RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is this a good deal??(31 posts)

Is this a good deal??Kunfoochi
Sep 9, 2002 3:05 PM
I posted this in my previous thread but realized that is was pushed way down to the bottom of the page.

Ok, here's where I am...my dad went to Brand's bike shop, and I also went to our local bike shop with him. I think what they're offering me is a great deal, but let me know. It's a 1999 Trek 2500. Specs are:
Trek Alpha SL double butted aluminum
Trek Alpha SL Aluminum chainstays
ICON OCVL Carbon Airail Fork
Rolf Vector Pro Rims/Hubs 14 hole front 16 rear
Continental Grand Prix 3000 folding 700 x 25c tires
Fzik Pave Titanium/Leather saddle
ICON Oz 2014 aluminum seatpost
ICON stash ergo 7075 Aluminum handlebars
ICON Bordeaux Quill stem
Tange Seiki Vantage DL Headset
Dura Ace STI Shifters
DA Front Derailleur
DA rear Derailleur
Dura Ace Crankset
Dura Ace Cassette
Dura Ace Brakes
ICON De La Sole Clipless pedals

He gave me a price of $1800 on this bike. He also told me he could try to work out a price on a Trek carbon frame and build up Ultegra components on it, but I'm guessing that would be more. What I'm asking is, is this a good value? I got other prices on bikes but I'd say this was the best deal. The only thing I don't like is that it doesn't have a carbon frame. Does this make a big difference?

Thanks
Quill stem ??alansutton
Sep 9, 2002 3:18 PM
In my opinion...thatsmybush
Sep 9, 2002 3:32 PM
not sure if this is a hot deal. Might be able to find newer for the same amount.
In my opinion...Kunfoochi
Sep 9, 2002 4:05 PM
But I can't find a Dura Ace bike for under $3000 at all.....at $1800, I can't even get a new Ultegra. Am I wrong? About how much would this setup weigh? BTW the Quill stem is better for me because I'm still growing and it allows more adjustion.
http://www.bikesdirect.com/ (nm)Eager Beagle
Sep 10, 2002 3:01 AM
In my opinion...filtersweep
Sep 10, 2002 4:07 AM
BTW- my guess is that is pre-FlightDeck DA?

My LBS is blowing out 2001 (new "old" stock) 5200s for $1999 a month or two ago- and that isn't even that great of a deal- lots of deals have been reported by others for the 2002s at the same price.

Is that bike you mention new or used?

The PROBLEM is your statement: "The only thing I don't like is that it doesn't have a carbon frame. Does this make a big difference? "

The frame isn't some detail that you can simply ignore... and yes, it makes a big difference. If you truly have this attitude, you will be forever disappointed in your purchase-
In my opinion...Kunfoochi
Sep 10, 2002 10:23 AM
Yes, it's new...I'm starting to see everybody's point..
just buy the bikewink
Sep 9, 2002 4:21 PM
it sounds like you want the bike, just buy the darn thing and ride 2,000 miles and then tell us what you think!
re: It's a 1999..........Rusty Coggs
Sep 9, 2002 4:27 PM
2003s are out! Check the so called adjustability of that stem.It may have an 1" or less of usable quill.Al vs CF makes a big difference.
So-Sojtolleson
Sep 9, 2002 5:16 PM
Well, you can find DA under $2000 by some off-brand manufacturers (notably Motobecane) and you can get Ultegra (for example, the Lemond BA) in the $1500 range with a far nicer riding (in my opinion) frame.

The $1800 price is respectable but not fabulous. I picked up a never ridden 1999 2500 with Ultegra on it for $900 one year ago on the classifieds of this site. The 2500 is a pretty stiff frame, nice looking, aluminum slightly aero tubeset. A steal (I thought) at under $1000, it would not be my choice if I were dropping the kind of coin you are talking about.
So-SoKunfoochi
Sep 9, 2002 6:04 PM
Ok, so what are you suggesting? Looking at the Motobecane website, they're best bike for $50 less than the one I'm looking at doesn't seem any better, and I'm pretty sure the wheels I'm getting are excellent wheels?

Thanks
Agree with JTdsc
Sep 9, 2002 9:53 PM
Last year I picked up a gently-used '99 Zurich (steel is real, baby!) that the former owner had also upgraded to full DA, same wheelset (Vector Pros), and a bunch of sweet, non-Icon parts - like an Ouzo Pro fork, Ti American Classic seatpost, Cane Creek headset, etc. This for more than $600.00 less than you're looking at for that Trek.

