RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


2003 Giant Arrives---so give me your thoughts here(20 posts)

2003 Giant Arrives---so give me your thoughts hereRoadnMtn
Sep 3, 2002 9:37 AM
I know I know, this is hardly a Litespeed, Airborne, or high-end Trek, but I love this bike! I got a roadbike to supplement my mountain biking, mainly because where I live it is a long drive to decent trails, so I can ride during the week, and I am actually discovering I like road riding as much as mountain. The bike has 105 components...your opinion, Dura Ace it this winter or just leave what is on there alone? I don't road race, but am doing organized century rides and other group type rides. I chose the Areo because the frame is identical to the rest of the TCR series in terms of geometry. Any other suggestions?

Thanks for the help in advance!
re: 2003 Giant Arrives---so give me your thoughts herealiensporebomb
Sep 3, 2002 9:44 AM
(Shrug)

I LOVE my TCR2 (Just got it 7/3/2002) so for me it's great
to finally have a working road bike.

My opinion is keep the 105 on there until it starts showing
signs of wear, then move to D-A. Or, if you see a great
deal on Dura Ace components maybe get it then.

Otherwise, you got a great bike and enjoy it! Currently I'm at about 388 miles and increasing on mine.
Why are you putting down the Giant?Rev Bubba
Sep 3, 2002 9:46 AM
Really, so its not a Trek or Airborne or Litespeed. Big deal.

Back to basics though, did you buy that bike in the USA. I'm curious because I have the 2003 Giant Catalog and am very interested in the TCR 2 which the cat. says comes in black with a full 105 group. How did you manage that color unless it was not a US product and is it the full 105?

Whatever, best of luck with it. I'm primarily a mountain biker looking for a road bike myself.
Excuse my questionsRev Bubba
Sep 3, 2002 9:48 AM
Part of the screen was blocked out and I did not see that it was the Aero. Ooops.

Anyway, I still think the Giant is a hell of a nice bike.
Hey Rev! Flyer from mtbr here!RoadnMtn
Sep 3, 2002 9:53 AM
Not putting it down at all...I love the thing! I ride Giant Mtn Bikes as well. Yes, I bought this in the US, in Chicago actually. I ordered it back in August. The 2003 Aeros (there are two models now) are Black for the Aero 1, which has the shifters at the end of the aero bars...which I didn't want, and ultegra components. It also does not have drop bars. It is truly built for TT. The Aero 2 is the compromise between TT and Road. Pearled White Frame and is completely 105. I did remove the Giant composite seat post because they sent the wrong size, and put an Easton Carbon on in the mean time, which actually I like. The bike weighs just under 19 pounds as it sits right now.

2003 Giants should be available right now by order from a dealer, however I don't know about all models. I think the complete line is available by mid September.
Why are you putting down the Giant?aliensporebomb
Sep 3, 2002 10:04 AM
Also this frame was what Team ONCE rode in the TdF.

Good enough for them, good enough for me!
Looks hot, but...riding it in centuries???!!!MXL02
Sep 3, 2002 9:46 AM
Man, when I test road a TCR, it seemed very fast and nimble but not very comfortable for long rides..my only suggestion would be a well padded seat.
Looks hot, but...riding it in centuries???!!!aliensporebomb
Sep 3, 2002 9:56 AM
It depends - I just came off of a 35 mile ride that I wished
WOULDN'T have ended (had stuff to do, you know?) it was very
comfortable.

