RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


hot deals???(9 posts)

hot deals???raptorUW
Sep 17, 2002 5:46 PM
Check out the "hot deals" posted on the left of the forum messages. i found the performance ones (shimano front wheel and d/a crankset)to be especially interesting, as they link you to pages listing products significantly more expensive than advertised.

aside from the lack of moral integrity; would any law-types care to chime in regarding the legalities of such practices?...iirc, there are laws pertaining to advertising, bait & switch, etc...

scott
re: hot deals???Kunfoochi
Sep 17, 2002 6:02 PM
Well, does Performance put what they think are hot deals, or are those reported by users? If it is them, I don't think that is really a bait and switch, more likely an accident or just immorality.
re: hot deals???tao
Sep 17, 2002 6:37 PM
Ouch, you're right now! But this morning I used the link to buy the Dura-Ace cranks at $150, now they're back to $210. So when they purchased the ad space the prices were correct, but it looks like the ads are running longer than the sale (or maybe just limited quantity like the sale price seats on airlines). Try contacting Performance and let them know, who knows, maybe they'll still give you the deal.
tao is correct...price changes, but not updated on our site.gregg
Sep 18, 2002 8:00 AM
Unfortunately, there is not mechanism in place for Performance to alert RoadbikeREVIEW of when their sale items change price. This sometimes results in the aforementioned discrepancy.

I will notify the correct people on our side to change the prices, or switch out the Hot Deals with current offers.

I personally selected those two items (Dura-ace crankset and Shimano wheel) because they were such a good bargain on very popular items.

Check with Performance and ask if they will still honor those prices. One thing to note, they aren't "required" to honor those prices, but I personally feel that they should.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

-gregg
gkato@roadbikereview.com
PersonallyMel Erickson
Sep 17, 2002 7:19 PM
I want that Litespeed Arenburg w/Ultegra. Originally $2,000, now on sale for $2,300 at BikeSmart! Now that's a deal.
PersonallyGMS
Sep 18, 2002 4:31 AM
Sometimes the cross-out line goes through an '8' and it looks like it was a '0' to begin with, even though it really wasn't. For example, it looks like the Black Look PP396 pedals were 100 dollars to begin with and now are 119, but they were really 180 to begin with.
Yeah, I knowMel Erickson
Sep 18, 2002 5:25 AM
just thought it was kinda ironic and fit with the topic.
I used to be a Team Performance Member...biknben
Sep 18, 2002 5:31 AM
5 years ago or so I paid the $20 bucks to become a Team member. At around that time they had a habit of putting all these cutting edge products on the first few pages of their catalog. I called to order a couple items from this section and they were all "out of stock". It was just stuff they were hoping to get soon. WTF, If you're gonna publish it with prices then shouldn't you be prepared to sell it. How about "coming soon".

Performance used to be the only catalog company. I remember brousing their catalogs as a teen like it was Penthouse. Now I consider them a joke and their catalog goes straight to the trash.

BTW: I followed the link to the crank. There was another hot deal there for can of Cytomax. Picture showed the 4 lb can while the sale was for the 1.5 lb can. I bet they will fool a few people with that one.
I am a Memberbigrider
Sep 18, 2002 7:18 AM
I got ready to spend over 200 bucks on parts and joined. That is the break even point. For some reason, they sent me a 20% of coupon the other day and I ordered a bunch of stuff I needed. If you order off the internet you know if the item is in stock or not. I only join the years I KNOW I will order over 200 dollars of stuff from performance.

They certainly aren't perfect with their shameless advertising with slashed prices on an item and you get 3%off. But I find their clothing inexpensive and quite effective (pro elite bibs, regular performance jerseys)