RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone have real world colnago CT1 weights?(10 posts)

Anyone have real world colnago CT1 weights?slomo
Sep 16, 2002 1:36 PM
pls post size and weight.

is the star carbon fork worth it or is some thing like, say, the alpha Q sub 3 fork just as good or better? seems to me the colnago forks, esp. the star fork, are waaaaaay overpriced.
3 3/16 lbsfcebedo
Sep 16, 2002 2:14 PM
On my digital fish scale 3.19 lbs for a 53 cm CT1.

I just started riding it and the sprinting is and climbing seems as good as the hype. The icing on the cake is the descending. It is rock solid and confidence inspiring on cornering and pedaling downhill.

francis

ps. shimano rules...don't ask.
nice ride...C-40
Sep 17, 2002 3:52 AM
Looks like you bought the proper size, unlike many who post pictures on this site.

Looks nearly identical to my Rabobank C-40, except I went for Campy Record with Ksyriums. You know it's really the best.
re: Anyone have real world colnago CT1 weights?JohnG
Sep 16, 2002 5:46 PM
I ordered my BSTAY CT1 with the Flash fork and am quite happy with both. IMHO, the "added" safety and stability of the steel steerer are worth the extra couple of ounces over the Star fork. I had a Star fork on my MXL and thought the bike was way too harsh for my 150# weight. I've read other comments to that effect also.

I didn't weigh my frame before I built the bike but the total is just a bit over 17# with mostly Record components and high end goodies. I've raced the bike and don't feel like the extra 1 - 1.5#'s is that critical for most race applications. That being said I am building a sub 16# race toy for those mega hilly race days.

The CT1 frame absolutely rocks in terms of overall comfort and stiffness. Probably the best handling bike I've ever been on also.

Oh, if you're real lucky you'll get the JA comments re cheap rusty Colnago (Russian) Ti. These comments pop up sooner or later if you ask about CT1's. Enjoy

JohnG
Now that you mention it, Russian ti is inferiorLazywriter
Sep 16, 2002 7:11 PM
but that doesn't mean the bike rides poorly. That was always my contention and still is. It is an objective fact tht the Russian ti has a lot of imperfections and Colnago tries to cover it with fancy paint.
I know tha bike rides really well, but what is up with Colnago's pitiful warranty? I mean c'mon. I know it sounds like I am knocking your bike, just pointing out some facts. But all that matters is the ride quality and the CT1 is a nice riding frame despite its shortcomings.
I knew there was something wrong...fcebedo
Sep 16, 2002 8:55 PM
It was too good to be true. The ride almost seemed perfect but deep down there was something bothering me about the this frame.

You nailed it on the head lazy... there was some communist crap in this frame. That's probably why they don't even warranty it.

Time for ebay!!

fc
Oh, I get itLazywriter
Sep 17, 2002 4:30 AM
Sarcasm. You are just so witty. Regardless, the ti used in that bike is inferior to any American titanium and it is not even 6/4 technically by American standards. Do your research on this and you may learn something.
Oh, I get itCT1 Guy
Sep 17, 2002 10:17 AM
My CT1 has a clear coat finish and stands up in comparison to any of the 'made in US' frames and their premium prices.
The money doesn't go on the frame, it's for the useless warranty (try reading the small print) and the extensive marketing they deploy to try and make you justify the extra $$. If you've never ridden one - you're opinion doesn't matter. Virtually everyone who owns one has the same opinion - most probably the best handling frame out there period.
LOL, I wasnt knocking the bike as a complete item, justLazywriter
Sep 17, 2002 2:09 PM
the titanium they use. Don't Fu(king tell me that any Russian ti tube is as nice as an American drawn tube. You are simply delusional and you know it. Their techniques aren't up to our standards, period.
LMAO
My Russian Ti has an inferiority complex.djg
Sep 18, 2002 8:36 AM
I sort of like that. A bike with a chip on its shoulders tries that much harder. I think that explains the excellent handling. I've found that if I just keep it away from the Vodka and the Grappa it corners like it's on rails.