My older road bike was painful as scissors compared to the
TCR - all of that carbon just smooths out the whole experience.
Looks hot, but...riding it in centuries???!!!RoadnMtn
Sep 3, 2002 9:59 AM
Actually I put 50 miles on it the day before yesterday and it was very comfortable throughout the entire ride. I was going to replace the saddle, but it has a Selle Trans Am, and I actually liked it.
It just goes to show how individualized this sport is...MXL02
Sep 3, 2002 10:04 AM
I didn't like the Trans Am either...oh, well, glad you have a nice new ride...good luck and enjoy.
If it was my bike...Spoke Wrench
Sep 3, 2002 9:47 AM
I wouldn't worry too much about upgrading until stuff starts to wear out. The price of the higher rated components goes up quite a bit faster than the performance gain.
Sweet ride. . .js5280
Sep 3, 2002 10:02 AM
Love the look, colors, setup. I got a road bike for the same reasons about 2.5 years ago, still love both. Now you just got to start swimming and running and sign up for some tri's! No reasons to apoligize with that bike (I own an Airborne) I think you'll be very happy with it and it will serve you well.
my giant is due in 4 weeks (or so) . . .jefajones
Sep 3, 2002 11:26 AM
your bike is a sweet looking ride. I like to color. My Giant TCR composite 0 frame is due in a month or so - the one with blue and white accents. I do like the aero frame . . .

105 is probably going to suit you well, Ultegra may be a reasonable compromise, especially if you pick up used stuff off the classifieds. However, if you are a shimano person, once you use DA you will probably never go back.
re: 2003 Giant Arrives---so give me your thoughts herefbg111
Sep 3, 2002 12:03 PM
Sweet bike. I just got a 2002 TCR 2 recently and have been riding the heck out of it. Just like Aliensporbomb's pic. 105's are smooth and quick, and although I've never used Dura Ace I'd recommend for $$'s sake to stick with 105 until they wear out, then upgrade to Dura Ace. Unless you just have a couple hundred $$ burning a hole in your pocket and absolutely must have the best.

Interesting how the down tube is shaped like the old OCR's down tube - large oval cut section instead of circular like the 02 TCR's. I wonder why they went back to that. Also, the seat tube looks really cool and very aero.
re: 2003 Giant Arrives---so give me your thoughts hereRoadnMtn
Sep 3, 2002 12:28 PM
Actually on the TCR Aero Series (which are suppose to be TT bikes, however there is no difference in frame angle geometry between it and the TCR road frames) the down tube is oval, and the seat tube wedge shaped both last year and this year, I suppose for aerodynamics. I bought the aero because I liked the frame better than the conventional round tubing. The other difference is that on the seat tube, if you look carefully, is actually shaped with an indentation on back to allow for rear tire clearance which I don't think is on the roundtube versions (though it might be).

The TCR and TCR elite series still have the circular downtube setup for 2003, although I haven't seen a carbon frame yet, and they have 3 models of the TCR being offered in it (I think the frames are the same, save color, the price difference is components). I did see the weights, which I am still wondering if there is a typo in the catalog. They (Giant) are advertising the carbon frame TCR weight at under 1000 grams.
Where can i find 2003 colors???briko51
Sep 3, 2002 3:58 PM
did giant update their site in the past day? i'm curious to know if the TCR0 and TCR1 have the same black and silver (respectively) as 2002...thanks!
re: 2003 Giant Arrives---so give me your thoughts herefbg111
Sep 3, 2002 5:52 PM
Right, I forgot about the Aero. If you compare the pics, it looks like the '02 TCR Aero is now the '03 TCR 2. The circle-tubed TCR's also have that seat tube indentation, but it's not as pronounced as that of the Aero. Probably cuz the TCR seat tube is smaller and therefore does not infringe quite as much on the rear wheel.

There's a pic of a carbon TCR frame that the ONCE team rode in TDF in a recent post here. It's probably a few pages back now, but is titled Giant 2003 Carbon or something like that. It looks nice.

Aero:


TCR 2:
re: 2003 Giant Arrives---so give me your thoughts herejwarrenod
Sep 3, 2002 5:46 PM
I'm still loving my 2001 TCR 2. I upgraded the wheelset to Kysuium Elites and have speedplay pedals, otherwise stock. Great responsive ride. The 105 components have worked very well so far.

JW
re: 2003 Giant Arrives---so give me your thoughts herejwarrenod
Sep 3, 2002 6:04 PM
Forgot the picture of my ride...

JW
re: 2003 Giant Arrives---so give me your thoughts herealiensporebomb
Sep 3, 2002 8:19 PM
I like the blue/black tires contrasting with the yellow finish. A cool idea.