RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Your Season in Review(26 posts)

Your Season in ReviewPack Meat
Sep 10, 2002 11:09 AM
Now that the riding season is basically over (excluding the cross fanatics)I have a few questions.

1. What were your goals for the season?
2. Did you achieve them?
3. What did you do to achieve your goals?
4. What are you going to change for next year?
5. What's your annual mileage to date?

Here are my responses.
1. 52 minute 40k and not get my butt kicked in the 3's field.
2. No on the 52 minutes, 53:41. I held my own in the 3's with a top place of 7th in a 42 mph sprint finish.
3. I put in tons of base miles, lifted in the off season, worked on intervals and raced a lot.
4. More base miles, more lifting, more intervals, probably more mtbiking to work on power and more rest.
5. I think I'm around 5100 miles.

Maybe I should save this post for Friday.
re: Your Season in Reviewmr_spin
Sep 10, 2002 11:51 AM
1. Build power and speed on flats / do climb to kaiser

2. Yes / no

3. Train with serious triathletes, starting Jan 1 / not enough

4. Next year I'm turning it all upside down. I am abandoning big road events and trying a few triathlons. I'm doing a 24 hour MTB race, and I'm also going to see the Tour, and riding as many of the great climbs as I can.

5. I stopped tracking mileage this year. I'd guess I have at least 4500 road and MTB miles. Last year I ended up with 7500, which I don't think I can exceed and still keep my job, so why bother counting anymore?
Season in ReviewTig
Sep 10, 2002 1:33 PM
1. This was to be my "build year". I wanted to increase endurance and strength enough to keep up with the 3's I ride with. I haven't raced in so long, I had to start all over in the 5's (God help me!). The goal was to race a few and gain confidence. I'm 39 and the ol' body ain't what it used to be thanks to arthritis and typical aging.

2. I built my overall fitness up quite a bit but I didn't ride as much as I needed to nor have I even raced yet! I have one crit in a few weeks and I feel strong and smart enough to win. While I didn't achieve all of my goals, I surpassed my expectations on being able to keep up with the fast guys just this last month, not sit in but pull my turns, and beat most of them, and sometimes all of them in the final sprint (my strength).

3. I achieved some of the goals by not giving up to pain as long as possible and by not giving up on myself. Maybe by not riding more than 4 days a week, I let my body fully recover from the hard days.

4. Next year, I'll ride more if possible. Even just short rides on easy days, just to keep the base miles up. Better consistency in the early season would help and can be done now that I have some decent fitness to carry over into next year. I really need to climb more as well as hit the weights during Winter. Hopefully if my newly discovered osteoporosis condition improves with an better diet and a Fosamax treatment régime, I'll be able to race much more.

5. Don't laugh, but I only have 3000 miles so far. Living in a hot climate, my season is far from over and the best riding of the year is just around the corner. Summer can be brutal down here.
re: Your Season in ReviewNo_sprint
Sep 10, 2002 2:40 PM
Overall: Disappointing.

I wanted to see top 10s this year, I didn't. I had a bad crash last year but I was hoping to achieve pre-crash form by July/August. Obviously I didn't do the right thing to achieve my goal. The downfall is an irregular schedule limiting my weekday rides. Another hinderance was a burnout month in May. Next, I teach classes at some gyms which further lowers my on bike time but does help in overall fitness. What's gonna change? I'm going to try to move my class schedule around to open up more on bike time. Mileage is low as usual, around 2500/3000.
Ain't over yet!look271
Sep 10, 2002 3:10 PM
I'll do this sometime after October. Got lots of miles to get in and several rides to do.......
Agree but wait till December 31, 11:59 p.m. nmMB1
Sep 10, 2002 3:20 PM
Well, ok.look271
Sep 10, 2002 3:48 PM
Mileage drops off significantly after the beginning of Oct, though. If it doesn't snow (it hasn't in how many years?)mileage totals could be way up!
Season Reset....Geex
Sep 10, 2002 5:35 PM
Agreed. My season ends with Daylight Savings Time (last weekend of October). Following the clock adjustment, there's not enough daylight after work to get a decent workout in, hence the weekday program becomes one of opportunity....

I'm yet a little shy of 8k miles this season, but I'll make it...
Whaddya mean OVER?Humma Hah
Sep 10, 2002 3:35 PM
My riding season will be over December 31, the day before the new riding season starts. I'll ride with ice in my beard, in the dark, all winter. Using both batteries on my light, I can conceivably do 5 hour rides after dark. And cold is no problem once started: I'll break a sweat at 15 F.

1) My riding goal was to match or exceed last year's modest mileage, about 4000 miles (that's cruiser miles, with about 1.3 roadbike miles per cruiser mile).

