RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


SF Grandprix this Sunday!!(8 posts)

SF Grandprix this Sunday!!SBP
Sep 10, 2002 8:10 AM
Are there any bayarea RBR people going to the SF Grandprix this Sunday? Do you have any tips for parking and viewing of the race?
I wish!fracisco
Sep 10, 2002 8:17 AM
I'll be out sailing on the Bay in the Big Boat Series, which kicks off Thursday and runs through Sunday.

The Fillmore hill climb will be a good one, so you could start in the Marina area, have breakfast, and work your way downtown on Broadway, and catch the final laps down on the Embarcadero.

I have a bunch of friends doing the San Rafael crit on Saturday, that are sticking around to watch the SFGP, Sunday.

Here's the course map: http://www.sfgrandprix.com/courseMap02.pdf
Look for some colorful RoadbikeREVIEW caps!gregg
Sep 10, 2002 8:26 AM
I'll be there, dragging the family with me. No funds for a RoadbikeREVIEW booth, but perhaps Jay and Jeremy will be gracious enough to let me put some literature at the Sycip booth (if they are having one again).

If you happen to spot a guy wearing a very colorful RoadbikeREVIEW cap and t-shirt, towing his significant other and little girl around, please introduce yourself! We don't have a lot of swag, but I'll bring what little I can.

My problem is that I also have tickets for the Giants game at 1 o'clock! Looks like I'll have to take what pictures I can in the morning afternoon, then head over to the game :-( (I was actually half hoping for a strike so I would have more time for the race.)

I went last year, and my advice is to go early for parking. We took the train up the peninsula last year, but I don't think the trains are running on weekends this year due to rail maintanence. Start/finish is popular as are the two hills (Taylor St. and I think, Hayes St.?) for viewing.

Hope to see you there!

-g
re: SF Grandprix this Sunday!!Warren128
Sep 10, 2002 8:55 AM
Hi, I was there last year. It was great fun! We parked away from the start/finish line, but near the metro line on Market street. On Sunday mornings, it's easy to find parking on the street near the Civic Center. If you do park there, go take the metro or any Market street bus to the end of the line at the Embarcadero near the Ferry Building (that's where the start is).

Many people chose to stay in the general area of the start/finish because there is also a big screen broadcasting live video of the race so you can follow the race at the other areas of the course. We decided to walk the course to see the race from various points including both the Fillmore and Taylor street hills. We did a lot of walking that day.

I'll be there again this year, and I'm pretty sure my wife and I will be walking the course again.

To see my pictures from last year, follow this URL:

http://www.fototime.com/inv/4B10D23092656A2

I haven't decided whether to take as many pictures again this year, or cut back, and simply watch and enjoy the race.

Warren
I'm biking inStarliner
Sep 10, 2002 9:56 AM
A group of local roadies including me are gathering in Napa at 630h and biking 12 miles to Vallejo where we'll catch the 8 o'clock ferry to SF which will drop us off at the starting line.

We did this last year at the inaugural (sp?) race. Our bikes gave us the freedom to move around at will, and we were able to see the race from several key vantage points.

That's IMO the best way to spectate - with a bike. Later, a ferry ride back to Vallejo at 4, and then a strong afternoon tailwind back home. In time to fire up the barbeque.
2nd that biking inchar
Sep 10, 2002 6:52 PM
Why walk those hills when you can ride down them?

Last year watched the race at various locations, a lot easier to get there on bike vs walking. Only caveat is the police did not allow any riding on the course once the race started, was emphatically told to ride on the sidewalk. From the racer's perspective this is good, don't have to worry about the loose cruisers out on the course. It didn't matter if the riders just passed and it would take another 20 minutes or so to pass by again.

Both the Fillmore and Taylor climbs were packed early on but still viewable. Bring some low gears and test yourself on the hills. Saw a lot of folks worn out after walking around the course.

Charlie
I'll be there (nm)TPC
Sep 10, 2002 8:01 PM
re: SF Grandprix this Sunday!!rockit
Sep 11, 2002 3:37 AM
I'm going to the race this Sunday with a group of fellow riders from our club. We will be taking BART from Fremont and getting off at the Embarcadero station.