RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Finally the seasonal riders are gone!(26 posts)

Finally the seasonal riders are gone!LC
Sep 9, 2002 9:17 AM
First little bit of rain yesterday and the same streets I see hundreds of riders on a Sunday, I saw one. All the bike idiots pulling the kid in a wagon while holding on to poochie's leash in the middle of the road, all gone. No slow motion old lady weaving all over the road, pushing a 52x13 at 7 MPH. No Tri-guy without a shirt blowing thru the stop light on the aero bars looking straight down at the ground. No dude dressed in all black riding on the MTB without a helmet going up the wrong side of the street at dusk.

Amazing how a little rain and cold can keep all the people that should not even be allowed to ride bikes away. Back in your winter caves you bike idiots. The streets are finally safe again.
Yeah! Thank GOD! Now all us super cool REAL roadies canscottfree
Sep 9, 2002 9:37 AM
take our rightful place on the road without being pestered by these ... these ... AWFUL PEOPLE.
re: Finally the seasonal riders are gone!rbb
Sep 9, 2002 9:43 AM
So, you live in my area, huh?!!! :)
What you write is so true!! I especially liked the shirtless Tri-guy and black-clad mountain biker descriptions, way too often do I see these idiots!!!
I did see a guy last night as I was driving to my girlfriend's house as it was just getting dark(enough to need the headlights)- no shirt, no helmet- what an ass! It was like 75 degrees out!! I'd hate to see what he takes off when it hits 90degrees! Anyways, this same guy I've seen before- thinks he is like Sean Kelly incarnate or something, rides an old retro bike, new retro clothing, no helmet, and to top it off....According to local shops where he frequents the guy just started cycling!!! It'd be different if he actually rode years ago and is just a retro-grouch but he is a poseur!!! anyways, enough of my ramblings and opinions. Sorry for sabotaging the original post! True Riders UNITE!!!

-Bob
being shirtless classifies one as an idiot?Steve_0
Sep 9, 2002 9:53 AM
I can see the 'dark clothes as dusk' as being unwise; but shirtless? Cmon.

I run shirtless down to about 55 degrees. Guess i'm a running idiot.

BTW - wouldnt a 'true' rider be riding to his girlfriends, rather than driving and criticizing other riders?
Yes! You obviously don't understand. Bikes should ONLYscottfree
Sep 9, 2002 10:20 AM
be ridden by people like us, in proper ways by real roadies wearing proper clothes.

Man, that old lady cranking a big gear at 7 mph should be put in a damn nursing home where she belongs, not giving the rest of us a bad name.

What is WRONG with you?
being shirtless classifies one as an idiot?rbb
Sep 10, 2002 3:09 AM
Steve_O,
Looks like I hit a nerve with you!? Why would you ride shirtless to begin with?? Let alone at 55degrees?? What the heck would your back/chest look like after a nice fall?? With all the advances in clothing material I can't see why you would need to go shirtless, unless you are just that much of a stud!? In my OPINION, I feel as though jersey's are just as important as a helmet and in my OPINION if you don't wear a helmet- THEN YES, YOU ARE A RAGING IDIOT!!! Take care.
-Bob
BTW- I'm not going to get into a pissing contest with you on what time of day I train. Sorry. Take care.
being shirtless classifies one as an idiot?Steve_0
Sep 10, 2002 3:28 AM
I said I RUN shirtless. Never mentioned biking.

As far as a jersey providing protection after a fall. C'mon. You should be wearing long sleeves and tights if you really believed that.

You didnt hit my nerve, as I dont ride shirtless. Just cant undersand criticiziing someone who does.

BTW - triathletes often race shirtless. Dont you ever train under the conditions in which you race? I do.
being shirtless classifies one as an idiot?rbb
Sep 10, 2002 3:45 AM
BTW- This is going nowhere fast and it seems pretty pointless for us to bicker over our opposing views! Sorry if you took offense to what I wrote, I was merely trying to express MY opinions. Take care and have a good day.

-Bob
obviously.Steve_0
Sep 10, 2002 3:48 AM
to reiterate; I didnt take offense.