2) I'm probably slightly behind. The computer on which I was recording miles is fried, so I've not been keeping close tabs for about a month.

3) I've had little opportunity to do long weekend rides this year. Last year I got in several centuries and one huge ride, and could get in lots of base miles during the week. This week I've relied on regular commuting, close to the same miles but chopped up so they're really not great base miles.

The riding this year is also markedly different than last in another respect. I've upped the gear ratio of the singlespeed, and have been utilizing routes with no long climbs, but some fairly mean short ones. That's returned me to my old habits of charging up hills at full power. The result has been slight weight gain while losing bodyfat: my legs have definitely put on muscle, and I'm starting to look more like a trackie.

Annual mileage to date is probably a little shy of 3000.
Pretty goodBipedZed
Sep 10, 2002 3:55 PM
1.What were your goals for the season?

Upgrade to Cat 3. My other big goal is a Top 20 in Bs at CX Nats @ Napa.

2. Did you achieve them?

Upgraded to Cat 3 after opening race weekend in April.

As a Cat 3 won a bronze medal at the State TT Championships and a 3rd place the next weekend at the last road race of the season.

3. What did you do to achieve your goals?

Trained and raced my ass off. 35 races since March not including dozens of non-sanctioned training races during the week. Averaged 10-12 hrs a week (200-250 miles).

4. What are you going to change for next year?

The fitness is pretty good now so I need to focus on pack positioning and race skills and not get intimidated at the end of a race. I'll do lots of race drills at Meridian.

5. What's your annual mileage to date?

7400
ain't over til it's overbianchi boy
Sep 10, 2002 5:12 PM
We're just approaching the prime cycling season in the South. Now that the 90-100 degree days are just about over, the weather is ideal for cycling. Sure, the days are getting shorter, but you can work around that. I average about 600 miles/month year-round, even managing to ride 550 miles in January when we lost a week to a snowstorm. ... But I'll play along.

1. My goals were to ride at least as far as last year (7100 miles), finish a weeklong cycle tour, lose 10-15 pounds and improve my climbing.
2. I'm on track to top my mileage for last year, I rode a weeklong tour across Wisconsin with my brother in June, I lost 15 pounds but gained back 10 of them, and my climbing has improved but it's still not where I want it to be.
3. Rode 4-6 days a week, cut back on my food consumption, was more diligent about scheduling recovery rides, and challenged myself more on the hills.
4. Next year I am going to try to do more long rides, lose more weight, and improve my climbing.
5. Mileage to date -- 5100.
re: Your Season in ReviewRockin Johny
Sep 10, 2002 5:34 PM
1) My goals for this season were to finish higher than 3rd overall in the Cydesdale class for the local race series and to continue to improve on my base fitness and hill climbing.

2)No....I had trained all winter with weights and indoor spinning. Outdoor rides as well when the weather permitted, but then ran into health issues. Had a sinus infection for nearly 4 months and when that started to clear up I started with the heart palpitations and ended up on a monitor and taking it easy.

3) The goals are out of the window as of now, but I am trying to salvage some of the year by putting some FUN back into my riding and just riding instead of racing.

4) I am going to train over the winter and go into next season with a more relaxed attitude. Whatever happens, happens and the fact that I am riding is enough for me.

5) Mileage is down this year to about 2500km.

John
re: Your Season in Reviewempacher6seat
Sep 10, 2002 8:47 PM
My first cycling season!

1) buy a road bike, do my first triathlon.
2)Yes, and double yes to the second answer. I did two! And I wont my age group in the second one.
3) Saved for the bike. For the tri's I swam with swimmers, rode with.... well, myself, and ran with runners!
4) Well since my bike exploded the other day I'll be working on my swimming and running more... buying a new (or used) ride in the spring.
5)ugh... started riding in May, put on (don't laugh) 1700 kilometers!
What? Over? Did you say "over"?NJRoad
Sep 11, 2002 5:47 AM
...Nothing is over until we decide it is! Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor? Hell no!
LOL! nmMB1
Sep 11, 2002 5:52 AM
1. DC 2. Yes 3. ride lots 4. ride more 5. 4200mi 6. over? ha! nmJS Haiku Shop
Sep 11, 2002 5:56 AM
totally suckedDougSloan
Sep 11, 2002 6:33 AM
Started out last winter with some bad coaching, which got me in to the worst shape I'd been in in 5 years.

Did some road racing and got my butt kicked.

Trained hard for a 24 hour time trial, but wasn't in good enough shape for the speed I was riding, and dropped out at 130 miles.

Did a double century (Central Coast Double) riding easy, and for some odd reason matched prior times while riding a negative split for second half. One good day.

