RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Mavic Kysirium SL: How do they ride?(8 posts)

Mavic Kysirium SL: How do they ride?Itself
Sep 9, 2002 3:51 PM
I am 135 lbs and want to upgrade from my open pros with Ultegra hubs to either the Kysirim SLs, Bontrager Racelites, or whatever. I don't want to stiff a wheelset to mess up my nice ti ride.
wheels are not forgivingDougSloan
Sep 9, 2002 4:13 PM
It's a myth that wheels can be forgiving. Spokes and rims deform very minutely compared to tires, saddles, and the frame itself. I have read several articles corroborating this; I'll see what I can dig up.

The Ksyriums are fine wheels and a substantial improvement over what you have.

Doug
wheels are not forgivinggtx
Sep 9, 2002 7:59 PM
Yup. Here's something from ADA's site

http://www.ada.prorider.org/faq.html#Do%20the%20durabiliy%20and%20stiffness%20o
Sheldon Brown and Jobst Brandt, tooDougSloan
Sep 10, 2002 6:12 AM
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/gloss_r.html#radial

Doug
Wheelset affecting your ridePODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Sep 9, 2002 5:37 PM
In contrast a good wheelset like the Kysiriums (can't spell today) can make your ride better. They are stiff wheels but thats good because no energy is not sent to the ground. And like Doug said the difference between wheels are minute in the up and down plane. Where most wheels begin to get flexy is side to side when cornering and this is where Ksyriums excel. I definitely recommend them.

Cheers,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Wheelset affecting your ridebobobo
Sep 9, 2002 9:10 PM
I'd forget about the Ksyriums and go with something like Speed Dream R30's. These wheels are built with a 30 mm profile Velocity Deep V rim, Sapim X-Ray spokes (which are thinner and more aerodynamic than the Ksyriums spokes) with American Classic hubs which are a superior mechanically designed hub compared with anything Mavic, Shimano or Campy offers. These wheels are laced 16-radial on the front and 24 triplet on the rear. Dave Thomas, the guy who owns and builds all the SpeedDream wheels by hand has an impeccable reputation for not only providing a great product, but also providing outstanding customer service. his R30's weigh in at 1520 grams which is comparable to the Ksyriums and unlike Mavic where if you have a problem with the K's you'll probably have to send the wheel to them and wait forever, Dave's rep for providing follow up service is beyond question. The R30's are faster than the ksyriums in my opinion thanks to the spokes and the lacing Dave does, they are just as strong if not stronger wheels. If you break a spoke replacing the Sapims is a snap, and I also think their wheels ride a bit more comfortably than the Ksyriums. R30's cost $500 even which also compares very favorably with any deal you could get on Ksyriums. Simply a better wheel at a better price IMO.
Anyone know what is changing for 2003 . . .jefajones
Sep 10, 2002 4:46 AM
I "heard" they were going to lighten the SL up a little bit, I don't know about the elite, and maybe offer different color options.
Stiff.Sintesi
Sep 10, 2002 6:17 AM
My back is a lot more sore since I switched from Ritchey Aero-Pros to the Ksyriums. It's the truth. The wheels do roll faster down hill tho and seem to feel better during the climbs. I say it's a trade-off: loose a little comfort, gain a little performance.

One thing: Don't pay retail for these wheels. That's just crazy.