RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cannondale - Rusting Components(14 posts)

Cannondale - Rusting ComponentsRyan Oliver
Sep 16, 2002 4:51 PM
I bought a Cannondale R2000 with full Ultegra parts in the winter. It only has a few thousand km on it and some parts are completely rusted out! (ie nuts holding the brake calipers on, fine tune adjusters for the gearing cables) Is this normal for a $2,500 (cdn) road bike? I've never had this problem with mtn bike components.
re: Cannondale - Rusting ComponentsPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Sep 16, 2002 4:55 PM
I have an R2000 and have no such problems. Although admittedly I rarely ride my bike in the rain. Do you make sure to thoroughly dry it off after riding in the rain/washing it? To get the rust off take a stiff bristle brush and some degreaser dip the brush in the degreaser and just scrub the rust off... then lightly coat the parts that rusted with a little bit of oil to seal them.

Cheers,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
defectiveishmael
Sep 16, 2002 11:26 PM
that shouldnt happend. Take it back where you got and tell them you arent satisfied. If that doesnt work tell them you are connected to the internet and will besmurch their name all over the world wide web. Let them know you are connected to millions world wide and all these possilbe buyers can see your comments in the roadbikereview.com review section. If they tell you to get lost you still have recourse, ride up the street from the store and then ride real fast right back towards it. Try to graze some kind of road hazard right infront of the store so that you end up crashing right in front of the bike store. If youre good at crashing you might want to go through the window, but I'm no pro and would rather stick to concrete. Then threaten to sue ofcourse! Faulty equipment should get you anywhere from a 50 dollar settlement to 50,000. Dont let big companies and money hungry store owners take advantage of you.
something to rememberishmael
Sep 16, 2002 11:34 PM
My lawyer freind told me its best to threaten to sue if you ever have the slightest annoyance from any one. It always makes them nervous and apt to have an out of court settlement. But, he says, sometimes they dont believe you and think youre just some punk causeing trouble. Flash a lot of money and then they'll know who they're dealing with. If they still contine to call you names let them believe you have mob connections and could have theyre legs broken just like that. My friend said this last tactic can be dangerous though and you have to be more selective in using it.
Classic..NMtronracer
Sep 17, 2002 4:46 AM
Ditto....Should've posted the other way around, but say la V..NMtronracer
Sep 17, 2002 4:47 AM
It is not normalbigrider
Sep 17, 2002 3:39 AM
Where did you store this bike when you weren't riding? Did you get the bike soaked and it didn't dry out?

Before you consider lawsuits or placing the blame on the manufacturer find out if others are having the same problem or if you have a special case. If they are using the same bolts and brake adjusters on every bike they sell and you are the only one having a problem then you need to identify why?

BTW, I had a year old Bianchi that started rusting around the lugs and found out that the paint jobs and prep from the factory was causing this on a lot of bikes that year.
re: Cannondale - Rusting ComponentsPygme
Sep 17, 2002 4:43 AM
First things first, skip the advice from ishmael.

Some parts (nuts,bolts) on your bike are made of steel and are going to rust. This rusting is due more to salt from sweat than from riding in the rain. The solution: after every ride, wipe your bike down.
Pardon me for being skeptical, butMel Erickson
Sep 17, 2002 5:27 AM
rusting out? What do you mean exactly? Have they actually rusted through or do the bolts have rust in the allen wrench depressions? It's not uncommon for bolts and other steel bits on a bike to develop some rust but it's easily dealt with. If they are or have truly rusted through then by all means take it back to where you bought it and ask them to fix the problem. If it's simply surface rust you can remove it with many products (WD40 comes to mind) and then make sure to wax (Pledge works fine for me). This helps keep the rust nasties at bay. Good luck and I really hope it's not significant.
Unusual ..... Cannondale is first classMaartin
Sep 17, 2002 6:25 AM
One of the best companies in the business and American too. Most riders swear by their products. Never heard of rust being a problem.
So where and how do you store your bike?Spoke Wrench
Sep 17, 2002 7:18 AM
A bicycle is a product designed for outdoor use and will usually handle a fairly significant amount of neglect without attracting rust. Some things, however, are worse than riding in the rain. Certainly bikes which live their whole lives in the open suffer the consequences.

One of the worst things you can do to your bike is to store it under a plastic cover. Moisture from the atmosphere condenses under the plastic cover and keeps the bike in a high humidity environment.

I once had a customer who stored a new bike in the basement of a newly constructed house. The concrete in the basement hadn't fully cured yet and the highly humid environment caused all of the steel parts to rust badly.
re: Cannondale - Rusting ComponentsRyan Oliver
Sep 17, 2002 8:44 AM
The bike is stored in your average basement. I'll admit that I ride it in the rain and don't dry it off all the time after a ride. But in comparison to the way that I treat my Mtn bikes, it's babied. My Mtn bikes have been to hell and back with out any signs of rust. This is a significant amount of rust, not just a tad on the inside of the hex nut. I bought the bike second hand through the Buy & Sell, but will discuss with my local dealer.

Interesting idea about the salts from sweating. The only locations with rust are all wear the sweat would fall. I wouldn't have thought of this.

Thanks for the help riders!
Do you suppose?Spoke Wrench
Sep 17, 2002 8:56 AM
that the previous owner may have used it for an indoor trainer bike? I know that I've sure made a mess of steel headset parts doing that.
Do you suppose?Ryan Oliver
Sep 17, 2002 10:22 AM
The bike was in phenomenal shape when I got it. She had only ridden it a couple of time. No wear on the drive train. The tires were mint.