peace out
just want to point out something...fbg111
Sep 10, 2002 4:37 AM
Considering that most triathletes are swimmers as well as bikers, and the swim comes before the ride in a triathlon, why wouldn't they go shirtless? Especially if they're doing a practice tri. Most hardcore triathletes shave their entire body, so there's not much difference b/t wearing a cycling shirt and not wearing a shirt, aerodynamically at least. Also, the transition period b/t swimming/biking and biking/running is where triathletes try to save precious extra seconds. Putting a shirt on while getting onto the bike can cost a second or two. You may laugh, but that's an issue for hardcore triathletes. I know a guy who's got it down to science, he even specifically bought roadie shoes with a single velcro strap instead of two or three b/c they're a few milliseconds faster to put on after he gets out of the water. Whereas roadies have weight weenies, triathletes have transition weenies. Just wanted to point that out, in case you're unfamiliar with that aspect of triathletes. Also, I took your original comment to be a critique of peeps on aerobars crossing intersections without looking up, rather than one of peeps riding without shirts. In my brief experience, something about aerobar positioning causes more of an urge to put my head down than positioning in the drops, so I can totally understand that. fwiw.
A poseur retro grouch?mr_spin
Sep 9, 2002 10:43 AM
In cycling terms, that has to be the worst thing someone can call you.
Seasonal walkers are worseTypeOne
Sep 9, 2002 11:24 AM
True, the inexperienced may come out in the warmer weather. But I enjoy my commute much more when I can ride the MUT, through the city and through a nearby park without dealing with people out walking. What a menace, especially the tourists! I tell you, when I am walking someplace, I usually go in a straight line, and with a direction or purpose in mind. None of this weaving, stopping, turning, dashing to the left...wtf, are you playing hopscotch?!?
Glad they're still riding here ...Humma Hah
Sep 9, 2002 10:21 AM
... It makes me terribly sad when I'm the only guy on the road.

This year I noticed some of the kids were actually wearing helmets. Did my old heart good!

I rarely see anyone who should not be allowed to ride a bike. I do frequently see folks who should not be allowed to drive motor vehicles, and OUGHT to be REQUIRED to ride bikes until they learn the rules of the road.
I'm with you Humma ...Dave Hickey
Sep 9, 2002 10:35 AM
I like nothing better than to see a kid wearing a helmet. I'm seeing it more and more. I also like seeing a 250lbs+ man or woman out riding their Walmart bike. At least they are trying to get in shape instead of sitting on a couch.
re: Finally the seasonal riders are gone!aliensporebomb
Sep 9, 2002 10:22 AM
After I did my ride yesterday, the wife sends me on a
little errand in the car.

As I'm heading back to the house, I notice there are FOUR
BMX'er riders in the middle of the road in front of me.

They're fanned totally across the roadway and traffic going
my way as well as traffic that's oncoming can't pass them.

They hear me coming and fan out to the left side of the
roadway.

Which means they are riding INTO oncoming traffic in a
four abreast configuration - two riders per lane.

Young kids, probably 13,14 maybe tops. No lights, it's
almost dusk, no helmets, nothing.

If a car was heading their way, it would have been BMX'er
souffle.

Sigh.
I saw in-traffic behavior just as bad on thescottfree
Sep 9, 2002 10:31 AM
Old Kentucky Home Tour this weekend, by six proper roadies on Litespeeds and Kleins. I suppose they're glad the seasonal riders are finally gone too.
I saw some proper roadiesSteve_0
Sep 9, 2002 10:37 AM
clogging an entire single-lane (farm) road; with traffic waiting behind them as they blazed away at about 14 mph.

I know they were serious cyclist because they were wearing those tight pants and shirts with pockets in the back.
What, exactly, were they doing?nmUncle Tim
Sep 9, 2002 12:29 PM
WRONG! We're still out there... Slow, but very stubborn :) [nm]tz
Sep 9, 2002 11:06 AM
Anyone who rides is ok by me.MXL02
Sep 9, 2002 11:19 AM
and stupidity and rudeness know no season.
Anyone who rides is ok by me.The Human G-Nome
Sep 9, 2002 2:33 PM
amen brother. the best post of the thread. hopefully, eventually, we can get everyone in the world to dress exactly like us, speak exactly like us and exactly like us. what an exciting world we have to look forward too.
Excellent! NOW can I wear my full Mapei Kit? NMSpunout
Sep 9, 2002 12:34 PM
Sounds like you need to get off the bike paths, killersidley
Sep 9, 2002 12:37 PM
re: Finally the seasonal riders are gone!pink
Sep 9, 2002 12:39 PM
Its this kind of attitude that keeps the sport from growing. Instead of presenting a united front to get more bike lanes incorperated into street design and the such, we are caught up in putting down cyclist that don't belong to our group. We're all a bunch of Star-Bellied Sneetches
an obvious troll--and you guys took the bait (nm)WhoWasThat
Sep 9, 2002 2:48 PM
Yeah, and...Leisure
Sep 9, 2002 8:21 PM
everyone that can't go as fast as me is a total poser and should give up riding. Man, I wish everyone had this attitude! Then everyone that wasn't as fast as someone else would have to stop leaving only us elite roadies. Then Lance would be the only rider left the way he was meant to be and what a wonderful world that would be!! Mwahahahahaha!!!