RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Pros and Cons of Sidi models of shoes(24 posts)

Pros and Cons of Sidi models of shoesLone Gunman
Sep 8, 2002 12:54 PM
I need new shoes. They will be Sidi Energy or Genius4. Saw a pop up on the RBR that Supergo has the Energy for $179. Does anyone know how durable the plastic string/strapping is that connects with the micro adjust buckle on the Energy? Is this model more adjustable than say the Genius4 is with the velcro strap? Do the Sidis come with the adaptor for Look pedals free like they do from Supergo or is that an add on to the shoes that bumps the price up? My LBS has the 4's for $175, and I bet he sells the adaptor for $14 bringing the price to $189, MSRP. I use Look pedals so the adaptor is a must.
Pros of Genius 4Spunout
Sep 8, 2002 1:16 PM
http://www.stores.ebay.com/bitz4bikes/plistings/list/all/dept6/page2.html

The parts can be replaced on the Energy, but it just looks like they were designed to break. I bought Genius 4 from the shop above. $10 Shipping, and that included Look adapter plates. These are $250 Cdn in Canada!

Only thing I did was change the insoles to Superfeet blue.
re: Pros and Cons of Sidi models of shoesIan
Sep 8, 2002 1:29 PM
The Energy does allow you to fine tune the fit a little bit more than the Genius. I have had them for over a year, no problems. Look adapters are included from the factory with every box of Sidi shoes, there should be no extra charge.

Ian
One common <i>minor</i> problem with all Sidi'sTig
Sep 8, 2002 2:01 PM
This is a nit pick, but one that can cost you about $12 per shoe if you find out the hard way. The the screw that holds the red rubber heel tabs get really loose by itself and can fall out without warning. The replacement piece retails for $12, which is a complete rip-off. Remove the screw and put a drop of blue ThreadLock on it and you won't have to check it for loosening for at least a year.
Problems with SidisGMS
Sep 8, 2002 3:28 PM
Sidis are very popular shoes and considered by many to be the best shoes on the market.

Yet, every model falls apart on its own. Their top model (Energy) seems to throw its million parts onto the road for no apparent reason. Everyone reports needing to use Loctite on everything, unless it makes the part dissolve... and everyone reports needing to constantly replace and stock extra straps/buckles/screws/etc. for every model.

My question is, then, what the hell are the other shoe companies doing wrong? How can Sidis still be considered among the best with so many problems?
Problems with SidisIan
Sep 8, 2002 3:34 PM
Sidi is considered the best because they fit, period. When people try on Sidi's vs. another shoe, they usually end up buying the Sidi's. Italians know how to make shoes.

Have there been complaints of failure, sure, but I still think they are the best manufactured shoe on the market. Look at it this way, what are the top two stolen cars every year? The Toyota Camry and Honda Accord. Not because these cars are worth $100,000, but because there are so many of them out there. Same with the Sidi, there are a ton of people riding them, so you will hear about problems.
Veltec Sports replaced mine for free.(nm)James
Sep 8, 2002 7:31 PM
yup...had this happen after about the 3rd ride on my Sidis (nm)ColnagoFE
Sep 9, 2002 6:55 AM
another minor minus (for some)weiwentg
Sep 8, 2002 3:12 PM
Sidis fit narrow. Asians tend to have wide feet ... and I don't seem to be much different. I wish mine were a tad wider.
another minor minus (for some)Ian
Sep 8, 2002 3:36 PM
The standard Sidi shoe is based on a "D" width. That is the median width of an adult foot. If you need something wider, try the Mega. They are based on an "EE" width.

Ian
another minor minus (for some)Spunout
Sep 8, 2002 3:53 PM
Everyone keeps saying that Sidis fit narrow, but just swallow your pride and get a pair big enough! I ride a 46 (11.5) and find it plenty wide. My dress shoes are 11.5E. It is so nice to cycle without cramped toes! I think if you can't wiggle your toes, they are too tight. The Genius keeps everything in place, quite snug also.
another minor minus (for some)redtwin
Sep 8, 2002 3:55 PM
Did you get the standard width or MEGA?
another minor minus (for some)Spunout
Sep 8, 2002 4:03 PM
Standard Width. No problems. The velcro straps seem to be at their limit, but there is alot of shoe there. Maybe for someone over an 'E' width should consider the mega.

But, IMHO, they must be long (with an extra 1/4") enough in the first place. After 4 hours of spinning, your feet are a different shape than when you started!
narrower?filtersweep
Sep 8, 2002 4:19 PM
I don't know if I agree with this. People keep repeating this over and over again around here until it has become something of a "truth"... these are cycling shoes- not your casual shoes for wearing around town- they are meant to fit differently.

They should be relatively tight laterally. I have wider feet and high arches and mine fit fine (in the summer... thicker winter socks and they are too tight, so I wear boots over the shoes).

