RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Folks, Compact design is formally taking over ...(10 posts)

Folks, Compact design is formally taking over ...elviento
Sep 12, 2002 7:14 PM
in this year's Vuelta, like it or not.
you are right and I hate it...ugly, ugly frames...nmDjudd
Sep 12, 2002 9:46 PM
look at the bright side ...tarwheel
Sep 13, 2002 4:32 AM
Maybe you'll be able to buy conventional frames for dirt cheap in a few years, sort of like steel lugged frames. I just picked up a new steel lugged Eddy Merckx frame for half retail price, and I see deals like that all the time because most people want the ti, carbon, aluminum or lighter stuff. OK by me, as long as I can still find what I like.

On the other hand, some of the compact frame designs are starting to grow on me. For instance, I really like the looks of the Serotta Fierte -- at least the red one shown on their web site. I also like the appearance of the Cinelli and Giant compacts. And for short people, the compact designs are really a good idea.
look at the bright side ...aliensporebomb
Sep 13, 2002 4:59 AM
That design was a godsend for people with short legs.

I always ended up nearly having sex with the top tube
on bikes that were supposedly sized for me.

Consequently, nothing ever seemed to "fit" well enough
until I got into mountain biking four years ago and the
sloping top tube seemed like a good idea at the time.

I then got back into road riding with a vengeance last
year but wasn't sure what to get.

I personally like the compact look but some look nicer than others.

I like the Giant TCRs, the Litespeed Sirius, the new
Specialized. And Cycling plus just had a review of
three compacts (Orbea, Airborne, and one other).

But some look sort of weird - case in point the new Dean
TI compact. The top bar is at a weird angle. It looks
sort of malformed.
they are made for women - no?Spirito
Sep 13, 2002 6:33 AM
isnt it just a progression of a lady's or "mixte" frame so its easier to ride with a skirt?

dont take the vuelta as an indication as the spanish riders are so overexposed to Pedro Almadovar films that i can see that they are all predisposed to a little cross dressing - hence the prevalence of the girls frames they use. cool by me - but leave my top tube parallel please.

sheesh - next youll be telling me that they all shave their legs and some riders are eunuchs.

compact frames - australian for ugly. i strongly beleive that compact frames aren't advantageous or necessary but manufacturers would like us to beleive so as ideally they only have to make 4 sizes. i dont buy any hype about the supposed advantages either in terms of stiffness, weight or advantage in sizing. a double diamond frame CAN be made to fit anyone and everyone and is still valid as well as visually more appealing.

ciao
No. You wouldn't find me on one...theBreeze
Sep 13, 2002 11:47 AM
and especially not in a skirt!!
Here's why - my opinion as alwaysChainstay
Sep 13, 2002 8:18 AM
Compact frames have some cost advantages for the manufacturer and also for the trade channel. Mainly fewer sizes and tube combinations. So if you are sponsoring a team, why not have them ride the profitable products. It's good promotion strategy and has nothing to do with any performance benefits.
just wondering whether you have taken into account...divve
Sep 13, 2002 9:24 AM
...that there are many small guys in the peleton? The frames they ride on have slightly sloping top tubes due to the design limitations the head tube poses on very small frames. Go up in size and the frames of the same model have regular horizontal top tubes.
just wondering whether you have taken into account...Spunout
Sep 14, 2002 4:00 AM
True, they probably do fit small riders better.

But, looking at the geometry: The 'effective' top tube length and seat-tube length (to the top of the clamp) is the same as a standard frame. They've only moved the top tube down at the seat-tube.

Result is a very ugly bike. There are stability issues, and comfort also I would imagine.
just wondering whether you have taken into account...weiwentg
Sep 14, 2002 6:56 PM
> Result is a very ugly bike.

personal opinion. I also ride an MTB, which in my case is so darn small it looks like a trials bike. my MTB looks OK. my road bike is a thing of beauty :)

>There are stability issues, and comfort also I would imagine.

?????
ride one and then talk.