For $1800.00, I think you can probably do a lot better.
My 0.02.
Agree with JTbobobo
Sep 10, 2002 4:17 AM
$1800 for an almost 4 year old aluminum frame with pre STI Dura Ace? Certainly pre to the current generation D/A?? Sorry, but that's no deal at all. I have seen 2001 2500's sell for less than that with better, more modern components. At the price range you are looking at you could buy a BRAND NEW Lemond Zurich. Sure, it isn't D/A but Ultegra is great stuff and the Lemond frame will ride way smoother than that Trek Aluminum. At your pricepoint of $1800 there are much better frame options you could look at IMO, especially considering the fact the bike they are pushing on you is a model from 3 YEARS ago!! That bike shop sure isn't doing you any great deal at $1800 in my view.
re: Is this a good deal??gtx
Sep 9, 2002 8:06 PM
How old are you and how much do you ride? Why the emphasis on DA? Since you don't seem to know exacly what you want yet, I'd consider speding less.

Check out this guy

http://www.gvhbikes.com
re: Is this a good deal??rbb
Sep 10, 2002 2:50 AM
That, to me, sounds like alot of money for a '99 with Icon parts. I think you can do alot better by getting something used on the classifieds section. Alot of people may disagree, but I've actually gotten three bikes that were either on the classifieds on on ebay and they were all a steal, most recently a '99 Corima Puma with Campagnolo Reocord 10spd, Nucleon wheels, Speedplay pedals, Easton bars, Zepp stem for $1650 shipped- the bike is in amazing shape with under 400miles on it!! Keep your eyes open!! Also recently I got a used Landshark Track frame/fork with a Campy headset,bottom bracket, seatpost, and a salsa stem for $650 shipped! This was a masters world champion's frame that he won 3 world titles on!! Frame/fork looks brand new!! Again, keep your eyes open and learn what you want!!
Good luck.

-Bob
re: Is this a good deal??Kunfoochi
Sep 10, 2002 2:52 AM
I'm 15 and I ride almost ever day. Thanks for the link. Guys, I appreciate all of your help and opinions, but what I'm telling you is that I can't find a better deal, so if you could help me out with that it would be great.

Thanks
re: Is this a good deal??Kunfoochi
Sep 10, 2002 3:09 AM
What I'm saying is that I really don't understand....you're all showing me links of bikes with the same components and worse wheels(?) for $50 less, or the same price with only an Ultegra set.
Look here is the dealthatsmybush
Sep 10, 2002 5:06 AM
Talk to Gary @ gvhbikes and he will let you mix and match any parts. I just built up a CAAD 5 with ultegra and dura-ace mix (shifters cranks etc are dura, bb brakes etc ultegra) Upgraded the bar and stem from his package (forgie and deda 215s) and had it shipped across the country literally (from Oregon to N. Carolina) for 1615.00 out the door. The wheels are open pro-they are good wheels Rolf is barely in business anymore. This is a deal as far as i am concerned. He will let you swap and he is amazing at ordering the things he does not have quickly. Highest marks.
and I upgraded the seat to flite ti as well nmthatsmybush
Sep 10, 2002 5:07 AM
Candidly, I feel like you aren't listeningjtolleson
Sep 10, 2002 6:06 AM
or you are starry-eyed by the "DA" word. A bike is an aggregate of things, frame quality, fork, wheelset, even stem and bars, on top of drive train gruppo. You say you can't do any "better" but what people are saying is that maybe an Ultegra-equipped Lemond (for example) at $1500 (or even much less on the used market) is in fact a "better" deal.

The other things folks are saying is that the DA equipped 1999 Trek 2500 is not a particularly good deal.

