RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Who else got burned by bikesdirect today?(15 posts)

Who else got burned by bikesdirect today?rrbfun
Sep 12, 2002 8:49 PM
Any body else as PO'd as I am about bikesdirect.com not shipping fuji teams until after christmas three days before they were to be shipped. I placed my order over five weeks ago. I Emailed and told them I want my money back. That Has to be illegal because they have been advertising this sale for a long time and now says fuji won't let them sell them for that price after all this time is BS. It is total false advertisting.
I was about to order oneconfig
Sep 12, 2002 9:48 PM
I was about to order one a few weeks ago but decided to go Italian. Now, I'm glad I didn't cause I would've been expecting it the mail real soon. Report it to the BBB (Better Business Bureau) for their area. Keep bugging them, they'll give you your money back. Good luck!
I was about to order oneredtwin
Sep 12, 2002 11:00 PM
I already ordered one a week ago. Guess I will be cancelling now. What was that saying "If it looks too good to true....".

What other options were you guys looking at?.
Threaten to put up a website telling this story -if I can find -Old_school_nik
Sep 13, 2002 4:50 AM
the link to the Chase bank complaint site somebody put up which got featured in an article in NY Times re: customer service disasters.

here it is DANGER some readers may find this offensive:

www.chasebanksucks.com

send them this link and tell them you will set up a similar site for their business if you don't get refund.

I know some may think this harsh - but a refund is not asking for too much!

-Nik
did he ever say they refused to give his $ back?ColnagoFE
Sep 13, 2002 5:58 AM
I thought all he said was he asked. Maybe he hasn't heard back yet. I think threatening them before they have a chance to act or respond is kinda bad manners.
re: Who else got burned by bikesdirect today?xxl
Sep 13, 2002 1:59 AM
Thanks for sharing the news; no one likes running into a crappy vendor. BTW, you might remind bikesdirect of the "thirty day rule" in direct marketing, i.e., if they can't ship within thirty days (and that's days, not business days only), they're required to tell you, and offer you the option of waiting, or getting your money back. Otherwise, you'd have to log a complaint with the FTC, who occasionally do look into those things. While you're at it, you could send e-mail complaints to the post office, and your state's attorney general's office.

Assuming you paid with a credit card, your best bet, financially speaking, is to contact the credit card company and inform them of the situation. They'll usually take your complaint over the phone, and give you a "temporary" credit while they investigate the merchant, etc. etc.; this is usually enough to get your cash back. Some of the stodgier credit card operators may ask for your story in writing, but most don't require that for disputes such as yours.
re: Who else got burned by bikesdirect today?moabbiker
Sep 13, 2002 3:16 AM
Unless of course, you put down your $100 post 60 days, in which case you have no absolute recourse over the situation, especially with crappy cards like Discover who have an anti-consumer hostile attitude. Amex may accomodate you though. Visa/mastercards depends highly upon the lending institution itself.

Don't bother with the FTC route, they don't give a damn. Best thing you can do is flame these conartists every chance you can online through forums/websites.
re: Who else got burned by bikesdirect today?jwarrenod
Sep 13, 2002 4:34 AM
I'd email them this thread too. Nothing like a little bad press directly to the consumer to put some pressure on them.

JW
Pressure to do what?Spoke Wrench
Sep 13, 2002 4:51 AM
They can't ship a bike that they don't have.
Pressure to do what?xxl
Sep 13, 2002 12:06 PM
But they could give the guy back his money, as the law mandates (nm)
Check online businesses out before...Slip Stream
Sep 13, 2002 4:42 AM
sending them any money.

The Better Business Bureau is online with a search engine for www.*.* business addresses:

http://search.bbb.org/search.html

Most companies that will scam you have scammed other people, too. Sometimes their stories get attached to the companies. Placing your story there may help someone else. If nothing else, BBB will list contact names, phone numbers and physical addresses to help you settle your dispute.
Not to let Bikesdirect off the hook BUT.Spoke Wrench
Sep 13, 2002 4:49 AM
The bicycle business is extreamly competitive. For a marketer to offer a deal that is much better than average, they have to have some kind of edge on the competition. Usually that edge is something like last year's close out models.

It appears to me like Bikes direct negotiated a deal to sell the bikes first THEN buy them from Fugi. That means they don't have inventory carrying costs and they don't have the risk of having unsold product hanging around. They can then pass these savings onto the customer.

The problem with this business model is that it is a house of cards. Other people have to do what you expect them to do after the fact. In this case, Fugi acquired a new national sales manager this summer. The new guy has a background selling to the LBS market. Appearantly, he didn't think this was a very good deal for Fugi.

Like somebody said, if a deal looks much better than average, you know something is a little hinky about it. Sometimes things work well in spite of the hinkeyness so it's worth taking a chance now and then. This time it didn't.
Not to let Bikesdirect off the hook BUT.rrbfun
Sep 13, 2002 5:22 AM
The biggest problem I have is they have been advertisting this for over 6weeks online and in several bikes magazines and should be noted in the magazines nowhere does it say that you have to wait for the bike. Bikesdirect had to of known more than thrre days before they were to ship the bikes out that fuji would not let them. Then to top it off not to email or inform their coustomers who are waiting for their bikes that they will not be getting it and that now it becomes a christmas present is the worst coustomer service I have ever heard of.
I totally agree.Spoke Wrench
Sep 13, 2002 5:43 AM
People generally deal with facts pretty well, even if they aren't the facts that they want to hear. What people don't accept well is not knowing and being mislead.

It sounds to me like Bikesdirect could have done a much better job of communicating the facts. The really dumb thing from a purely business point of view is that when you are pro-active in your communications with the customer, you get the opportunity to put your own positive spin on a negative situation. If you wait, you're put into damage control mode, and the positive spin ploy isn't going to work.

I'm currently out of work. I wonder if Bikes direct would hire me to handle customer communications from my home? I think that I might good at that. I know that I'd be better than what they are doing now.
Got a replyredtwin
Sep 13, 2002 10:47 AM
I emailed bikesdirect to cancel my order and got a reply stating that my bike will ship next week as originally stated and that the later date was for another shipment of Fuji Teams.