RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Tool kit to take with you(20 posts)

Tool kit to take with youmagnus74
Sep 17, 2002 6:41 AM
I hope that I can get some help from the members of this forum. I am designing a tool kit (as part of my university degree)for taking with you on a ride (not a race) and was looking for some opinions on what are the absolutely essential tools that people think are required. What are the opinions on multitools vs. a collection of individual tools.

Thanks in advance.
You most assuredly need a bottle opener on it-essential. (nm)onespeed
Sep 17, 2002 6:43 AM
essentialsDougSloan
Sep 17, 2002 6:53 AM
I would need at least one tire lever (for clinchers), a hex tool for every size on my bike, flat blade and phillips head screw drivers, basic chain tool, spoke wrench; that would take care of 95% of problems that arise.

For longer outings, I'd add a knife, adjustable wrench (like a Crescent), and maybe a cable cutter.

Most new bikes have no nuts requiring open end wrenches at all. I can't think of any on my newer bikes, except the track bike, of course; everything is phillips or hex.

Make sure the tools really work, are long enough to have some leverage (might combine two segments to acheive this), but are light and compact. I would be nice if you could add or remove the ones you need, so you are not packing along tools that are useless to you. There are some good ones around already, so it should not be too hard to analyze them and come up with something.

Doug
What's the flat blade screwdriver for?Alex-in-Evanston
Sep 17, 2002 7:02 AM
I can't think of a flat head screw on my road bike.

Just curious,

Alex
Shimano derailleursDougSloan
Sep 17, 2002 7:13 AM
Shimano derailleur limit screws seem to work much better with slotted rather than phillips. Phillips will work, just not as well. Also, occasionally you have accessories that have slotted screws.

BTW, I have forgotten tire levers and used the handle of a skewer in a pinch. Actually works pretty well.

Doug
the screws on my cleats NmSpirito
Sep 17, 2002 7:47 AM
good pointDougSloan
Sep 17, 2002 8:19 AM
Yes, Look cleat screws certainly need a flat blade screwdrive, and a hefty one at that.

BTW, anyone heard of a source for titanium replacements for these screws and washers? That's some big, fat pig-iron.

Doug
im a poor mo-fo ---- no Ti cleat screws for meSpirito
Sep 17, 2002 8:40 AM
so i just clip my toenails regularly and walk barfeoot so that any dead skin on my feet is long gone. even though i shave my legs i draw the line at shaving the little hairs on my big toe (it gives me some darwinian oddity to wonder at during ad breaks whilst watching the Vuelta).

perhaps a little more info than any of us want to hear on this but ........

ciao
Titanium cleat screws.dzrider
Sep 17, 2002 11:24 AM
Great idea. In a pinch I've used smaller washers with no problem. How would the titanium hold up to the big screwdriver?
Good list.dzrider
Sep 17, 2002 7:15 AM
I carry a compass for exploring and like to have a pliers. I don't get lost easily, but have been shocked to find myself headed south when I was sure I was headed north. It's unsettling to see the sun rise in the west on an early morning ride.

I don't carry spare cable so I wouldn't find a cable cutter useful, but pliers are nice to have if you need to tighten a cable. I like as much as possible on one tool, but the hex wrenches need to be long enough to reach into tight spaces without trying to get the whole tool into a tight space. This is a problem with some of the tools that stick hex keys on the end of chain tools. I'd keep the chain tool pretty and make the other stuff work kind of like a leatherman.
Long enough tools -- leveragems
Sep 17, 2002 10:55 AM
My biggest complaint about my Topeak Alien is that is it unwieldy to use. I definitely would second Doug's suggestion that you make sure that the tools work and have leverage -- an ergomonically designed toolpack would be a real winner.

BTW: For the Euro version, a corkscrew would be essential (just kidding).
Minimalist approachKerry
Sep 17, 2002 4:42 PM
I carry one tube, Park glueless, some Tyvek for a tire boot, a 5 mm allen, two tire levers, my house key notched for a spoke wrench (works fine), a short length of duct tape, all wrapped in a bandana to use as a grease rag. I use the Park patches for that very rare occasion when somebody I'm riding with gets two flats - I don't know that I've ever had two flats in one ride myself. I can count on one hand the number of breakdowns I've had in the past 35 years that made me turn around. I crossed the country with only a couple more tools than Doug recommends for day rides, and overhauled the bike twice (brought cone wrenches).
Crank BrothersSintesi
Sep 17, 2002 7:03 AM
Get their Multi-Tool and Speed lever for tire removal(Great product!). You're all set for <$30.
Which Crank Brothers tool - the 5 or the 17? n/mfracisco
Sep 17, 2002 12:27 PM
17 definitely. You know Topeak makes a good one as well.Sintesi
Sep 18, 2002 6:32 AM
Here's what i carry. The afore mentioned Crank Bros. multi-tool, the speed lever, spare tube, patch kit, Blackburn mini pump, house key, ID, 5-10 bucks, and a subway pass. I tuck all this in the back of my jersey. Longer rides I got some food with me.

works for me.
Multi-tools v. Collection Of ToolsGregory Taylor
Sep 17, 2002 7:54 AM
I've done both, and have now settled on using multi-tools. With a collection of tools, you can customize your kit to fit your bike, and exclude stuff that you don't really need. If your bike doesn't have hex nuts, for example, you don't need all of those hex wrenches that show up on Topeak's "Alien" tool. (Great multi-tool, by the way, but heavy). For my Cannondale, I put together the following kit:

Spare tube
Park glueless patches
4,5,6,8 mm allen wrenches (the 5mm has a phillips screwdriver on one end, the 8mm was probably overkill -- it fits the crank bolts)
Park mini chain tool
tire levers
mini-pump
$$$$

I used to roll my tool collection into a sock to keep it all together, and then put that roll into a plastic zip-lock bag. It all fit in a jersey pocket with the mini-pump.

I now use the Crank Brothers multi-tool in place of the allen wrenches and chain tool. It winds up being lighter and more compact than the collection of stuff that I put together myself.
"Uncommon" spares.Spoke Wrench
Sep 17, 2002 7:56 AM
My wife and I like to take week long tours on our tandem. I pack along spare tandem shift and brake cables because I know I won't be able to get replacements in most bike shops.

That's also a good reason for tandem wheelsets with matching rims front and rear. If you happen to trash a rear wheel, you can unlace the front wheel and use that rim to rebuild the rear. Since front wheels are 100mm over locknut dimension, just like everything else, you can usually buy an adequate front wheel and be on your way. I have a friend who had to do that just this past August.

Seat binder bolts are another good spare to carry with you. I have had two occasions when I broke a seat bikder bolt. Neither time was I able to find a bolt that fit anywhere else on my bike.

Money is the universal tool/spare. You can buy tools or spares that you need and don't have. You can call home. You can hire a local with a pick up to take you someplace. Sometimes, especially in rural areas, they won't take any money, but I think that it's good form to offer.
Little thingsMudman
Sep 17, 2002 8:21 AM
As mentioned cash......I pack 4 quarters and then some bills. The green stuff is uesless if you need change.

Whistle; Identification; and one of those little red blinking lights. Dusk seems to sneak up on me every now and then.
Little thingsMudman
Sep 17, 2002 8:23 AM
As mentioned cash......I pack 4 quarters and then some bills. The green stuff is uesless if you need change.

Whistle; Identification; and one of those little red blinking lights. Dusk seems to sneak up on me every now and then.

Almost forgot.....a small section of chain, just a couple extra links.
I have a copy of my Health Insurance CardMaartin
Sep 17, 2002 8:33 AM
Identification and cash, quarters should also be part of your kit.