RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Should I be worried?(Ebay) - Update, Sorry a little long.(12 posts)

Should I be worried?(Ebay) - Update, Sorry a little long.elrey
Sep 13, 2002 7:22 AM
I posted this about 2 weeks ago:

I bought a 2001 Lemond Zurich. The auction closed on 8/11 and I paid by paypal on 8/13. On the morning of 8/19 the seller e-mailed me and told me he just got back from vacation and will send it by Tuesday 8/20. I am moving, and my last day at the address I gave him is 8/31. I e-mailed him on 8/25 to tell him this. I told him If he could not send it soon, let me know so I could give him an alternate address. I still haven't heard from him either way. I know that Ebay isn't most people top prority, but should I be pushing a little harder? Should I get Ebay involved? Any thoughts! Thanks!

Well, here is an update. I moved. He e-mailed me on 9/4 say he was out of town and then, he didn't want to send it until I was at my new address. He said he would send it on 9/5. I haden't heard from him since then. I wated until 9/11 to call him. I left a message asking for an update on my bike. I din't get a call yesterday(9/12). I called last night asking him to send it by today and give me a call or e-mail. It has been over a month. If I don't hear from him today, I think I am going to get Ebay involved. What do you think? Thanks
I think you got screwed.eschelon
Sep 13, 2002 7:27 AM
Contrary to popular belief, Paypal is a middleman who gets his cut...it is NOT an escrow service. 20/20 did an interview on online auction fraud and the president/founder of Paypal even said his service was not an escrow service...rather they were nothing more than payment facilitators. So if someone gets screwed in a transaction, most of the time, it's the usual speech of "we'll look into it" statement.
I think you got screwed.filtersweep
Sep 13, 2002 7:34 AM
Palpay has done their fair share of the screwing, as well... just do a search. I've never had a problem with them, but good luck getting a genuine response- or even finding a phone number, or having a human reply to an email.
Definitely get EBay involved.Quack
Sep 13, 2002 7:33 AM
I think auctions normally are wrapped up within 10 days barring some unforseen circumstances. Before you waste a lot of time on EBay, I would get a hold of PayPal and possibly your VISA card company to pull the funds.

The risk for loss as a buyer is always there, but thankfully most people have consciences. I have looked into EBay's protection policies and they are a bit of a joke. As a buyer, your recourse is limited. EBay cannot enforce the law, so you may end up attempting to get this individual into court to get your money back.

We'll just hope the bike goes out as planned and you receive it shortly.

Good luck!

Larry
I'd be worried but the strange thingColnagoFE
Sep 13, 2002 7:34 AM
is that the "seller" keeps emailing you. maybe he/she is just lazy and hasnt shipped yet. if they were trying to screw you they would just ignore your email.
Buyer securityStarliner
Sep 13, 2002 8:15 AM
Well, you've illustrated a problem I have with private party online purchasing, be it ebay or the classifieds here, which is sending payment without any guarantee of getting the goods. Unless someone can correct me, all Paypal does is take control of your money and process the payment for you - ensuring seller security but nothing guaranteed for the buyer. Sending money orders or cashiers checks is also a gamble for the buyer - if a crooked seller pockets the cash, you've got no leverage to work with to get your money back.

Payment by personal check is about the safest way for a buyer to protect themselves, because if the seller cashes it but does not ship the goods, you do have a small window to work with where you can halt payment on the check. If that doesn't work, then you will at least have some evidence to go on when the endorsed and cleared check comes back to you with your monthly banking statement.

With sellers who insist on paypal or money order, I now contact and ask them to accept a check instead, and offer my understanding and acceptance that the check will clear before the goods ship. This is the best way I can think of to provide a measure of security for both the buyer and seller.
For larger items,cdale02
Sep 13, 2002 9:16 AM
I get a phone number as well as the seller's address. This way you avoid the e-mail game, and if necessary you can make a personal visit.

I have a better feeling about your situation knowing you are still receiving e-mails.

Good Luck.
What is the seller's Ebay rating and feedback?fbg111
Sep 13, 2002 9:43 AM
Does this person have a lot of good feedback and high ratings? Or is it mixed and sketchy, or very little feedback of any sort? If the former then you're probably ok, as peeps like that don't change overnight from a reliable merchant to a thief. If the latter, you may have a problem.
Ebay auction page w/feedbackelrey
Sep 13, 2002 10:10 AM
The seller has had only 16 postings but they all are really positive. I don't understand it at all. Here's the auction page, if you're interested.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1848935881&rd=1
re: Should I be worried?(Ebay) - Update, Sorry a little long.flying
Sep 13, 2002 9:52 AM
I had a problem just once on ebay.
Similar to yours the items was delayed shipping.
I wrote Paypal & filed their dispute/investigate papers.
They immediately sent a note to the seller who quickly shipped & sent proof of FedEx.
Unlike yours though he had stopped emailing me so I was worried.
Try that paypal dispute. Even though they say it tales awhile they seem to get right on it.
Sorry to hear it went that way for you & hopefully it will get resolved.
re: Should I be worried?(Ebay) - Update, Sorry a little long.Offthefront
Sep 13, 2002 4:11 PM
I had the same problem on Ebay/Paypal...I filed a complaint and Paypal responed right away and the guy finally sent the goods ..I saw also where someone suggested on a large item like a bike ..you contact the LBS near the seller and get them to inspect and ship ...send 2 checks to them ..one for the seller and one for their trouble ...
re: Should I be worried?(Ebay) - Update, Sorry a little long.Lazz
Sep 14, 2002 12:05 PM
YES BE WORRIED> HE STALLING FOR TIME; HE IS PROBABALLY SCAMMING OTHERS AT THE SAME TIME AND THE LONGER EVERYONE HOLDS OUT AND HOPES THE DEEPER HE CAN RUN HIS SCAM AND CUT LOOSE. GET THE COPS INVOVLED= IT IS WIRE FRAUD- VERY SERIOUS CRIME. HELP STOP HIM. IF HE IS LEGIT YOU WILL GET YOUR MERCHANDISE; IF NOT HOPEFULLY YOU'LL GET YOUR MONEY BACK.
DON'T BE A FOOL. HE HAS YOUR MONEY, YOU HAVE NOTHING.IF IT WAS SENT, THEN WHERE IS IT? NO TRACKING CODE? DON'T BELIEVE IT. FRAUD! FRAUD! FRAUD!