RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Riders are in awe of me...(41 posts)

Riders are in awe of me...briko51
Sep 3, 2002 2:27 PM
I hate to sound cocky...but this is the only conclusion i have come to. when i'm out riding...i ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS acknowledge and wave to another rider. if i'm on the flats i say "hey, whats up!" and wave. if i'm climbing i at least say "HEY! whats up!"...

i either never get a response back or the other rider drops their jaw and just STARES! no kidding...they stare like i'm from another planet. i'm 22, lean, and wear the euro team clothing...even riding on an older fausto coppi frame (nothing fancy)! lol. whats the deal? i feel like i've done something wrong when i'm just being friendly. and these instances haven't occured on climbs where the other person is struggling. on flats where they CAN raise a hand...

do you ever NOT wave to anther rider. considering you're NOT climbing or suffering???
Not many riders where you live?MB1
Sep 3, 2002 2:32 PM
Try riding around here. Pretty soon you will no longer wave to all the other riders going by.
Check your shorts, maybe you have a split? -nmSnowBlind
Sep 3, 2002 2:46 PM
re: Riders are in awe of me...pnitefly
Sep 3, 2002 2:48 PM
I know exactly what you mean...this could have been posted by me! I wave to anyone I see riding whether they are on a Huffy or a Colnago. I feel that we have at least one thing in common if we are both out riding. Why not give a friendly wave to a fellow enthusiast? Obviously not a good idea since I have had people swerve in astonishment, quickly pedal away (the other direction of course) or just stare dumbfounded. However, for the few that do wave back I think it's pretty cool. It's like "Hey, we're out here, Bike-1pt Couch-0pts" Kinda cool. When I am suffering though I don't bother.
re: Riders are in awe of me...Me Dot Org
Sep 3, 2002 2:55 PM
I guess I'm somewhere in the middle. If someone is on the opposite side of the road, most of the time I give the little hand wave off the handlebars, or a nod of the head. If I'm passing someone... sometimes I do, sometimes I don't. If we're on a hill, I might just say 'hi' to conserve oxygen. On the flats, I might say 'hi'... it depends on the situation. If we're in traffic, probably not. On the open road where it's quite, probably will.

My favorite thing is waving to kids on training wheels.
The wavefiltersweep
Sep 3, 2002 2:56 PM
Why would I wave at every other rider I see? It is not like we all belong to the same secret society.

I wave at people I know, people I've ridden with before, people who wave to me, and people that I see riding all the time... but it is the subtle wave or the nod of acknowledgement (generally).
Sing the sexy songKristin
Sep 3, 2002 2:59 PM
Always works for me when my panties get in a bunch over the racer next door who never acknowleges me. You know how it goes... "I'm too sexy for my bike, too sexy for my jersey, too sexy for my zips..." You know.
You're trying to hardCT5
Sep 3, 2002 3:18 PM
to sound female, just like AllisonHayes. Give it up.
Oh, you are nice.MB1
Sep 3, 2002 3:21 PM
Why rip on other posters? I don't get it, not called for at all.

Oh wait, I forget...they don't teach tolerance in grammer school any more.
I rip on the posers, not postersCT5
Sep 3, 2002 3:27 PM
and it's grammar, not grammer.
And it's "TOO" hard, not "to" hard!nmACE-
Sep 3, 2002 4:31 PM
nm
Take a pollCT5
Sep 3, 2002 3:37 PM
See how many other people find guys posing as women totally disgusting, particularly here. That's what's uncalled for, not calling him on it.

"Kristen" says his "panties" get in a "bunch?" C'mon! That's what guys say to women - "Don't get your panties in a bunch." Chicks never say that about themselves. Total poser.
Here is a poll for you CT5critmass
Sep 3, 2002 3:55 PM
How many people think someone who has been posting for only a month should wait longer than that before making stupid statements about other posters?
Since CT5 has only been posting under that name for a month it may be inferred that this poll is about him!
Kristen has been here a long time...ACE-
Sep 3, 2002 4:34 PM
She's a Lady. You are apparently not a gentleman.
I couldn't have said it better myself-nmms
Sep 3, 2002 4:51 PM
So true. Well said. -nmTig
Sep 4, 2002 5:29 AM
Aww, you guys are all so sweet. Thanks! (nm)Kristin
Sep 4, 2002 7:09 AM
OK ok - there's nothing to see here...Eager Beagle
Sep 4, 2002 1:05 AM
Someone keep him talking while I sneak round the back with the net....
Women are worse than menStampertje
Sep 4, 2002 4:05 AM
You've apparently never talked to people of the female persuasion before... they can be more blunt than any man I've ever met. Although in your case I suppose they'd just hit you. Never mind.
My panties are in a bunch...Spinchick
Sep 4, 2002 4:07 AM
over your ignorance.

