RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


I Hate to spoil all the fun, but......(23 posts)

I Hate to spoil all the fun, but......roadiebrodie
Sep 6, 2002 6:30 AM
I have heard enough with the Tammy Thomas deal. She was busted for doping and so was Ullrich, Pantani and many others. I happen to know Tammy personally and she is a very nice person that would go out of her way to help any one of you. So if you don't like the way she looks, too bad. I am pretty sure that you are not perfect either. Let's have some dignity here if that were your friend or relative or even you that saw this kind of cr@p on the board how would it make you feel?

Just my .02.
so... is she packing a trouser snake or a snail??? NmSpirito
Sep 6, 2002 6:42 AM
How long have you known her?Wayne
Sep 6, 2002 6:50 AM
And did she use to look like a woman before she took all those steroids?
Pantani gets bashed all the time for being a doper, to say T.T.'s a doper like Ullrich is a doper is to miss the point. Ullrich didn't cheat anyone, T.T. and Pantani (most likely)did!
Where are the arbiters of taste and decorum on this boardscottfree
Sep 6, 2002 6:50 AM
when a human being is referred to as a 'thing' in the subject line of a post?

Have to agree we've reached new nadirs of tastelessness with the Tammy bashing.
Here I is! What do you want me to do?Sintesi
Sep 6, 2002 7:19 AM
Line 'em up baby, and I'll knock 'em down. : ) Like Batman and Robin. You be Robin.
You making some kind of gender crack withscottfree
Sep 6, 2002 7:36 AM
that Robin reference?? :-)

Tell 'em to play nice, Batman.
I'm sorry I'm a little insecureSintesi
Sep 6, 2002 9:29 AM
I need the more masculine Batman to keep my head held high. Oh well, this will all be gone by monday. Happy spinning.
re: I Hate to spoil all the fun, but......gregario
Sep 6, 2002 6:55 AM
I wondered when someone would point out that a line has been crossed. I'm sure you're right, she is probably a nice person, but how do you feel about her cheating? Any why would ANYONE go to such lengths to win at whatever cost to their health, reputation and appearance?
It's all about one's feelings these days...94Nole
Sep 6, 2002 7:02 AM
who gives a d@mn about rules and what's right?

Although I have pretty strong feelings and beliefs and try not to air them too loudly but as far as this is concerned...she made the bed, let her lay in it.
What I choose to do to my body says something about meKristin
Sep 6, 2002 7:32 AM
The opinions others form about me and what they choose to say, says something about them.
What I choose to do to my body says something about meRode Warrior
Sep 6, 2002 9:50 AM
That is so very true! I don't think it could be said better, thanks!

Steve
I take that back. Cheaters aren't "nice" people(nm)gregario
Sep 6, 2002 7:11 AM
If she was hot I wouldn't care that she's doping.triple shot espresso
Sep 6, 2002 7:33 AM
And let's not blur the lines here, Ullrich was not doping to cheat. Tammy was cold ass busted for doping twice and therefore has disrespected her country who she represents, the sport and most of all herself, she has earned every bit of trashing she is receiveing here. Listen pal this is as close as we're going to get to taking her out and stoneing her like we should do to every doper. She is reaping what was sown.
Response:roadiebrodie
Sep 6, 2002 7:34 AM
I have known her for about 4 years now and yes she looked the same then. As for as the doping.. some of you are right on, I do not condone it and yes she messed up and now she has to pay, for that I don't feel sorry for her. The point that I was trying make was simply to stick to the issue, doping is not cool and should be punished, but the pictures and other comments were not warranted and could really damage sombody even further. Just think before post. What if you happen to be in the shoes that you were ridiculing?
She looked the same b4 the drugs??? GODDAM!!! (nm)taar44
Sep 6, 2002 9:50 AM
Agreed, give it a break guys. . .js5280
Sep 6, 2002 10:06 AM
I doubt you all are a bunch of Adonis' either and get pissed off when some women snubbed you for your looks such as lack of hair, your love handles, short stature, etc. Women are way sensitive about their looks. It's gotten to the point that even very attractive women are super critical of themselves because they don't look like magizine cover models. Personally I think this really sucks.

If you want more women to participate in this sport and this forum, this is not the way to go about doing it. How many of you think your wife/girlfriends/single women don't ride because they don't want to be subjected to ridicule on how they look in lycra? Think of how many us would be much happier if more women where passionate about same sport we love. Give it a break guys, you should have gotten over this stage back in the 6th grade if not earlier.
You do understand. . .Wayne
Sep 6, 2002 10:23 AM
that in all probability the reason she looks the way she does is because she was taking anabolic steroids, right?
Anybody who's been in a serious gym has seen these masculinizing affects on women firsthand. So, in some sense, making fun of her looks is making fun of her for being a doper and cheating her fellow athletes. She's not the kind of woman that anybody wants involved in the sport!
That's a rather weak excuse for this behavior and it. . .js5280
Sep 6, 2002 10:36 AM
isn't supported by the routine ridicule of women cyclists based solely on their looks. Being a bit of an oddball, so to speak, I'm more than familar with hormones and their effects.
Who's talking about...Wayne
Sep 6, 2002 10:48 AM
"the routine ridicule of women cyclists based solely on their looks", other than you? (Does this even occur on a routine basis, I don't recall seeing it here or in person?)
We're talking about one specific woman who now looks like a man because she took anabolic steroids and cheated her fellow competitors.
How's the view under that rock?js5280
Sep 6, 2002 11:19 AM
C'mon Wayne. It's been particularly bad here recently which is not to say an every day occurence, but it's enough to be annoying even to someone who isn't uptight about occasional snide comment. Case in point, rampant claims of female cyclist (e.g. Kerry Schmatz) being butch and/or dykes. You only have to go back a few weeks for that one. Here we are again and I'm sure the women on this board will chime in here unless they have just decided to stop hanging out with a bunch of juveniles.
Oh yeah,Wayne
Sep 6, 2002 1:13 PM
I forgot about that stuff. But I don't think anybody was saying they looked like dykes b/c they were cyclist. They just happen to be cyclist that looked like dykes (to some people). Why would that discourage them from taking up the sport of cycling?
"...even very attractive women are super critical of themselves"Kristin
Sep 6, 2002 10:52 AM
This has as much to do with the fact that it is culturally unacceptable for a woman to express outwardly that she is aware of her own beauty as it does airbrushed barbie dolls on magazine covers.
I don't agree. . .js5280
Sep 6, 2002 11:54 AM
I wouldn't say it's unacceptable for women to express outwardly that she is aware of her own beauty. I'm not a women though, so maybe I just don't see it. I mean over the top narcissism is ugly, but do you really feel like you can't be/feel beautiful for, say your husband, for cultural reasons? Let's broaden the scope to the general public. Why do women spends billions of dollars for clothes, cosmetics, plastic surgery, etc. to look a certain way? Is it not to look attractive to others? I would argue almost the opposite, I think women are too focused on looking a certain way and what they are not, instead of celebrating what they are and defining their own definition of beauty.

Now I can see that your statement may be true in terms of sexuality. There's a definate stigma attached to a women who are sexually assertive. However, I think that is more a function of man's insecurity. I have little doubt though, that this stigma is losing it predominance. However, I don't think it will ever go away for basic biological reasons.