RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Bicycling Magazine Scam - Continuous Service Program(17 posts)

Bicycling Magazine Scam - Continuous Service Programno excuses
Sep 12, 2002 5:17 AM
Imagine my surprise when I declined to renew my Bicycling Magazine Subscription, and found that it had been renewed under this program that Rodale had instituted so that I would never miss an issue. If I want to stop my subscription, I have to write cancel on a bill and mail it back. What a great deal!
Just when you thought that a 10 minute read for a magazine was annoying, they found a new way to screw the customer.
Any one else heard of this? Be on the lookout if you want to stop the subscription. Stupid me thought all I had to do was ignore the reminders that my subscrition was due for renewal for 6 months.
Another great deal. The renewal price was $9 dollars or so more that the price on their website.
Something to look forward to.RickC5
Sep 12, 2002 5:31 AM
Since I have NO intention of renewing my subscription, I'll make sure to write "CANCEL" on the first renewal bill I receive and mail it back to those dirtbags.

On the same topic, what did you think of the most recent issue? Ten minutes and I had finished it. No meat, no help, just photos, IMHO.
Actually got to about 15 minutesno excuses
Sep 12, 2002 6:05 AM
Even read the in depth article about the Tour. It actually went over the fold to a second page. SI (Sports Illustrated) had a better article.
surprised someone hasnt mentionedColnagoFE
Sep 12, 2002 6:20 AM
the "fitness models" they use now insead of "real cyclists". Hubba Hubba. And Shop Girl? Is that a Zap creation? Next thing you know they'll be featuring cleavage shots of women in sports bras under the pretense that they are reviewing them. Oh wait--they kinda already did that with the shorts review in this issue. Anyway. If it stays cheap I probably will still get it. Good crapper reading and love laughing at Zap's crazy opinions on cycling. Too bad he didn't intend them to be funny.
surprised someone hasnt mentionedDaveG
Sep 12, 2002 8:32 AM
I noticed. While I enjoyed the tush shots in this month's issue, its not exactly informative. I see the Men's Health influence taking over. Still, the mag has gotten a bit better than a year ago
I thought so also..Dave Hickey
Sep 12, 2002 8:35 AM
I thought the last two issues were an improvement over past issues. It's still not where it should be, but it's better,
re: Bicycling Magazine Scam - Continuous Service ProgramSBP
Sep 12, 2002 5:51 AM
I did the same thing, just let the subscription run out. So I thought. Then I noticed one day that another year was added to my subsription. Then I started getting threatening bills saying "We've done our part" you need to pay. I called them and found out that I had been renewed automatically under their new program. They canceled the subscription over the phone.
Look on the bright sideColnagoFE
Sep 12, 2002 6:16 AM
At least you can read all of Zap's "great" thoughts on road biking.
Solution: Coffee and a quick peruse at Barnes & Noble (nm)Breakfast
Sep 12, 2002 6:20 AM
SO true...Bianchi4Me
Sep 12, 2002 6:47 AM
Seriously, I can go to Borders, read through every U.S. bike mag and a few of the U.K. ones, and it costs me $4 for a mocha.
Thanks,,,klay
Sep 12, 2002 7:10 AM
I was wondering why they kept sending me issues.

Bastards...

K
"Mountain Bike" did the same thing to me...Gregory Taylor
Sep 12, 2002 7:29 AM
...and what really ticked me off was that they actually sent me a semi-threatening dunning notice that my "account" was overdue because I hadn't paid. I called the service center and reminded them that (1) I hadn't renewed my subscription, (2) unilaterally choosing to keep sending me their thin bum-wad Magazine was their choice, and (3) that dunning me for magazines that I didn't order wasn't the way to restore the eroding good will that I felt toward Mountain Bike.

Rodale. Skeevy schmucks.
re: Bicycling Magazine Scam - Continuous Service Programpnitefly
Sep 12, 2002 7:38 AM
Thanks for the info. This last issue of bicycling almost got me to subscribe. Now that they have gotten (at least partially) away from the sappy "why do you ride?" articles and sentimental fluff/garbage they were printing before I thought I would check it out since it was dirt cheap for a subscription. But if it is going to take a letter from my congressman to get out of a subscription, forget it!
Cancelling is easybigrider
Sep 12, 2002 10:04 AM
If you sign up for a one year subscription and don't agree to a sbscription longer than one year or a continuous signup agreement it doesn't matter what they say. The law says read the magazine as long as they send it and you don't have to pay a nickel for unsolicited magazines. Don't call, don't fret, don't worry, just read and enjoy and they will call you or quit sending the magazine. BTW, you can get their subscription for 5.95 a year online if you sign up for five mag subscriptions at one time. They also have Bike and Mountain Bike on the 5.95 list. I can give you the web site if there is any interest.
Rodale sux. They did that to me a few years ago too, with a...fbg111
Sep 12, 2002 10:16 AM
different subscription (book club or something). I was in college at the time, and thought I was ordering a single book, but they kept sending me the monthly special and charging me for it. Thought I could just not send the card back and they would cancel, until I read in the fine print several months later that I had to send the card back with Cancel written on it. I was like, wth are they still sending me these??? Bastards. I will never do business with them again.
Rodale sux. They did that to me a few years ago too, with a...Fattrax
Sep 12, 2002 11:10 AM
The same thing happened to me with their running magazine. I tried it for a year. Got a couple of good things out of it, but decided to move on. I received those belligerent "helpful reminders" for about a year. Laughed at the first few, bitched about the next few, finally got fed-up with the last few. A couple of days ago I finally tracked down their customer service rep through their web site and sent off an eMail. They replied saying that my order has been canceled and that I can keep any magazines that I received with their complements. Yippee, I get to keep what I paid for.
re: Bicycling Magazine Scam - Continuous Service Programaliensporebomb
Sep 12, 2002 12:44 PM
I read it, the last two are a bit better than previous.
But yeah, there's a definete Men's Health influence happening. I guess they have to go where the $ is.

Frankly, I like Cyclesport and ProCycling - they just seem
to have it a lot more content, glossiness and just all
around goodness. Maybe it's just me though.