RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


In the Washington Post sports section this a.m., there were(18 posts)

In the Washington Post sports section this a.m., there werebill
Sep 16, 2002 11:25 AM
seven pages on football, college and pro, 5 or 6 on pro baseball, a page or two on golf, a paragraph on rowing, a paragraph on volley ball, a 1/2 page on boxing (one fight), and an entire page on high school sports. Not one word about cycling.
This is not a rant. It's a lament. That San Francisco race was pretty well promoted and very well raced (very exciting, lots to talk about in terms of tactics). It featured "America's Team" and cycling's one crossover star, racing in one of America's prettiest big cities. And not a friggin word.
I guess we're not mainstream, yet, children.
Ditto herePaulCL
Sep 16, 2002 11:32 AM
The Cincinnati Enquirer...garbage in print.

The sports section had numerous articles about how bad the Bengals were yesterday...??? Why?? They haven't broken a .400 winning percentage in 12 years!! Of course they're bad! Lots about the other NFL games, lots of baseball, and articles on the boxing match, on Anna Kornikova not winning, but not one word about SF.

Personally, I'm happy to be involved in a fringe sport. If I was a big football fan I would have to gain 40 pounds, develop a taste for cheap beer, and wear funny looking jersies....oops...I already do that. Cross out that last one...
I forgot about Kournikova. That was classic. She's a cutie,bill
Sep 16, 2002 11:41 AM
and, you know, I'm not on anybody's pro tour, so I can't begrudge her anything, but c'mon. She's never won anything (I guess she's shared some doubles titles, isn't that right?), and there was a half page on her not winning again in today's Post.
actually, 16 WTA titles,TJeanloz
Sep 16, 2002 11:45 AM
All in doubles. But I'd like to know how many other women have been on Tour as long as her without a win? Certainly there must be some other "pack fill".
I don't even think she looks good...fbg111
Sep 16, 2002 12:02 PM
No neck, and will probably get fat when she stops playing tennis. Not for me.
I ... I ... I ... just don't know what to say to that. If she'sbill
Sep 16, 2002 12:16 PM
not for you, does that mean that I can have her?
I'll fight you for her!PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Sep 16, 2002 12:38 PM
But I do have to admit she has her not as hot times... but meh I can live with that! Its Anna!

Cheers,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
lol, she's all yours. nmfbg111
Sep 16, 2002 1:11 PM
No way! She's all mine! nmNo_sprint
Sep 16, 2002 1:23 PM
You more of a Pete Sampras type?U
Sep 16, 2002 3:47 PM
nm
lol. no, but...fbg111
Sep 16, 2002 5:27 PM
Actually I think that there are plenty of women hotter than Anna in the world, but people only make a big deal out of her b/c the media does, and the media only does it to get ratings. She's the only semi-sexy pro female tennis player on the tour and is therefore good for ratings, even though her tennis isn't. There's no need to make an otherwise unheralded athlete an international sex symbol except as a shameless ploy for better ratings. It's so transparent and lame imo, but Anna eats it all up and goes right along with it. Line her up with any other of the hottest women you can think of and then tell me if you think she still deserves all of the attention she gets.
You think that's bad, try to find ANYTHING on cycling......bigdeal
Sep 16, 2002 12:19 PM
at Nike's site.
You'd think after paying LA so much they would...PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Sep 16, 2002 12:41 PM
After Nike spends millions on LA you'd think they'd use him on their website.

Hmmm...

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
A pittance compared to Tiger, et. al. (nm)TJeanloz
Sep 16, 2002 1:08 PM
Mainstream? Perhaps ...moneyman
Sep 16, 2002 2:24 PM
Attendance for major sporting events in San Francisco for Sunday, September 15, 2002

San Francisco Giants v. San Diego Padres - 41,116

Denver Broncos v. San Francisco 49ers - 67,685

San Francisco Grand Prix bicycle race - 500,000

I like those numbers.

$$
now that you mention it, PAID attendance for SFGP?bill
Sep 16, 2002 2:38 PM
$$0.00.
Maybe that tells the whole story. The Chivas effect -- if you aren't paying for it, how valuable can it be?
500,000, huh? makes the omission from the sports pages that much more mystifying.
it's all about moneyStarliner
Sep 16, 2002 2:52 PM
Dionne's purse for winning? $10,000.... and, ironically, a car. Shades of Dr. Evil. That's not a sum that will impress many newspaper editors.
Who says cycling isn't popular?js5280
Sep 16, 2002 5:32 PM
js5280 "How did the SF Grand Prix get so many people?" 9/16/02 6:20pm