RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is THIS a good deal??(11 posts)

Is THIS a good deal??Kunfoochi
Sep 12, 2002 2:18 PM
http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=26605&query=retrieval

I'm thinking of purchasing this, but I'd like some feedback before I do so....so what do you all think of this deal?

Thanks
Yes,DINOSAUR
Sep 12, 2002 3:05 PM
If it is in as good condition as the seller claims it's a heck of a deal. The Campy Record group goes for around $1300 by itself. Good luck.
Thoughtsjtolleson
Sep 12, 2002 3:33 PM
Yes, it is a bargain price. Sounds like a racing setup so you will want to ask if it has ever been crashed.

Also, consider the wheelset. Do you want to ride tubulars?
ThoughtsKunfoochi
Sep 12, 2002 3:47 PM
Thanks for the tip.....well, I've never ridden them. My dad says that they're a pain, so I'd have to get heavy training tires that wouldn't puncture. Is this true? Besides weight, what are the advantages/disadvantages of the tubulars? Also, as I've said I'm 6'2" and still growing, so will this be a good size for me? I don't completely understand this sizing system Giant uses, it's quite confusing.

Thanks
If you are confused about sizing.......gogene
Sep 12, 2002 4:25 PM
....DO NOT buy anything UNTIL you are absolutely, positivily, 100% sure that you know what size bike you NEED. No bike the wrong size is a bargain, AT ANY PRICE! Summer is over, winter is coming. There will be thousands and thousands of good used bikes on the market shortly. You have all winter to find the perfect bike, in the perfect size, that you will want to keep for years. Have patience, learn your size, take your time and find the right bike.
Bewarefiltersweep
Sep 12, 2002 4:16 PM
Make sure you get a bunch of real high res photos, find out what year the components are- I saw a "great deal" on a full DA bike that turned out to be a bunch of pre-FlightDeck stuff. I'd try to get a real email address, phone number, address, maybe even a work number if you are going to spend $2000. Ask a ton of questions. I was nearly burned on a crap ebay purchase, and I know someone who received a crap bike- all of which was described as being in "very good" condition.
2nd that on the photos....cydswipe
Sep 12, 2002 4:42 PM
The ad loks like he used a stock production photo from the website. IMHO that's a cardinal sin of an ad. That would make me anxious. Hey, maybe he really is in a hurry for the cash, doesn't matter, get GREAT pictures from the seller. That means no blurry, distance shots with any sort of sun/light glare. Any of those things I mentioned can be used to hide major blemishes or outright dammage. It's your cash. Like the last post said. There will be a lot of bikes for sale this fall. Don't leap before you look. Good luck!!
2nd that on the photos....Kunfoochi
Sep 12, 2002 5:02 PM
Ok, well I can't really go there and test it, nor can pictures give me a complete idea of the condition.....so answer this for me.....would I be better off buying a Giant TCR Composite Zero new? About how much do they run? And the TCR Composite one? Also, why is it that these Giants are significantly cheaper than comparable Treks? It's scary.

Thanks
2nd that on the photos....Kunfoochi
Sep 12, 2002 5:06 PM
Forgot to ask and couldn't figure out how to edit....what do you think about the ALUXX TCR One for $1600 from my LBS? How does it compare to the composite bikes?

Thanks again
2nd that on the photos....aliensporebomb
Sep 13, 2002 2:49 AM
I have a TCR2. The TCR1 is the same exact bike as mine except it's running an
Ultegra grouppo instead of 105.

I just passed 504 miles on the bike last night and it's great, no complaints at all.
Comfortable, stiff, fast and generally the best purchase I've made all year.

I suspect the TCR1 would make you very happy - the carbon version is a lot more
expensive ($1300 for the frame along or so I hear).

Either way, you don't lose. If you like the looks (I personally do, some don't) you
have a great adventure ahead of you.
yeah, but you're gonna have to ride this ugly thing ntRaf1
Sep 12, 2002 9:42 PM