RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How to better publicize a bike on ebay...(16 posts)

How to better publicize a bike on ebay...dcm311
Sep 12, 2002 5:28 AM
I used a ten day auction to sell my Litespeed Siena on ebay. Nine days and ten hours later the bike is still at $1525. I've been posting on rec.bicycles.marketplace and can't think of a better way to publicize it. I saw two completes Siena's on ebay with worse quality pictures and desciptions, but idenical components got for $2100 and $2300. Why is mine stuck at $1525? Any help would be appriciated.
Cheers,
Daniel
re: How to better publicize a bike on ebay...ClydeTri
Sep 12, 2002 5:30 AM
may be stating the obvious, but, have great pictures, detail the positives clearly..and when it closes is important...you want it to close when your target audience is availalbe to be online.
And I would add...Quack
Sep 12, 2002 6:41 AM
Have your item close on Fridays at the beginning or middle of the month as people will typically have more available cash to spend. Plus, the season that you are attempting to sell your bike in will probably take 50% or more of your available market away due to the top half of the US getting cold.

Don't worry too much though. If you've received a high number of bids from many different bidders, your selling price will most likely crank up a couple hundred in the last few seconds of the auction.

Good Luck!

Larry
agree - but disagreeOld_school_nik
Sep 12, 2002 12:15 PM
According tot he New York Times Sunday night at around 9pm is the best time to close - elier enough for east coast late enough for west coast to be home-

Last 2 hours is all that matters - also if you have less then 10 transactions and therefore no track record - I wouldn't by a $1200 item without knowing if he/she is going to go through with it.

I recommend selling the bike after you have an ebay rating of at least 20.
re: How to better publicize a bike on ebay...gregario
Sep 12, 2002 5:46 AM
I've sold a bike on E-bay and you will receive the most bids in the last few minutes of the auction. Don't worry, unless you don't have a reserve price or have set it too low...
uh oh.gregario
Sep 12, 2002 5:54 AM
Looks like you don't have a reserve price. I could be wrong but that might be risky for a big ticket item.
exactlytarwheel
Sep 12, 2002 6:41 AM
Almost all of the serious bidding for stuff on eBay takes place in the last hour or so. Many times I have been tempted to buy a nice frame for what seemed to be a bargain price only to see the cost shoot out of my range in late bidding. It takes some nerve to stick it out, but you can expect the price to go up some more, assuming your expectations aren't too high.

On the other hand, I have seen many bikes and frames get no bids at all on eBay because the sellers set opening bids or reserve prices that were ridiculously high. You can't expect someone to pay near retail price for a bike or frame with no warranty, buying sight unseen over the internet. I would pay no more than 50% or retail unless I really wanted something badly and was convinced the product was in topnotch condition.
I was bidding on a carbon stem Monday.Dave Hickey
Sep 12, 2002 7:10 AM
All day long the stem was at $35.00. Within an hour of close, it went to $60.00. It closed at $95.00
YOU CAN ONLY REMOVE AN AUCTION BEFORE THE 12 HOUR MARK!onespeed
Sep 12, 2002 6:22 AM
I hope you removed or are resigned to sell at a low price.
unethical resolutionSteve_0
Sep 12, 2002 8:24 AM
have your wife/dad/whomever bid at your 'reserve' price.
Interesting that my "ethical" mind didnt cover this. (nm)onespeed
Sep 12, 2002 8:37 AM
Reselling Bikes is HeartbreakingMaartin
Sep 12, 2002 7:07 AM
You never get close to fair value in my opinion.
Fair value is hard to sayelviento
Sep 12, 2002 8:50 AM
Different people have different valuation of bike stuff, so those who can't afford retail prices will bother to do the research and websurfing to find better prices.

If your price is similar to retail, then why would anyone buy from you, considering the lack of test-ride/warranty/maintenance/return/replacement and extra credit risk? I am fairly realistic about reselling and expect to take a hit unless I got a real good deal when I first bought it. When I buy on the second hand market, I directly pass near retail prices as well.
lots of factors at worktarwheel
Sep 12, 2002 10:04 AM
When you buy a bike or frame used, it has no warranty. So if anything goes wrong, you're out of luck. That factor alone knocks at least 30% off the retail price. When you buy over the internet, you seldom get the opportunity to inspect the bike up close or ride it. If you're lucky, the seller provides some decent photos -- but even then, you might not see problems (eg, small paint chips or dents) that would be glaringly obvious in person. Finally, if you buy a bike new, the shop will typically exchange parts like stems, cassette, saddles at little or no extra cost to make it fit you right. If you buy used, you can easily spend a couple hundred dollars on parts to make it fit right. You also might need to replace worn-out parts like tires and chains. So, I think 50% of retail is actually pretty close to "fair market value" when you consider the potential risks for the buyer.

As an example, I bought off eBay a used Merckx frame in the spring that was about 4 years old for about 1/3 the new retail cost. When the frame arrived, it clearly was not in the condition described by the seller. It had a lot of paint chips and scuffs, some dents and other damage. To get the frame repaired and repainted would have cost me at least $400. Fortunately, I was able to return the frame for a full refund, but I would have been SOL if the owner had refused. That is exactly why I would never pay even close to retail for a used bike or frame. But there are a lot of suckers who do it all the time on eBay.
I don't know who to reply to, so I'll reply here...dcm311
Sep 12, 2002 10:48 AM
At the risk of spamming the message board (the auction will probably be over by the time you see it anyway), here's the link to the auction:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1856380146&rd=1

I started the bidding at $.11 and within two days it was up to $1525 and has been there for the last eight. I had huge pictures until geocities took them down, so now I just have a link to huge pictures and smaller ones on the auction. When I looked at the timetable for the other Sienas I realized you guys were right and many of the bids were in the last day. Putting a reserve on the bike just seem to go angainst free-market capitalism. I've seen items on ebay I wanted to bid on that i didn't, because I didn't know the reserve. If there's ANYTHING you think I should improve on my auction, please let me know.
Cheers,
Daniel
It's normal for bid to rise rapidly in the last few minuteselviento
Sep 12, 2002 11:18 AM
So I wouldn't be surprised if you bike finally sells for much more than the current bid.