I just sold a full Ultegra 1999 Litespeed with less than 5,000 miles on it for $900. The used bike market is notoriously soft, and you can get more bang for your buck, especially since you seem willing to look at older model bikes.
re: Is this a good deal??gtx
Sep 10, 2002 5:00 PM
I bought my first good bike at 15, too. I was riding every day, too. But I didn't really know much, I was growing, and then next year I wanted something different and better (I was racing and working in shops, too). I bought a new bike just about every year until I was 21. Thirteen years later the bike I bought at age 21 is still my main ride. My point is, it might take you a while to figure out what you want, and of course there's the chance you'll discover you don't really like riding, or that you like mtbs more, etc. Why not buy something new in the $1000 range, or something used for less? DA is nice and all, but the frame makes the bike. Of course you may not realize this now...
re: Is this a good deal??Kunfoochi
Sep 10, 2002 5:37 PM
I see what you mean....how's this for a deal?

http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=25750&query=retrieval

I offered him $1500 which I think is a fair price, what do you think about it?

Thanks
I'd say it's not a good idea to buy any Carbon or AL frame unless you have a warranty. For used I'd stick with steel or ti. If you are looking for a big bike, how about something like this http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=25617&query=retrieval Just make sure you know what will fit.gtx
Sep 10, 2002 7:24 PM
approved
trying again...gtx
Sep 10, 2002 7:25 PM
I'd say it's not a good idea to buy any Carbon or AL frame unless you have a warranty. For used I'd stick with steel or ti.

If you are looking for a big bike, how about something like this

http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=25617&query=retrieval

Just make sure you know what will fit.
trying again...Kunfoochi
Sep 11, 2002 3:34 PM
Thanks, but I think I'm leaning towards something a little more high end.
Offer him $1300 but don't pay more than $1500.klay
Sep 10, 2002 8:03 AM
Seriously, after reading the posts above, I think $1,300 to $1500 is a decent price for this bike. It's been on this guys shop floor since 1999(!). He most likely would like to be rid of it. I just picked up a NOS 2000 Fondriest Status with Chris King headset, Time fork and seatpost painted to match the frame for $1300. Way less than a new one would cost. They just wanted to move it.

Few other random bits of advice (probably echoing what was said already):

If you know what you want (and what fits you) then GVH bikes is a good place to go. If not, you may want to stick with a local shop that can't help with things like fit and service.

If this is going to be ridden everyday, or if you are a big fella, you may want to go with a more proven wheel like a 32 spoke Open Pro. Put the Rolfs on your Christmas list :-) I have Campy Neutrons on mine.

If you are still growing, you can swap out stems to fit the bike as you grow. Once you go through a stem or two, you probably will need a bigger frame. So, I wouldn't reply on the quill stem to get you to far.

Ultegra is an excellent component group. You will be happy with it. You can get a newer bike, with this years compnent group, for the same amount of money as that bike.

K
Offer him $1300 but don't pay more than $1500.Kunfoochi
Sep 10, 2002 10:27 AM
Ok, I can try that, I'm tall but I'm not heavy.....everyone, please do realize that I'm taking all of your advice very seriously, and I appreciate it very much. Sorry, maybe I'm just a little excited because this will be my first high performance bike:)....BTW, these are STI Shifters and he may have lied, but he said all of the DA components from '99 are the same except the Bottom Bracket. Is there any specific store that I could find this kind of bike for $1300-$1500 easily on the web?

Thanks
Offer him $1300 but don't pay more than $1500.klay
Sep 10, 2002 11:49 AM
If you're looking for ammo to back up the offer, check out the gvhbikes.com site. He doesn't have the exact bike but he does have quite a selection of nice bikes.

He can sell you a Cannondale CAAD5 (a nicer bike than the Trek IMO) with Ultegra for $1,350. For $1,800 or so you can get it with Dura Ace. Of course, it won't have those Rolf's. (<-- Weren't those the ones that US Postal had shatter under them a few times in the 99 TdF?) but it will have Open Pros.

Sorry no time to track down specific sites... I am at work ;-)

K
Feast your eyes on this...klay
Sep 10, 2002 11:53 AM
Just one more thing. The Cannondale CAAD5

http://www.gvhbikes.com/02%20C5's/4-30-02/48%2002%20C5.jpg

How can you say no? :-) It's just like Mario's old bike.

K
OK - one more (if 54 is your size)klay
Sep 10, 2002 2:57 PM
http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=25979&query=retrieval

Check out the extra steerer tube sticking up out of the stem. I'd call that adjustability.

Also, almost no-one else is going to have a stylin' ride like this one.

K
OK - one more (if 54 is your size)Kunfoochi
Sep 10, 2002 3:45 PM
Thanks for the idea, but I'm 6'2" so that would be a bit too small.