RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


If you had $600 for a frame, what would you choose?(23 posts)

If you had $600 for a frame, what would you choose?offrhodes
Sep 10, 2002 10:30 AM
I am looking for a 49-50cm frame. The ones I have found so far are the TST Titanium for $599, Gunnar Roadie (a few places have them)roughly $600, GVH has some Cannondale Cadd4 frames for $610 w/fork. I already have a brand new 1" Look fork (so frame with 1" headtubes are first choice). What else is out there, prefer new way more than used. What do people think of the TST and Gunnar's?

Thanks,
Paul

http://www.offrhodes.xnapster.com
Gios ...tarwheel
Sep 10, 2002 10:47 AM
The Gios Compact Pro sold by excelsports is a bargain at $549 (w/out the fork), but the geometry is not for everyone. Although in your size, the steep seat tube angles are pretty much the rule. I have ridden a Gios for a little over a year and it's a great frame. Not the lightest frame around, but beautiful paint job and chrome and rides like any good steel frame. I bought mine for $600 frame & fork, but they've gone up on the price since then. It's still a bargain though.

http://www.excelsports.com/item.asp?major=&minor=&description=Compact+Pro+Frame+without+Fork&vendorCode=GIOS

Other good options are the Viner Competition models sold by gvhbikes.com for about $550 frame and fork, and the DeBernardi and Basso steel frames sold by Bulltek sports and other places.
Caad 4, 5, 6 or 7 used/new on Ebay just be thorough checkingVO2_max
Sep 10, 2002 1:17 PM
feedback and references..

-Nik
Cannondale from GVH. (nm)Alex-in-Evanston
Sep 10, 2002 10:48 AM
Ditto on the Cannondale from GVH.Leroy
Sep 10, 2002 6:43 PM
I just went for a CAAD 5 from GVH. Also the Gios, above is a good deal.

Dave Loving
Take the $600 and the credit card and get a Merak. (nm)onespeed
Sep 10, 2002 11:20 AM
check out my merak in the bike gallery (nm)mike r
Sep 10, 2002 11:34 AM
Could you post a picture? (nm)onespeed
Sep 10, 2002 11:38 AM
Could you post a picture? (nm)mike r
Sep 10, 2002 12:00 PM
still have to adjust the fit.

i'll be getting new wheels in spring, either campy neutrons or eurus. which ones??
Could you post a picture? (nm)flying
Sep 10, 2002 6:00 PM
Im running nucleons which are the Neutrons with silver spokes. I like them.... Excellent quality & ride.
re: Gunnars & Pinarellodzrider
Sep 10, 2002 12:06 PM
Like the Gunnar frames pretty well. I'm most familiar with the Roadie and the Crosshair. I'd probably own one if the model in the shop had eyelets for panniers. If you're not interested in racing or loaded touring I'd get the Pinarello Gavia at GVH for $625. If you haven't ridden Pinarellos of this era it's very hard to believe how beautifully they go down the road. Hold onto your price limit there's no reason you can't get a fine frame at that price point.
I've got a Gunnar, like it just fine. Good for the price. nmLeisure
Sep 10, 2002 8:51 PM
agree with the Gios or ...MXL02
Sep 10, 2002 12:25 PM
http://pricepoint.com/product494.html
I prefer steel...so these would be my choices, but I think you need to decide what frame material you prefer...aluminum can be had very cheaply, even less than steel. Even carbon frames can be obtained for 700-$800. Pick the material, then shop for the best price.
No Univega in my size, to bad.offrhodes
Sep 10, 2002 2:33 PM
a 53cm was the smallest they listed. I need a 50cm (c-t)at the biggest.
As others have suggested, try GVH.MXL02
Sep 10, 2002 5:39 PM
He has this 50cm marinoni for $550...pretty sweet. Give Gary a call, he may be able to help you.
Tom TeesdaleMike Prince
Sep 10, 2002 12:35 PM
If you go to the rec.bicycles.marketplace newsgroup, you will find a monthly special from Tom (www.tetcycles.com) for custom made frames in the 400-450 price range (I think, I don't have newsgroup access from work). You will need to check the newsgroup as I don't think he lists the specials on his web site. From what I remember, his non-sale framesets are affordable as well. He usually offers the specials in steel, although he does aluminum as well.

Anyway, looks interesting and at this price for a custom frame you can't go wrong. The best of all worlds. Chaep and it will fit!

Good luck
Mike
Tom TeesdaleMXL02
Sep 10, 2002 12:53 PM
Mike, this is the second time I seen Tom referenced here on the site....his own web site is well done, and his frames look great...do you know anyone who has one?
Tom TeesdaleMike Prince
Sep 10, 2002 1:02 PM
No, have never seen one on the road either. I spoke with Tom last year when I was shopping and was quite impressed. His experience (referenced on the site) speaks for itself and you are right, his frames do look good.

For what it's worth, the reason I didn't go with Teesdale is beacuse I also spoke with Brent Steelman and decided I wanted to spend more money. In other words, my second bike project turned into my primary bike project and I could justify spending more. If I decide to build another bike soon, I would seriously consider a Teesdale as the thought of a custom steel frame with top-notch components at the sub-$2k price point would be hard to pass up. No complaints whatsoever about my Steelman, but it's a lot of cash for a second bike.
I Have a TeesdaleStewK
Sep 10, 2002 5:18 PM
In fact, I have two.

I have a very long inseam and have to go custom. Tom offers the best value I know of and he has a high attention to detail and takes pride in his work.

I'm very happy with the ride and I think the quality is very good, although I have nothing to compare it to.

That being said, I think his paint job leaves something to be desired in terms of durability. Although I think he's trying to work this out, I had my last bike painted elsewhere.

If I can be of any further help, e-mail me at sdkprs@bigfoot.com.
Teesdale would be my pick, toogtx
Sep 10, 2002 5:04 PM
I think he was building the steel Deans until recently (saw one just yesterday--looked very nice), and I know he was building the Fisher frames I was building up in shops back in the 80s. The guy is a very experienced builder. About the only complaint I've heard is about the paint, but you can always get that redone later. There are a lot of very happy people over at mtbr.com, too, if you want more feedback. Try the singlespeed board.
A little more info on what I am looking for.offrhodes
Sep 10, 2002 1:15 PM
I have a Giant TCR that I race. Aluminum is great for racing (and this bike is pretty good on long ride too), but I am looking for a bike that will last a long time and be a fun century bike. Light weight aluminum is a long term bicycle. So steel and Ti are probably the better choices.
Hope that adds some more light.

Thanks,
Paul
A little more info on what I am looking for.MXL02
Sep 10, 2002 2:04 PM
Paul- the univega I listed above is a great century frame. It is made of columbus steel and has a carbon fork. I bought one for my starter bike and it served me very well. I had it fitted out with Daytona/Centaur components and I rode it 65 -80 miles routinely and it felt great. It is made in Taiwan, thus the low price. Otherwise I would look at used frames in the classifieds. Good luck.
How about a Tour de France frame for $350?jose_Tex_mex
Sep 10, 2002 4:32 PM
I would not hesitate to buy the GT ZR1.0 Lotto frame from Supergo.com at $350. I have the GT Lotto and the mtb version - the Zaskar. Both are excellent choices.

For $350 you are getting a frame that was in the TDF in 2001. Spend the rest on a Time fork and Chris King Headset. By the time you are done you will have a setup that is probably in the weight range of the Trek USPS Carbon bikes.

Best of Luck