RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


if doc'd say you may never cycle again, what would you do?(25 posts)

if doc'd say you may never cycle again, what would you do?cyclopathic
Sep 4, 2002 3:06 PM
just got my knees X-rayed.. like a model on shoot out.. so many shots!
I can't hear you, did you say what if the Doc cut off my di@&!Juanmoretime
Sep 4, 2002 3:21 PM
Take up rowing, kayaking, etc.czardonic
Sep 4, 2002 3:42 PM
Don't they make an arm powered recumbent?

Hope you don't have to consider these options.
2nd this notionwonderdog
Sep 5, 2002 8:11 AM
whitewater kayaking is one of the most fun activities I've ever participated in. Nothing beats the scenery, and the adrenaline rush from running class 4 rapids is addictive.

plus, there are no SUVs to contend with.

Eric
i'd have more time for sex! nmsweetbuns
Sep 4, 2002 3:55 PM
:P
Consider ignoring him, then probably take up swimming. nmMXL02
Sep 4, 2002 4:13 PM
Not enough scenery in swimming for me...retro
Sep 4, 2002 4:20 PM
A similar thing happened to me about 15 years ago. I'd been a 50-100 mile-per-week runner since the early '70s, and my knees just wouldn't do it anymore. I cycled casually, so I started working harder at that. I love it now, but I sometimes I still miss running.
As for the NEXT step...swimming's too boring for me, unless I lived where the ocean was warm and I could swim in open water. Maybe (seriously) one of those hand-cranked bicycles? A local guy who lost his legs in Vietnam has one. He's in his late 50s, and he can rip on that thing.
I'd probably build a race car.Spoke Wrench
Sep 4, 2002 4:39 PM
Now - Everybody who thinks bicycle stuff is expensive hold up your hand!
I'd probably build a race car.jefajones
Sep 4, 2002 5:17 PM
I'd like to build a race car also . . . a nice SCCA auto cross racer . . . on a GM f body platform.
I'd probably build a race car.Spoke Wrench
Sep 5, 2002 6:09 AM
I was thinking more like a bug chassis with a Porsche RSK kit body.
been there, done thatgtx
Sep 4, 2002 4:50 PM
The joys of modern imaging. I got diagnosed with herniated discs and was told my riding days were over. That was several years and many thousands of miles ago...

Don't know what kind of pain you're experiencing, but if it's chronic pain you might want to look at this book.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0446675156

I've had my share of knee problems (used to be a competitive runner) but worked them all out through setup and stretching. Had great results with this book:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0812926234

Anyway, I thought they prescribed cycling for people with bad knees? Have you tried a sports doc or a PT who is familiar with cycling? I know a 72 year old ex-marathoner who was recently forced to quit running at gunpoint by his doctor--who prescribed cycling!

Swimming is a great workout, but I always found it boring.

Good luck!
also, did you see this?gtx
Sep 4, 2002 4:59 PM
pretty interesting study if you were considering knee surgery

http://www3.cosmiverse.com/news/science/0702/science07110203.html

I'm convinced that most sports-related knee issues are the result of poor flexability. Since I started a more regular stretching routine (Whartons method) I haven't had so much as a knee twinge.
I'd rather give up cycling than take up stretching!dzrider
Sep 5, 2002 4:44 AM
I find stretching to be among the most boring and unfulfilling things to do with my body. I get nowhere near the positions pictured in the books and in many cases my joints hurt before my muscles feel anything at all. I feel no different after stretching than before. Luckily, by running more in the cold, dark months and cycling more in the warm, light ones I seem to be able to avoid serious injury.
thanx, good articlecyclopathic
Sep 5, 2002 6:18 AM
that's what my preliminary diagnosis is osteoarthritis, I'll keep it in mind.
been there, done thatfbg111
Sep 4, 2002 6:18 PM
Yup, I have knee injuries from years of soccer in high school and college. Biking is the #1 best exercise for strengthening them. I did almost all my rehab on exercise bikes and stairmasters, and b/c of that I didn't have to have arthroscopic surgery. Of course, it depends on the injury. A triathlete friend of mine got repetitive use knee-injuries from cycling and can't do it anymore.
I'd start hanging out with sweetbuns! nmCaptain Morgan
Sep 4, 2002 6:15 PM
;)
Something crazy to impress AllisonHayes (nm)js5280
Sep 4, 2002 6:25 PM
Allison, Allison, where for art thou Allison? Don't let the misogynists scare you away, they're just threated by your superior wit and intellect.
If doc said you may never cycle again......rbb
Sep 5, 2002 3:35 AM
I'd be bummed, hope you don't have to think of options very seriously.
I'd get into coaching, volunteering at the track/ races or being an official. That way you can still stay in the sport and it will also help others. As for being active, health wise, I might go for swimming just anything that gets me outside and gives you a good workout.
Good luck!

-Bob
See another doc. Someone who knows cycling. nmMB1
Sep 5, 2002 4:32 AM
Get a second opinion. And a 3rd, 4th, 5thmoneyman
Sep 5, 2002 5:36 AM
If necessary. I cannot imagine my life without cycling. I cannot imagine something so severe that I could not figure out a way to ride my bike, regardless of how modified my ride might need to be.

The MDs do not have a monopoly on health decisions. And, contrary to popular opinion, they are sometimes wrong.

$$
Get second opinionTurtleherder
Sep 5, 2002 6:26 AM
A few years ago I had a "sports orthopedic" tell me I had torn cartilage and he wanted to scope my knee. I said lets wait awhile and see if it feels better with more conservative treatment. Guess what? No operation, no pain, no problems since. Get another opinion.
Find a doctor who is a cyclist or at least an athletemr_spin
Sep 5, 2002 8:13 AM
Go to a doctor who deals with athletes, not just an orthopedist. This is extremely important if you plan on continuing cycling.

I'm trying to remember where you live and I can't, but if you live in a city that has a professional sports team, find out who the team doctor is and go there. He is likely better informed than most doctors on the latest techniques and theory about injuries to athletes. Don't settle for anything less.
i would find another sport/exercise option...Marcocyclo
Sep 5, 2002 8:37 AM
but if can't cycle, seems walking would be a problem if the knees are that bad. (speaking as one with bad knees)

??,
marco
See my doctor....4bykn
Sep 5, 2002 12:58 PM
Same problem (osteoarthritis), different joint (left hip). My orthopedic guy told me that riding is absolutely the best thing I can do for the joint. If I want my hip to last, I need to ride, otherwise it's hip-replacement time.
Podiatrist?StewK
Sep 6, 2002 7:19 AM
I agree with all those who said to look for a second opinion. I don't know the extent of your knee problems, but the reason I suggested a podiatrist is because I know a physical therapist who's doctor told her she should give up cycling because of her knee problems. That was not an option for her so she went to a podiatrist who was able to diagnose the root of her problem and prescribed orthotics. Last year she rode across the country.