RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


New saddle recommendations(18 posts)

New saddle recommendationsPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Sep 8, 2002 10:27 AM
I have a Coda saddle right now on my road bike. On the road its fine but it gets very uncomfy after anymore than a half hour on rollers. What suggestions do you people have for new saddles? I was thinking one with a cutout.

Thanks,
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Cutout?filtersweep
Sep 8, 2002 10:44 AM
Personally, I hate cutouts, gel, etc... the most uncomfortable saddle I've had was ironically called "Body Geometry" (Specialized) The "edges" of the cutout seems to dig into the rear more than if it were just a regular saddle.

Why would your saddle be more comfortable on the road than on rollers? Just curious... are you wearing padded shorts on the roller? Or are you sitting more upright, thereby placing more weight on the saddle than when you actually ride?

I swear by the Selle Italia SLR- it is an engineering marvel and it is only $65 @ Jenson USA- PLUS it shaves a half lb off your bike.
Still got your Body Geometry? (nm)Spoke Wrench
Sep 8, 2002 11:37 AM
Still have itfiltersweep
Sep 8, 2002 4:22 PM
It is on my mtn bike... I'm thinking of throwing a different saddle on it. Saddles on mtn bikes are a lose/lose situation since the upright riding position places more weight on the seat... I'm always miserable on that bike.
Funny, I've always felt the opposite.Spoke Wrench
Sep 9, 2002 5:28 AM
On my road bike I basically plant my butt on the seat and sit in basically the same position for however. Consequently, seat comfort is pretty important.

When I mountain bike I'm constantly sliding forward and back up, down, all over the place. I havn't noticed much difference in comfort with mountain bike seats which I attrubute to all of that movement. Actually, my mountain bike is the only one I ride that doesn't have a Body Geometry.

Riding a mountain bike on the street or a rail-trail conversion is a different story. I thought that a seat that I was comfortable mountain biking with was going to cut me in two in about 20 miles on the KATY trail.
re: New saddle recommendationsweisse52
Sep 8, 2002 10:51 AM
I have two saddles that are favorites, First and foremost is the Brooks Pro. Not the lightest but the most comfortable once broken in. If the upkeep on a leather saddle is too much then my next favorite is the Selle Italia Turbomatic. I am having the new version put on my "bad weather bike".
Neither has a cutout, but I think this is a highly overrated gimmick. I am a big rider, 6'4" and 240 lbs. Over time it seems like a harder saddle is more comfortable.

Just my opinion.
Flite gel Trans AmOffTheBack
Sep 8, 2002 11:29 AM
It's a bit heavy - 260g I think - but I find it very comfortable.
Flite gel Trans Am...I second thatpeter1
Sep 8, 2002 5:58 PM
Hate the regualr Flite, but the Trans Am with the cutouts is very comfortable, even after 60-70 miles. Saddles are a tough thing to buy; i get it right about 50% of the time. (that means I've got a bunch of "gently used" saddles at home gathering dust, including one regular Flite!)
A third voteRickC5
Sep 9, 2002 5:34 AM
Flite Trams-am Gel-flow works well for me. I bought it just two weeks ago to replace a Terry which I felt was too soft for the road bike. Once I got used to the extra stiffness (compared to the Terry), its really comfortable.

However, I also find that I can't take more than about 40 minutes on the rollers before I have to stop and rest my butt for a couple of minutes. I think its because I don't move around on the saddle when I'm on the rollers, and I KNOW I move around a bunch when I'm on the road (standing for hills, etc.)
re: New saddle recommendationsfbg111
Sep 8, 2002 12:05 PM
Strange that it gets uncomfortable on rollers and not on the road. I would think it would be the other way around. Anyway, check out http://www.mtbreview.com for a lot of saddle reviews. Despite its name, there's plenty of roadie equipment reviewed as well. Here's the saddle that ended my numbnuts: http://www.mtbreview.com/reviews/Saddle/product_22697.shtml
Flite Kevlar Ti, I swear by it too.Spunout
Sep 8, 2002 1:10 PM
But, is this discontinued? I don't even see it on the website. Maybe the Flite TT would be a bit easier.

I miss the colours, mine is yellow with blue Kevlar to match my 2001 Lemond Zurich.
Flite Kevlar Ti, I swear by it too.fbg111
Sep 8, 2002 3:03 PM
I don't know but I bought two just in case. The 2000 model is still on sale here: http://cycletechinc.com/saddle.htm. I bought mine there, although it's different than the one displayed. All black, with blue cloth back corners. A Google search turned up a few more dealers with them still in stock, at least two months ago when I bought it. Also, on that review thread I posted at mtbreviews, there's about 15 reviews, and some people mention the stores/websites where they bought it. It's not displayed on Selle's website though, so it may be discontinued.

It really is a nice saddle. I find it a testament to its design that it's hardest saddle I've tried (out of 3) but the most comfortable and non-numbing. I think the Selle Evolution 3 is the successor to this one. It has a very similar shape, titanium rails, and kevlar/carbon weave construction. That's probably what I'll try next.
Here's a nice pic:fbg111
Sep 8, 2002 3:09 PM
My fave.look271
Sep 8, 2002 4:18 PM
Selle Italia Pro-link. Not the lightest, but it's the most comfy saddle I've ever used. A little wider than most (I feel like I'm on it, rather than it being in me, if you know what I mean.....), but it cushions well and is holding up nicely.
Concorjjohnson05
Sep 8, 2002 4:51 PM
The Selle San Marco Concor is a somewhat different design that is very comfortable for long distances on the road. I have ridden Flites, Brooks Pro, Trans Am, Regal, and the Concor is by far the most comfortable. Its also cheap at $30-$45. It can be had in several configurations with Ti, Magnesium, or CroMo wires. In spite of the saddle that San Marco is pushing today, the Era, the Concor is the only saddle that Lance Armstrong rides. Look at the photos, you will see the uniquely shaped Concor under the great one's fanny (Lance, not me).
Koobibianchi boy
Sep 8, 2002 5:29 PM
Nick -- I bought a Koobi Enduro recently after having trouble finding a saddle that fit my frame with its steep seat tube angle. Since the Koobi has a 30-day return policy, I figured I had nothing to lose. I've only had the saddle less than a week, but I've already ridden more than 150 miles on it. It felt comfortable from the very first ride, and is one of the few saddles that I can center properly on my frame. All of the Koobi saddles have cutouts in the center, and speaking from experience I don't think this is a gimmick. I have not had any troubles with numbness with either the Koobi or the SI TransAm Max, which was a little too firm for me and the rails weren't long enough. Here's a link to the Koobi site -- www.koobi.com
I thought cutouts are for ventilation, not comfort? nmfbg111
Sep 9, 2002 1:46 PM
Nevermind, I see...fbg111
Sep 9, 2002 2:52 PM
Checked out Koobi's site. I see their cutouts are different than the ventilation holes I had in mind. They're more like troughs that your soft tissue rests in without being pressed against the saddle. Cool. I may try one of these next.