RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


SpeedDreams or Ksyrium(9 posts)

SpeedDreams or Ksyriumdsweiss
Sep 14, 2002 4:34 PM
Does anybody know anything about the SpeedDream wheels (Aeros) made by Dave Thomas. Trying ro decide between the two sets. I weigh 150 lbs.
how about 1300 grams for $384 ? .....IAmtnbikr
Sep 15, 2002 5:36 AM
look at http://www.oddsandendos.com. I hope my set will arrive this week. I went with 28 spokes front and rear, and went with DB 14/15 drive side rear spokes, since I weigh 170. This ups the weight to 1330 for the pair. Find me a better deal on a wheelset that light! The feedback on Mike's wheel builds are all excellent, so I am eagerly awaiting the wheels.
how about 1300 grams for $384 ? .....dsweiss
Sep 15, 2002 5:46 AM
Which wheels in particular did you order? Also, where is the feedback located that you mention.
most feedback has been seen on the...IAmtnbikr
Sep 15, 2002 5:54 AM
MTBR and RBR forums on Mike's wheelbuilds. Never have I seen a bad post. The wheelset I got is the American Classic CR350 rims, Micro 68 and HH 220 hubs. The front is radially laced XL 14/17's, the rear is XL laced 2x on the non-drive with DB 14/15's laced 3x on the drive side. Should come out to 1330 grams. You might post on here to see feedback on his wheel builds. My guess is that it will be quite positive!
Does that include skewers?pmf1
Sep 16, 2002 4:45 AM
Some folks are tricky on this and don't include skewers as part of the hub weight. They're another 100 grams.

I have a set of Speeddream Aerolights. Total weight (with skewers) is 1445 grams. They're nice wheels.
don't think so, but my ti Specialized ones are 73g :o)IAmtnbikr
Sep 16, 2002 2:09 PM
NM
how about 1300 grams for $384 ? .....dsweiss
Sep 15, 2002 6:03 AM
Which wheels in particular did you order? Also, where is the feedback located that you mention.
I have Speeddream wheels...rtyszko
Sep 15, 2002 5:04 PM
I too weigh around 150 lbs and I've had a pair for 2 years. Read my post on the review forum about it. I'll be buying my next set from him too.

BT
I've had a set for two yearsPaulCL
Sep 16, 2002 5:27 AM
I weigh more than you...185lbs...so the wheels have to be strong.

No complaints. Great wheels. I wouldn't hesitate buying another set from Dave. His service is great. I had a rim eyelet start to crack, so I called Dave. He had me send in the wheel. He replaced the rim for free. Whoa. Paul