased a 2003 Look KG381i (it's the black one with black decals... SO stealth!). It's on backorder, but I'm starting to make my list of what I'm going to build it up with, and I was wondering what your opinions would be?

I'm building up with Dura-Ace, Deda Newton bar/stem, USE alien seatpost, and Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL wheels. Here are the two biggest decisions I'm facing:

1) Dura-Ace cranks, or FSA Team Issue cranks? The FSA's are lighter, which is a big concern to me being that the frame isn't the lightest. But do you think it's just TOO MUCH carbon?? (Is there even such a thing?) Do you think the FSA will look good?

2) This one is rather menial, but here goes: Tacx Tao bottle cages(black, of course) or Zipp Woodman bottle cages? I'm just not sure how the Zipp's will look. What do you guys think??

While I'm at it, any of you have any other recommendations on saving some weight?? Thoughts are appreciated!!

Say Cheez
First of all, I hate you.look271
Sep 21, 2002 4:10 PM
=) I'd skip the Toa bottles, although I'm not sure what the zipps look like. Good choice of wheels, btw. The FSA's would add a nice touch, I think.
First of all, I hate you.Cheezhead
Sep 21, 2002 4:16 PM
Well, I would hate me too, except that the only reason I'm getting a new bike is because I got hit by a car which shattered my OCLV. I was very happy with my Trek... until I test rode the Look! :)

Say Cheez
Too bad.look271
Sep 22, 2002 8:43 AM
Didn't know about the accident. Glad you're obviously OK. A new Look is probably a year away or so for me. I won't buy anything else. However, Excel has a KX on closeout for less than $1500, F/F (my size too!). Tempting......If I could only sneak it by my wife......) :-0
Will this be an unrelenting black . . .Look381i
Sep 21, 2002 4:15 PM
or will you add some color -- tires? saddle? bar tape?

If color, I recommend a yellow SLR saddle, yellow Pro Races and yellow bar tape.

Red all around would be a second choice. Color SLRs are available from Excel.

Are you going with the black JaJa 396 Look pedals?
Will this be an unrelenting black . . .Cheezhead
Sep 21, 2002 4:18 PM
Hmmm... well, i WAS going to go with the all black stealthy look, but now you got me thinking about yellow! I think that would look pretty crazy too! I am going with an SLR saddle and the pedals are going to be Speedplay X1's (I'm only 155 lbs.)
Blackfiltersweep
Sep 21, 2002 9:08 PM
The silver decals look super sharp on my bike... and go well with the outlandish decals on the SLs- I went with a black SLR, nude carbon Look ergopost and Look stem (why not...) which led me to get the Easton EC90s for carbon overkill- I just need a carbon crank... yellow seats discolor very easily- at least my old Flite did- and yellow bar tape? The ride is so nice that I don't even care about weight...
No doubt: FSA.kapalua
Sep 21, 2002 5:16 PM
I just put together my dream bike late this summer: Colnago C40 with Record 10-speed. Instead of the Record crank, I spec'd the FSA Team Issue Carbon Pro crank. It is AWESOME! The crank is super smooth (together with FSA Ti BB), stiff, light, and a thing of beauty. I have been very impressed with its build quality and aethestics on the bike. In the sun light, you can see the gleaming CF pattern on both the bike and the crank...it rocks!

BTW, there's no such thing as too much CF :)

Congrats!!!
Lenn
No doubt: FSA. -- absolutely!Raf1
Sep 21, 2002 8:58 PM
I totally agree, FSA cranks and BB are a great combo. Speedplay X1 is also an excellent choice. I DO NOT like the look of USE Alien post, but if you're set on it, fine. I think campy post looks much better. I bought USE Alien and returned it.
re: Help me accesorize my new Look 381i!!!WrigleyRoadie
Sep 21, 2002 5:32 PM
I say stay stealth! Look (or someone acting on their behalf) makes carbon-fiber replica bar tape - you can get it from World Cycling Productions. The Ksyriums are pretty loud on their own- I think color on the tires would be too noisy - go with the black and grey striped Michelin Pro Race. For a small touch of color, get the Aspide saddle with the rid piping, and then use a little red tape (a la Lance) to finish of your bar tape on the tops. The JaJa pedals would be a sweet tribute, since you're buying HIS bike in the year that he's retiring. They have a touch of red in them too.

Oh - and I got two black tayo cages. I'm torn on the looks, but I love how light they are.

