RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What tire pressure are you running?(22 posts)

What tire pressure are you running?fracisco
Sep 2, 2002 10:13 PM
I have been running 120psi front/125psi rear on my Conti GP3000's, but I have read in a few different sources over the past couple of months that pressure as low as 95 - 100 psi might work better.

I am going to try it on my Tuesday morning group ride, but I was curious about your findings.
It dependsI Love Shimano
Sep 2, 2002 10:45 PM
Guys who tell me to run at 100-110 psi are 130-150 lbs.

I am 160 lbs., so their psi preference may not work for me. I run 140 psi rear, 120-125 psi front.
re: What tire pressure are you running?aliensporebomb
Sep 3, 2002 2:17 AM
I'm at 110 both front and rear, haven't played with the pressure too much - might try 120 next ride but was hoping
to preserve this set of tread as long as I can so as to not
use the limits.
Same tires andgrandemamou
Sep 3, 2002 5:56 AM
I use 85-90 with 23c. FWIW I weigh 150 lbs. Like most people I ran for many years at the max. What I have found at lower preassures. The tires handle better, they offer a plusher ride and the tires last longer. The only downside is you have to air up before every ride.

I wouldn't go this low with 20c because of pinch flats.
I tried 100/110 psi this morningfracisco
Sep 3, 2002 7:11 AM
I tried 100/110 psi this morning, and I did not notice a difference from running at 120/125 psi, so I think I'll run at this pressure for awhile.
I weigh 230, rarely go over 100-105psiretro
Sep 3, 2002 7:46 AM
I use bigger tires than most people, usually 28s or 32s (which aren't any slower for me than 23s, by the way). As a rule I run 100 pounds, sometimes a little less over chip-sealed roads or other harsh surfaces. It's more comfortable and stable, easily worth the small trade-off in rolling resistance to me.
what pressure do/would you run for a 23 though?ColnagoFE
Sep 3, 2002 10:20 AM
Hard to compare a 32 to a 23 for PSI. I mean I run my 2.1 MTB tires at 45-50 but that doesn't mean I'd run my 23 road tires at that pressure.
ContisColnagoFE
Sep 3, 2002 10:17 AM
I like the feel of 115-120PSI on my conti GPs pr GP 3000s. Anything less seems squishy to me. Michelin Axial pros seem squishier even at full pressure. Bottom line, I just don't like the feel of less pressure. Seem to corner just fine.
Axial Prosfracisco
Sep 3, 2002 10:31 AM
I have Axial Pros on another set of wheels, and they do feel "squishier" when run at the same psi as the GP3000's on these wheels.

I'm going to try 100 psi for now, and see how it goes.
Been running Conti 23's at 100 front and 105 rear for a month...Tig
Sep 3, 2002 10:52 AM
...and like the increased comfort and more secure cornering feel. Otherwise there isn't any obvious difference. As for increased rolling resistance, I think only a calibrated instrument could tell the difference between 120 and 100 psi! I've experienced only one flat from a nail or wire during this lower pressure.
You'll be S-L-O-Wgrzy
Sep 3, 2002 1:04 PM
Just what are you hoping to find? The quick answer is that your rolling resistance will be up and it'll require more energy input due to the additional losses experienced in the greater deformation and work of deforming the sidewall which shows up as heat. This assumes that you're running normal 23 mm tires.
You'll be S-L-O-W - NOT!clintb
Sep 3, 2002 1:39 PM
No, the quick answer is that you'll be more comfortable, have better traction and get higher mileage from your tires.

Where's the SCIENTIFIC proof that running your tires at the max psi will reduce rolling resistance? Just an emperical "seat of the pants" judgement call? I think not. An opinion from Bicycling magazine? Try again. Opinions from others on the Internet? Won't be getting out the slide rule for that one. Heat? Tires will pick up more from the road than you can generate.

Yeah, I spent many years with 23c tires at the max (120-125psi) and wondered why they would stutter around a semi-rough corner. Now, with the pressure down at 100, I have a much smoother ride and the bike just plain handles better. Oh, and I'm 195lbs. Not a light weight by any means.
You'll be S-L-O-W - NOT!SteveS
Sep 3, 2002 1:43 PM
Interesting as I just lowered the pressure on my 23Cs (Vredestein Tri Comp and Hutchinson somethings) from 125 psi to 105+. Didn't feel bad to me and no flats. We'll see how they how up, but if I am more comfortable, fine, I can live with the extra tire wear. (if it exists)
for whatever it's worthDougSloan
Sep 3, 2002 2:04 PM
US Postal runs 110 psi in their tires in the Tour. Seems low to me, but that's what they say.

Doug
Huhgrzy
Sep 3, 2002 3:03 PM
Then I guess all the trackies running tubulars at 140 psi or more is kinda lost on you. Hey, if 100 psi is fast you should scream at 60. BTW - Bicycling mag is for pussies.
Huhmackgoo
Sep 3, 2002 3:34 PM
Conditions on the track may be a little diferent than road. I'm not sure though.
Ya got a bugger with that grease?
Huhclintb
Sep 4, 2002 12:09 PM
grzy,
No, 140psi tire pressure for the track isn't lost on me. It would be lost if the track is where I rode and didn't setup my bike appropriately. Also, we're talking clinchers here, not tubies. The two are worlds apart. Are all of the roads you ride on, "track perfect"? Didn't think so. So, mister open minded, have YOU tried varying tire pressures?

At least we're in agreement about Bicycling mag.
re: What tire pressure are you running?mackgoo
Sep 3, 2002 3:30 PM
150.
Wow! "am I going overboard?"El Caballito
Sep 3, 2002 3:31 PM
Hi,
Im using Axial Pros (700x23c) and weigh 190lbs. Usually I'll inflate to 120psi. Is this too much?
re: What tire pressure are you running?JimP
Sep 3, 2002 4:08 PM
120-125 for 22mm tire but then I weigh 185 and the bike is 18 lbs.
Interesting chart. Where did you find it?Tig
Sep 3, 2002 4:27 PM
It puts me at about 85 psi! I'm curious about who developed the chart data and how.
Interesting chart. Where did you find it?JimP
Sep 4, 2002 4:41 AM
The chart was published in one of the bike mags about 15 years ago. I copied it and have been using it since. The theory was to optomize the rolling resistance versus comfort while keeping snake-bite punctures to a minimum. I have had no luck trying to find a newer replacement on the web.

Jim