All but stopped riding as baby approached and in the month after. Time trial times dropping from 25 mph to 23, sometimes 22.

Missed my favorite event, Climb to Kaiser, for same reason.

Started riding extremly hard in August; got Computrainer and amount and quality of training vastly improved, almost to the point of over training.

Planned on doing Furnace Creek 508 as 2 man team, but team mate can't do it, now. Thinking, like an idiot, of doing it solo again, despite being in worse shape (but much smarter) than last year. So, full speed ahead.

I hope next year is better.

Doug
But, you have a good reason . . .ms
Sep 11, 2002 7:11 AM
Babies and young children take a great toll on all kinds of things in your life -- job, marriage, hobbies, etc. I am not saying that you should give up trying to have it all. In fact the opposite is true -- you should try to do as much as you can in all spheres of your life. But, as hard as you may try, some things are going to suffer. I am now thirteen years and two daughters beyond where you are now. You probably are already seeing some light at the end of the tunnel. Each year your son gets older, you and your wife will have more time and energy to devote to things that you did before you transitioned from a couple to a family of three. Now, if you decide to add to the family, you open a whole new dynamic.
re: Your Season in ReviewLen J
Sep 11, 2002 6:38 AM
1. What were your goals for the season?
-3 Day 300 Mile ride with 20,000 ft of climbing.
-10 Mile TT a 23mph
2. Did you achieve them?
-Yes
-Yes
3. What did you do to achieve your goals?
-Freil formatted training plan
4. What are you going to change for next year?
-Fixed gear training & add more intervals
5. What's your annual mileage to date?
-6,000 miles and change

Season ain't over yet. Some of my favorite rides are still to come,
Civil War century
Savage century
Seagull century (My wife is doing her first metric here)

Len
Whoa dude!MB1
Sep 11, 2002 7:03 AM
What about meeting and riding with crazy people?

BTW look for us at the Civil War Century. We are going to ride to the start so we shouldn't be there till right at 7am. There is an American Legion pig roast just down the street from the finish, interested?
Whoa dude yourself!Len J
Sep 11, 2002 8:53 AM
"What about meeting and riding with crazy people? "
Wasn't an original goal, rather a plesant surprise. It is always the unlooked for blessings that seem to carry the most power.

If I end up going, I'll definatly look you & Miss M up. The Pig roast sounds great. My problem is that I have been doing some out of town consulting & have been on the road Mon to Fri the last 3 weeks (and at least the next two). My wife may not be to thrilled if I decide to take one of two full days home this weekend to ride (couple of hour car ride each way plus 6 hours (with stops) riding). I'd miss the time with her also. Right now it's a 50/50 proposition that I go, but I'm still hopeful.

Len
Dude! Want to borrow our Santana TeamTi ?MB1
Sep 11, 2002 11:43 AM
Bring the wife along-do one of the shorter rides.
Love to......Len J
Sep 11, 2002 2:03 PM
Wife has a bad back & rides a recumbent as a result. She can't take more than 30 moinutes on an upright.

Thank's anyway.

BTW, she rode 45 miles by herself on Saturday. Longest ride for her yet. Little by little.

Len
re: Your Season in ReviewFez
Sep 11, 2002 6:53 AM
1. 8 weeks ago, I decided to start riding again after 1.5 years of no exercise. Goal was to get base training, then work towards returning to prior form.

2. Still on track making good progress.

3. The first week was very slow and painful. I took it very easy initially to avoid injury. I felt a little crazy to start from scratch in the hottest month of the year. I just sat and spun for the first 6 weeks. Very humbling to see all kinds of folks passing me. Each week I get faster and stronger, while heart rate continues to drop. Added some varied hill training and sprints into the mix. Every week still shows improvement.

4. For rest of this year and next year - I'm actually going to continue to ride and work out. Starting from bottom is too painful!!!

5. 1500 miles in 8 weeks.

P.S. Its amazing how frustrating cycling can be when you're out of shape, but its equally amazing how fun cycling can be when you are in shape.
So far, so good . . .ms
Sep 11, 2002 7:27 AM
1. My goals: Ride the Mountains of Misery, the Etape du Tour, and the Skyline Drive. Ride a double metric century.

2. Achieved the first three, albeit with some difficulty on the Mountains of Misery (bonked at 101.5 miles), and very slowly on the Etape (9:49 for the course -- one of the slowest people to finish). Still plan to try the double metric before the year is over.

3. Rode on the stationary trainer in January-March, nothing else too specific.

4. Become more focused in my training, especially with respect to speed.

5. Approximately 3,500 miles.
It takes me all season to get fit and then its overMaartin
Sep 12, 2002 6:41 AM
By spring, you start all over ...c'est la vie