I think their size chart is simply off in a general sense- I wear a full euro size larger in Sidis than in most other brands of shoes.
narrower?redtwin
Sep 8, 2002 4:40 PM
Thanks alot, that pretty much settles it. I have never owned a pair of cycling shoes so I don't know what to look for or expect. My foot size is a 14D, which was measured at a specialty shoe store. I have a pair of Sidi motorcycle boots in size 49, that just fit in length, but are quite snug in width.

Of course the requirements for motorcycle boots and cycling shoes are vastly different so I was just trying to figure out if I should go with a bigger size for the cycling shoe. What I didn't think about was that the shoes can be adjusted for width with the velcro straps while the boots can't be, so I shouldn't really gauge the width of the boots and compare them to the shoes. From what I have gathered, a 50 in standard width should be just about right for my 14D foot.
all right, let me rephrase that...weiwentg
Sep 9, 2002 3:17 AM
I personally find them a tad too narrow.
Recently purchased G4'sj-son
Sep 8, 2002 5:25 PM
I replaced my old Carnacs with a pair of G4's a few weeks ago. I much prefer the Sidi fit. The Carnacs were also much heavier and hotter. The Sidis also seem stiffer.

THe only problem I've had was minor. The buckle strap is attached to the shoe via a serrated strap that slides into a slot over the instep area of the shoe. I found that when I had the strap positioned tight enough for my feet, the exposed portion of the strap rubbed on my crank arm. THis problem was exacerbated by my heel in pedalling motion. The solution was simple: I trimmed the excess strap off and made sure the strap did not extend beyond the bottom of the slot. Problem solved and the shoe looks a little cleaner.

I went with the G4 because the Energy seemed a little gimmickry with the sole stiffening function. Maybe it works; maybe it doesn't. I don't see a need for such a feature.
Why not go for the Titan?Qubeley
Sep 8, 2002 5:30 PM
Just triple velcro, otherwise same as the G4s. Worry free, and easier to adjust on bike as well. Love mine.
Thanks for insight..Lone Gunman
Sep 8, 2002 6:27 PM
I knew about the self ejecting screws all over the shoe, I tried the Nike and then the Sidi, hands down fit with the Sidi. The ebay guy does not have my size, the very popular 44.5 D medium width. Looked at the Sidi Shadow? model, didn't like the style, liked the buckle fit of the Genius4 and Energy, was just unsure if the clear string strapping was something that would fail before velcro would wear out. Also thinking that shoe covers would work better on the Energy, no velcro to catch the covers.
I have Sidi Shadows. Got them on closeout for $100. Theybill
Sep 9, 2002 6:34 AM
are the predecessor to the Energy's, and retailed for about $230, as I recall. I bought them on reputation and price, and I haven't been disappointed. They are butt ugly, but they are comfortable.
The little lever adjustor micro-lock thingies for the strap nearest the angle are very, very trick. I have thought about trying a different shoe (just to be ecumenical), but I love those things (and I have adjusted tightness on the fly). I understand that the micro-locks on the other straps on the current Energy's may be more trouble than they are worth, which I can believe.
I can't imagine that the sole-stiffener on the Energy is anything but a gimmick. Just my opinion.
I wear a 10 D in about everything. My Sidi's are a 44.5 (nominally almost a 10.5). I use green Superfeet inserts, and they're extremely comfortable (certainly not small or narrow; of course, I went up about a 1/4 size).
GeniusEager Beagle
Sep 9, 2002 6:50 AM
I got a pair of 3's last week on closeout at totalcycling.

Tried them on first time on my double c yesterday (not THAT much of a risk as I had some older Sidi's anyway, so I was fairly confident about the size).

They were comfortable from the moment I put them on. The 2 velcro strips seems to me to be all you need - you still get a micro buckle at the top - plently of quick, simple adjustment.

The only diffrence between the 3&4 Genius' is that the 4 has some kind of extra strap padding over the arch - what's that's for I have no idea - I don't fell I need it.

I rate then, and a great buy on closeout.
re: Pros and Cons of Sidi models of shoesKurtVF
Sep 9, 2002 9:57 AM
LOOK cleats screw right on to Energy shoes. the micro adjust buckle works well and I would assume is durable as it appears to me made out of what looks like about 200 lb test monofilament line. You just crank them down as tight as you need them, culd easily be done while riding.
Bolting Look pattern cleats directly on the shoeGMS
Sep 9, 2002 12:26 PM
This is the second time I've heard of this, but it really makes me wonder why Sidi still supplies a Look adapter. Isn't it better to bolt it directly on the shoe? Does Sidi think it is still better to use the adapter?

Also, do the Genius soles also allow direct attachment of Look-style cleats?
Bolting Look pattern cleats directly on the shoeIan
Sep 9, 2002 6:28 PM
Technically, you can bolt the cleat directly to the shoe. But it does not function well. The area for the adapter is recessed. Without the adpater, the cleat does not sit flush against the shoe, the edges catch the shoe while the middle is supported by nothing. Not good for the life of the cleat, or proper engagement with the pedal.

Ian