RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Giant ONCE bike(10 posts)

Giant ONCE bikeelviento
Sep 11, 2002 9:09 PM
Watching the Vuelta, I noticed that the ONCE team bikes seems to be more than the old S, M, and L sizes. But I am not sure. Does anyone know whether that's the case? If so, will they be offered for sale?
re: Giant ONCE bikeBeaver
Sep 12, 2002 4:26 AM
From what I have seen of the Vuelta this year, ONCE is riding the same carbon frame that they rode in the Tour.

Giant is offering an XL frame for 2003. I've heard through my lbs that they won't be available until January 03. I think they will offer XL in both aluminum TCR's and carbon TCR's. FWIW, the medium Composite 0 I purchased last week has the same measurements as my aluminum TCR1.
Beaver!...How about a review?5ive
Sep 12, 2002 10:51 AM
How does the TCR Composite compare to the Alu TCRs? I'm dying to know how it rides. Could you share with us? I've seen a TCR1 Composite at my LBS. The down tube and the chainstay junction near the BB looked very beefy. Does it feel stiffer compared to the Alu. TCRs? Also, I've noticed that the cable routing to the F.Derailleur appeared to go through the tube. Any issues with Front shifting? Thanx in advance.
Beaver!...How about a review?Beaver
Sep 12, 2002 11:52 AM
Unfortunately, I've only been able to ride it twice. Hope to get out on it today if everything goes right at work.

I upgraded from an medium aluminum TCR1 which I love riding. I'm one of those weird ones where a compact frame fits me better than a standard frame.

Like I mentioned before, my medium Composite 0 weighed 15.75 lbs before I added water bottle cages. I've since added Tacx Tao water bottle cages, swapped the Axial Races for Conti GP 3000's and the seatpost from a 3 to a 2. So right now, it's probably hovering around 16 lbs. A full 1.5 lbs lighter than my aluminum TCR1.

In my 2 rides, I haven't noticed it being stiffer than my TCR1. But when you put the hammer down, the thing moves and gets up to speed quick. I did notice on my second ride that my avg. speed for 35 miles was 19.8 mph, on my first ride my avg. speed was 19.4 for 25 miles....I usually average 19.4/19.5 for all rides.

It corners well, climbs well..I have a killer hill that I have to climb when I come home..I can hit 38mph down it without pedalling. Absorbs road shock very well, the seat and I are still getting used to each other though. It's a very quiet ride compared to my TCR1, no rattles, noise or vibrations. Most of which I attributed to the fork on my TCR1. If you have ridden a TCR with the aero fork, then you know what I am talking about.

I've had no issues with the shifting. Everything is crisp and clean.

Once I get a few more miles on it, I'll post a review in the Review Section and maybe some photos the next time I take the camera out.
Sounds like a winner5ive
Sep 12, 2002 12:43 PM
Stiffer, better vibration absorption, good acceleration... Everything I wanted to hear! I'm this close to ordering a frameset from my LBS and your review helped. Thanks and enjoy your new bike.
Pros have their own gemoteries (most)briko51
Sep 12, 2002 7:39 AM
most pro's on teams have the bikes made to their specific geometries. for instance, someone on the mapei team (colnagos) might want 58tt and 58seat tube. well, a stock colnago in that size doesn't come with those proportions...so a frame is made jsut for that rider. same goes for the ONCE team (at least for the aluminum TCR's) i'm not sure about the carbon ones since specialty molds and that cost a lot for forming the carbon frames.

but yeah, pros get whatever size they want in most cases...which is why they are pro's :) hehe
Thanks for the info, but do you have reliable informationelviento
Sep 12, 2002 8:52 AM
about Giant custom making frames for the ONCE boys? I do know that many pros ride custom bikes. But Trek for one doesn't, and Giant has been boasting about their 3-size-fits-all (stupid IMHO) concept, now making custom for the ONCE folks would be a pretty bad slap on their only face, wouldn't it?
Thanks for the info, but do you have reliable informationBeaver
Sep 12, 2002 10:32 AM
According to the new Cycle Sport, both Beloki and Galedano had special aluminum TCR climbing bikes that weigh less than the current carbon models..so those thing must be extremely light. My almost stock TCR Composite 0 weighed 15.75 lbs before I put the water bottle cages on.

Anyway, the article said that was all the information they could get out of the ONCE mechanic...just a light weight climbing bike. If you happened to tape the tour or see pictures of Beloki in first day in the Pyrnees, he was riding the special TCR..the giveaway was the 01 ONCE paint scheme.

See:
http://www.cyclingnews.com/photos/?id=2002/jul02/tdf/stage11/CHbeloki

http://www.cyclingnews.com/photos/2002/jul02/tdf/?id=stage11/FSleaders

I do believe Beloki switched back to the new carbon frame the next stage.
Beloki switched bikes during the stage, before the climb! nmSpunout
Sep 12, 2002 11:04 AM
Thanks for the info, but do you have reliable informationaliensporebomb
Sep 12, 2002 12:17 PM
I think the same article indicated that the carbon frames
were actually heavier than the aluminum frames so the alu
frames must have been light indeed.

Still, I suspect it's not that far from the aluminum frames
available now.

My TCR2 with full 105, reflectors [since removed], and with
my bike computer attached ended up being just over 18 lbs.

If I went full Dura Ace, fancier wheels and had removed the
reflectors and bike computer it would have been a 15-16 lb. bike.

As it is, it's lighter than any bike I've ever owned so....