Here's one "chick" who tends to use that phrase quite a bit.
CT5...does that stand for cat5?Kristin
Sep 4, 2002 7:07 AM
I could say many brass things, but I won't. The mystery adds something, don't you think. For instance, we'll always wonder if CT5 is just a 120 lb., pimple-faced fourteen year old, or if he is pro-racer. Though I don't think that takes much guessing.

As for me. I like a little mystery. I am who I am, and who I am is me.
CT5...does that stand for cat5?Fredrico
Sep 4, 2002 10:02 AM
I seem to remember CT5 stands for Colnago Titanium bicycle design #5. It was on the market a few years ago.

Ain't that right, CT5?
Nice try, JimCT5
Sep 4, 2002 11:07 AM
CT5 doesn't stand for Cat 5. I'm a recreational rider, not a racer. Never even been a Cat 5. But then again, I never claimed otherwise. I have a CT1, but that moniker was taken, so I chose CT5. But this really isn't about me. Whether I'm a 14 year old pimply faced kid or a racer of any caliber really has no bearing on whether or not I can tell you are a man. Nice attempt at switching the subject, though.

I have had a series of discussions last night and this morning with three licensed psychiatrist friends of mine (one of whom is a real female), and they reviewed your postings to this forum. Their unanimous conclusion: you are definitely a man posing as a woman. Maybe an aspiring writer trying to test your skills at simulating female dialogue, or maybe a lonely man trying to create a persona more likely to attract the attention of others, but a rather crude and amusing attempt at female impersonation nevertheless. For those of you who remain unconvinced, I suggest that you review his recent postings with a more critical eye. The "mystery" of his gender, as he calls it, is anything but.

As for the comments of others: the fact that I have not been at this forum long does not disqualify my opinion or make it any less sound. In fact, a fresh set of eyes may be to my advantage because I am untainted by a long-term assumption that he is female. And the fact that he has posted here for a while doesn't make him any less male, does it? That simply shows that he has been perpetuating this charade and deceiving other posters for quite some time. And you are right, I am indeed not a Gentleman to men who pose as Ladies.

That being said, I will not post anything further on this subject. Kristen, or Jim, or whatever your real name is, if the other posters are satisfied believing you're female, so be it, but you can't fool all of the people all of the time.
Theodink, you are back! LOL nmliar-liar-pants-on-fire
Sep 4, 2002 12:02 PM
Why do you care?Len J
Sep 4, 2002 12:15 PM
Let's face it, as someone said before, Every post on this board could be done by a retired 60 year old lady truck driver living in Paramus NJ. That's the thing about the internet, you really can't tell.

So why care?

You've invested way too much time and energy in this "Exposure" of Kristin, at least way more than seems worth it for as little as you have invested in this board. I don't get your motivation.

As to Kristin's sex, I certainly have never met her and as with most people on this board, I take them as they present themselves, which they do for their own reasons. Kristin has been a valuable contributor on this board for several years and as such, I take her at face value. Could I be wrong? sure, but will that in any way dilute the value she has added? Not for me.

And as to your friends. You may want to remind them that in every population there is a normal distribution around the mean. How can they say what anyone is based on a limited sample of writing, (With any certainty)? Proabability may be with them but probability is not certainty (which is how you presented it).

I have to believe (Giving you the benefit of the doubt) that there are much more important things you could invest your time in.

Len
Lighten up....4bykn
Sep 4, 2002 2:37 PM
Kristin is female, I've met her and ridden with her a couple times.

