RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is it wrong to ride tomorrow on 9/11 ??(22 posts)

Is it wrong to ride tomorrow on 9/11 ??PaulCL
Sep 10, 2002 6:50 AM
Why do I ask??

I usually get up real early on Wednesdays to ride before work. Since I am in the investment business and the stock market is delaying its' opening until 11am, I thought that I would add 15 or 20 miles to my normal Wed. ride.

My office isn't having any memorials. As far as I know, the downtown business community isn't doing anything either to commemorate the day. Most people will be watching the memorials from NYC, PA, and the Pentagon on the TV. I plan to do the same once I reach the office. I know the NYSE is planning a moment of silence late morning.

So my question...Is it wrong to ride tomorrow? Is it wrong to add a few miles??? I was asked what I was going to "do" on 9/11 by some of my officemates and I told them. The general reaction was that I was not honoring the day properly. Am I wrong?? Seriously, I will not ride if I am really being insensitive.
I will be riding. (nm)onespeed
Sep 10, 2002 6:55 AM
you're kidding, right?mr_spin
Sep 10, 2002 6:58 AM
I think the best thing you can do tomorrow is do whatever you would normally do. Whatever you did last Wednesday and the Wednesday before that. Try to achieve normalcy. To me, that is the most powerful statement you can make. Let everyone else do their thing. If anyone tells you you are being insensitive, tell them to stuff it.
9/11: Get over it and live.Spunout
Sep 10, 2002 6:59 AM
Completely agreepmf1
Sep 10, 2002 7:28 AM
If you change your life, or skip doing something you'd otherwise do, or cower in your basement, then its letting those cowardly a-holes that did this win.

If your office opened late on any other day, what would you do? OK then, do it.
Riding is the best thing to do.bnlkid
Sep 10, 2002 7:00 AM
I can still rememmber the route, the ride and how beautiful the trees looked when I rode last year after hearing the news. I didn't want to watch it anymore, so I hopped on my bike and rode and rode and rode. It's weird how we can remember those things. As far as being insensitive, I don't think so. Why would it be wrong to ride? Your office mates are the insensitive ones. In am emotional event such as 9/11 it up to each individual to cope in their own way. Telling someone that they are not honoring the day is just plain wrong. It's none of their business what you do. Go out and ride and enjoy it. It will probably be one of the few days were no one is trying to run you off the road.
Thank YouPaulCL
Sep 10, 2002 7:06 AM
I, too, rode a year ago. I had to get away from the tube. It was great to clear my mind. In fact, I rode the 11th,12th, 13th & 14th. My office was closed. What else was there to do...stare at the tube? Riding was and still is, my escape.

I will ride. I just couldn't understand how anyone would find my riding insensitive. Thanks.
I will commute in to Wash. D.C. tomorrow....Gregory Taylor
Sep 10, 2002 7:27 AM
...just like I do most days, and just like I did September 11. I will honor the day by going about my normal business, and that includes riding my bike. That is the best (in my opinion) way to mark the occasion - don't let terrorism keep you from doing what you love.
it's probably wrong *not* to ride tomorrow. nmJS Haiku Shop
Sep 10, 2002 7:30 AM
Tell them...KEN2
Sep 10, 2002 7:31 AM
that it's wrong to drive their frickin' gas hog SUVs to work tomorrow, that oil money supports governments who support terrorism. (Just hope you don't drive an SUV!)
Nope...I drive a HummerPaulCL
Sep 10, 2002 9:29 AM
Just kidding.

Used to drive a Jeep Grand Cherokee. Traded it in after eight years for a Nissan Maxima.

See you all on the road!

Paul
Life must go on...Qubeley
Sep 10, 2002 8:18 AM
At 8:45, a minute of silence, flags lowered to half-staff in thePaul
Sep 10, 2002 8:53 AM
Federal Govt. After that, go ride your bike. I'm sure the same question was asked one year after Pearl Harbor. Let's lead our lives in the full pursuit of happiness and freedom as given to us by our forefathers.
What will the office mates do? Sleep? Starbucks?Tig
Sep 10, 2002 8:57 AM
I agree with everyone on doing what you would normally do with the time, regardless of the date and the meaning behind it. Riding is not selfish. I'm sure you will think of those who lost their lives in the highest light since your mind will be free during the ride. We all must deal with the events in out own way.

I'll ride also, and also think about all of you here that will be riding (on unable to ride) as well. Remember how united everyone in the US was afterward. Remember how that good feeling and kindness all sadly faded somewhat and the little flags flew off cars to be deposited along the roads? Maybe we can bring some of that unity back...
Although I think it's nice to do something to mark the day,djg
Sep 10, 2002 9:05 AM
I don't see it as insensitive that you're not spending every second of the day engaged in some sort of formal mourning ritual. Certainly, you can be contemplative while riding, if that's what you choose. Or you can do something else. Or whatever. And if you're going anywhere at all, it's hard to see riding a bike as less sensitive or patriotic than some other mode of transportation.

This one guy's opinion: riding your bike through the middle of a candle-light remembrance ceremony is insensitive (or worse). Riding your bike somewhere else, on the same day that people are holding such ceremonies, is not insensitive. Add or subtract miles as you see fit.

I'll be riding in tomorrow, and my usual commuting route takes me right past the Pentagon. I'd be truly surprised to hear that people in the Pentagon would find that offensive.
I went for a MTB ride last year when I found outColnagoFE
Sep 10, 2002 9:09 AM
we were evacuated from our building and i couldn't think of a better way to remember the tragedy than with a ride. better than sitting in front of the TV watching that damn plane crash into the towers over and over.
I'm Riding!jromack
Sep 10, 2002 9:19 AM
and wearing this...call me a patriotic fred
I'm Riding!clintb
Sep 10, 2002 7:35 PM
Where'd that jersey come from? Boy does that thing look good. I want it!
If I could I would, but I have to go up that wayJL
Sep 10, 2002 9:21 AM
again. I was in Hoboken, NJ watching from across the river last year at my client's office and I'll be there again this year working. Since it's a 2 1/2 hour commute its a bad day for me to get a ride in. But if I was home, I WOULD be riding.

Go ride. Make it longer if you want to and use the time to think about it or something else, but like others have said -- Just ride.

Happy riding.

John
re: Is it wrong to ride tomorrow on 9/11 ??PEDDLEFOOT
Sep 10, 2002 9:41 AM
No!Riding is one of the freedoms we enjoy.Ride tomorrow more than ever!!
re: Is it wrong to ride tomorrow on 9/11 ??MasterBlaster
Sep 10, 2002 10:04 AM
I plan to ride and while riding will appreciate the fact that I can ride.
Ride on 9/11 because over 2,800 people that were here....roadmeister
Sep 10, 2002 5:36 PM
.....on 9/10 cannot. Ride with pride in their memory. Ride
with grateful appreciation for the uniformed heroes of that
fateful day. Ride with anger for our adversaries. But, yes,
ride.