Just my 2cents.. you're gonna have a blast!
If weight is an issue . . .jefajones
Sep 21, 2002 5:59 PM
you can make a nice saving on wheels . . . the SL's really not that light (actual weight), but we all know they make up the difference in durability. actually, some of the guys on rbt claim they only come in about 70 grams lighter for the wheelset than the elites (again, in actual weight).

enjoy your new ride . . . what ever you decide
If weight is an issue . . .Cheezhead
Sep 21, 2002 6:05 PM
Well, I want to go with a lightweight clincher, and this is the lightest I've been able to find, and they are durable as well. What other options are out there??
If weight is an issue . . .jefajones
Sep 21, 2002 6:27 PM
If you do some searching on rbt for example, you will see that their claimed weight in not real accurate. I think Mavic claims they weigh a little over 1500g, whereas colorado cyclist lists them at 1700+grams (CC actually weighs them from what I understand). The 1700g is about what most people claim the SL's actually weight. So, you have a wheel not real aero or light, but durable - which is enough itself to offset the other two factors in my opinion.

If you want light clinchers - you cannot beat zipp 303 or tne new AC 420 series. The zipps actually do come in under 1500g and the AC are really close to that. Now you have two out of the three criteria - aero, light, (clincher in our case), but probably (I'm just guessing here) not as durable at the SL's. Then again, you could go with Hugi/ or AC hubs, revolution spokes, and open pro/or velocity aerohead rims in a handbuilt wheel and probably come in around 1400-1450grams also, or go with the AC 350 rims and bring the wheelset home at ~1350 grams.

Obviously I'm rambling and going through the same issue myself, perhaps looking for self validation, but just throwing ideas out.
You sure?filtersweep
Sep 22, 2002 8:02 AM
Which YEAR SLs are you talking about?... the 1700 sounds more like last year's weight, and CC was still selling them this year.
SpeedDream wheelsirregardless
Sep 21, 2002 7:08 PM
Dave Thomas makes a great lightweight clincher. Mine are about 1430 grams for the set. He'll tailor the build to your weight and riding style. All black for $550. No comparison to my Ksyriums - smoother and more comfortable but just as stiff.

I'd prefer the stealth understated look. I save the color combos for my mountain bike.
SpeedDream wheelsCheezhead
Sep 21, 2002 7:37 PM
I'm actually very intrested in the Speeddream Aerolights now, and I've been researching on the web... these just might be the way to go! Only thing is, I can't find a picture of these anywhere!! Anyone have a pic of their Aerolights??
better yet, my AC CR 350 clinchers are 1323g for $384...IAmtnbikr
Sep 22, 2002 4:43 AM
got them from Mike Garcia at http://www.oddsandendos.com. The $384 included the AC QR's, three extra spokes/nipples (front, rear non-drive and drive side), and shipping. Kinda whups up on Dave's pricing. Mine are the 350 rims with the Micro 68 and HH 220 hubs, front laced with Wheelsmith XL radially, the rear with XL laced 2x on the non-drive, and DB laced 3x drive. Front weight is 569g, rear is 754g.
Campy Eurus . . .Look381i
Sep 22, 2002 3:29 AM
Campy weighs its wheels w/skewers, so the advertised weight of 1560 g. ("fast and feather light clincher model that weighs just 1,560 grams per pair with skewers")
overstates it in comparison with most other wheelsets. Branford and others claim a skewerless weight of 1460 ("A Campagnolo Eurus wheelset with out skewers tips the scales at 1460 grams). They meet your "all black" criterion, except for the label and the milled braking surface. I am about to order a pair.

Check here for Eurus and Eurus/Neutron comparison, with good pix:
http://www.branfordbike.com/wheels/wheel14.html

Check here for Eurus/Zipp 303 skewerless weight comparison:
http://www.branfordbike.com/wheels/wheel22.html

Eurus are available for under $500 from both Total Cycling and Parker International.

For a little more money, the Speed Dreams get a lot of good press on the bulletin boards, also.
another nice cage choice... ;o)IAmtnbikr
Sep 22, 2002 5:04 AM
Try a web search for their site, $40 was the cost. Plus, I have the Team Issue cranks & USE Alien post, and love 'em! See my post regarding wheels. If you want I can get a photo of the wheels and post it.
Yeah, post a pic of the wheels! -nmcydswipe
Sep 22, 2002 5:40 AM
rearIAmtnbikr
Sep 22, 2002 7:18 AM
nm
frontIAmtnbikr
Sep 22, 2002 7:22 AM
nm