i "That being said, I will not post anything further on this subject."
Good, since you are
b soooooo
wrong.
Don't confuse him with reality!critmass
Sep 4, 2002 3:09 PM
If he had been around for a while he would have known that. Besides he has "three licensed psychiatrist friends" who are helping him with his delusions. Let's all hope his chemical balance is soon back to normal levels.
CT5 = 0.Steve98501
Sep 4, 2002 4:16 PM
Saw a photo of Kristin over a year ago in regard to another matter entirely. She looks very female in it. No reason she would have been disguising her gender under those particular circumstances. Looks like you and your 3 friends blew it.
OCD?Spinchick
Sep 5, 2002 7:48 AM
Ever hear of it? Sure you have - you have three licensed psychiatrist friends. Anyone who obsesses this much about some person on an internet forum is sure to have this diagnosis. Careful - this kind of behavior may lead to stalking.
re: Riders are in awe of me...The Human G-Nome
Sep 3, 2002 3:13 PM
rules of thumb for me:

if a rider waves, at least nod back.
if you're in the middle of nowhere and you haven't seen another cyclist for at least a half an hour, feel free to waive to the passing rider who's headed the other direction.
if you're in a busy park on a bike path amongst 400 other riders, waiving to the other cyclist is akin to shaking a strangers hand on the street. if you must, at least have a personality and make it interesting. otherwise, no thanks.
re: Riders are in awe of me...mackgoo
Sep 3, 2002 3:21 PM
Maybe your breath stinks.
i guess me breath does stink...briko51
Sep 3, 2002 3:54 PM
damn, probably forgot to brush my teeth before the ride today, LOL :)
re: Riders are in awe of me...rwbadley
Sep 3, 2002 4:10 PM
I posted earlier on this topic.

I live in an area where few riders are on the road. I do try to acknowledge other riders 'cuz there just aren't that many here.

If I were in a large town/city or Beijing, it is unlikely the greeting would be continued. But I would return one if offered one in any event.

There are always other circumstances. Working hard up a hill, or intense concentration on form or speedwork, etc..

RW

RW
Please53T
Sep 3, 2002 4:57 PM
First of all, when working hard up a hill you must talk to other riders. First take a real deep breath, as you make eye contact talk as naturally and calmly as you can. Pretend that you are coasting down the other side. this is vital race tactic that needs to be practiced. As far as intense concentration on form, you've lost me there. I guess you could spend a few minutes visualizing mud on your cleats or chanting "pedal in circles". Speedwork? That's something runners do, we do intervals.
Oh, you're right...rwbadley
Sep 3, 2002 8:10 PM
While climbing an 8% grade, it is important to maintain a facade of composure for the benefit of those on the descent at 40+ mph. In a group going up same hill, I have to admit to never having seen anyone do other than your description of calmness.

Intense concentration sounds like something you may not be familiar with. Ever ride fixed gear at 160+ cadence? I can tell you no concentration is needed for that. We have some wicked hills around here, I would never think about concentrating on form for the descent of those.

Speedwork? Intervals involve bursts of speed at or near max effort for a particular duration. Usually a short period of time. Ever try to sustain it at slightly less intensity?

Thanks for the reply, 53T. You sound like the sort that one could learn alot from. I will alter my training and semantics per your instruction.

My original post, I thought, did not warrant or call for a condescending response from anyone. I guess I better watch my form and put more concentration into my next reply, eh?

RW

RW
ooops, my oldtimers is acting up...rwbadley
Sep 3, 2002 8:58 PM
Speed work may also be of highest intensity for typically less than thirty seconds, but it really depends on your use in context.

RW
I always say how ya doin'High Gear
Sep 3, 2002 4:56 PM
But know what you mean. I think some people that ride do it because they are loners and can exercise without any interaction. There are some strange people out there.
re: Riders are in awe of me...MasterBlaster
Sep 3, 2002 5:35 PM
I have the same problem when driving my car. I wave to every driver I see and they never wave back!;)
Move to East Texas.Fredrico
Sep 4, 2002 9:59 AM
The country people wave at ya on them farm-to-market roads. It's a disappearing culture, sadly.
what's the big deal.elviento
Sep 3, 2002 8:34 PM
Here is a poem I read recently:

People are often unreasonable,
illogical and self-centered;
Forgive them anyway.

If you are kind,
People may accuse you
of selfish, ulterior motives;
Be Kind anyway.

If you are successful,
you will win some false friends and
some true enemies;
Succeed anyway. people may cheat you;
Be honest and frank anyway.

What you spend years building,
someone could destroy overnight;
Build anyway

If you find serenity and happiness,
they may be jealous;
Be happy anyway.

The good you do today,
people will often forget tomorrow;
Do good anyway.

Give the world the best you have,
and it may never be enough;
Give the world the best you've got anyway.
...

Now you can add: "wave to and greet other cyclists on your ride, and they might not wave back to you, WAVE TO AND GREET THEM ANYWAY" to the poem. Exactly how I feel. Do your part, and let the rest runs its course.
Thanks elviento, I like that nmrwbadley
Sep 3, 2002 8:53 PM