RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Graduate School in the US(18 posts)

Graduate School in the USI Love Shimano
Sep 4, 2002 1:47 AM
Part of my plans in the future is to get a masters degree (MA in Marketing, Finance, or an MBA). One of my options is to get one in the US. According to most of my teachers, the quality of education in the US is significantly better than here in my country.

What schools would you recommend to someone who performed average, at best during college?
Mercer UniversityDCW
Sep 4, 2002 2:22 AM
If you want to combine a business progam with good, very accessible road cycling and decent mountain biking trails, you might consider Mercer University. It has a full range of graduate and professional schools (medicine, nursing, law, theology, business, engineering, pharmacy) with business programs at both its Atlanta and Macon, Georgia, campuses. (www.Mercer.edu)

I teach at the Mercer Law School in Macon. Having lived all over the U.S. and in several other countries, I find Macon to be one of the best cycling environments for recreational cycling. We have our share of national and international competitors (mostly triathletes), but the local racing scene is marginal.
1998 Mercer Law Graduateebb2
Sep 4, 2002 4:41 AM
How long have you been at Mercer Law?
Since 1990Look381i
Sep 4, 2002 7:01 AM
I'm Chris Wells. Who are you? E. Baylor Bassett, by any chance?

(By the way, depending on the computer I use, I am "DCW" or "Look 381i.")
Since 1990ebb2
Sep 4, 2002 7:15 AM
You got it right. E. Baylor Bassett. not to hard when I told you I was a '98 grad. I had no idea that you were a cyclist.
Here's some evidence . . .Look381i
Sep 4, 2002 7:36 AM
from this past summer. Taken on Alpe d'Huez on a "rest day" from following the TdF.

Where are you? What kind of riding do you do?
ebb2
Sep 4, 2002 7:54 AM
I just sent you e-mail to wells_dc@mercer.edu

I am in LaGrange, Ga working in the Trust and Estate business. I am working to move back to Macon. My wife wants to be closer to her parents.

I ride a Trek 2300 road bike. However, I've had arthritis in my knees since I was eight years old, so I am limited in my mileage and speed. I try to get in between 75-100 miles per week.
Nothing came throughLook381i
Sep 4, 2002 8:22 AM
The email address is correct, and usually messages arrive instantly.
suck it up and go for the big guys...daneil
Sep 4, 2002 5:09 AM
Hell what could it hurt? Apply to NYU Stern, Penn State Wharton and see what happens. The worst that could happen is you don't get accepted. And as for biking nyc is making strides and Plattekill is pretty damn close. Just ask how many of us live in nyc, you'd be surprised.

NYU (I'm a little partial to them NYU's my alma mater and I 've worked in the Marketing dept. for about a year now.
http://www.stern.nyu.edu/marketing

Penn
http://www.wharton.upenn.edu/
Not necessarily.djg
Sep 4, 2002 5:51 AM
I did some admissions work for the University of Chicago business school when I was in grad school. They received many applications from abroad and average didn't cut it. Not even close. It doesn't hurt to shoot a little high with one or two applications--in fact, it's probably a good ideal--but a big stack of applications to schools beyond one's credentials is probably just a waste of time and money.

There are various guides to US B schools--a trip to a good bookstore or library is probably highly worthwhile. Also, the poster's professors may be able to suggest some realistic applications, given the experience of others from the poster's university background. In-hand board scores are also helpful for narrowing the field.
even bettermr_spin
Sep 4, 2002 7:34 AM
Stanford has a great MBA program, and you cannot beat the riding that starts right outside the back gate. Unlike NY and PA, you can ride year round. Sure, it gets cold and wet, but snow is incredibly rare.
University of Texas at Austin nmLeroy
Sep 4, 2002 5:12 AM
Marginal at best? Hmm. Sounds like a perfect candidate forKen of Fresno
Sep 4, 2002 7:19 AM
Fresno State University. Seriously thought, their business shcool is quite good and very cost effective. You can view a video of their business program from this link. Oh, and lots of places to ride road and mountain here in central California.

http://www.craig.csufresno.edu/

Best of luck,
Ken
ThanksI Love Shimano
Sep 4, 2002 5:17 PM
I will check out this university.

Thanks to the others too, for their honest opinions.

Cheers!
How about Yale? It worked for C student George W Bush (nm)ColnagoFE
Sep 4, 2002 8:20 AM
Actually, his MBA is from Harvard...TJeanloz
Sep 4, 2002 8:34 AM
C's at Yale are good enough for HBS...
Also helps for your dad to be Director of the CIA. nmfbg111
Sep 4, 2002 9:20 AM
Large public universityfbg111
Sep 5, 2002 4:25 AM
With average grades, your best bet is a larger public university. You'll probably have a better chance of getting in than with smaller private ones (with the notable exceptions of NYU, University of Chicago, and a few others), and they still have excellent academic programs. There should be various college rankings on the internet, like US News & World Report, for instance. Some of the rankings even break down the school by academic departments and rate those as well. Just make sure to read the ranking criteria, as you may disagree with some of the methodology, which could affect your opinion of a school's rank.

http://www.usnews.com/usnews/edu/grad/rankings/mba/brief/mbarank_brief.php

Check Google for others.