RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How many cyclists here are pilots too? nm(21 posts)

How many cyclists here are pilots too? nmspyderman
Aug 31, 2002 9:54 PM
I'm commercial, multi-engine. (nm)gogene
Sep 1, 2002 8:35 AM
re: How many cyclists here are pilots too? nmSnowbird
Sep 1, 2002 8:43 AM
I'm a pilot and also raced formula cars for about 15 years but the best sensation of speed is on a road bike. Long twisty downhills really get your attention! Lots of time to ponder the "what ifs".
VFR working on IFRfirstrax
Sep 1, 2002 8:52 AM
Comm/multi inst/IGI/AGI... nmLone Gunman
Sep 1, 2002 11:40 AM
Piper Turbo Arrow (PA28RT), 737, 757, A320, and 777js5280
Sep 1, 2002 1:29 PM
I kid you not. Dated a girl in college who became a professional pilot. She had a really nice Arrow she used to build her hours. We flew all over the place back in college. Not a bad way to travel :-) She also interned with United and had access to the simulators late at night. Got a bunch of time in 737, 757, and the A320 w/ full motion and a little time in the 777 w/out motion. Best video games in the world! Never got my license though, one pilot in the family was enough. Still, I did many of the take offs, landings, navigation, etc. during our flights and help her out a lot with her book work. Great fun, but an expensive hobby. She went on to fly for USAir but got laid off after 9/11, she's flying for small New England commuter now building her PIC time.
Private Pilot, VFR, but haven't flown in almost two yearsKen K
Sep 1, 2002 3:38 PM
And not coincidently, I've had my bike for about two years. On nice sunny days which otherwise would be perfect for flying, I simply get more enjoyment by putting in some hours on the bike. Not sure if I'll start flying again, but I've kept all my gear just in case.

Ken
Air Canada 767 F/Ochskin
Sep 1, 2002 4:18 PM
commercial, me nmRavik
Sep 1, 2002 5:17 PM
I flew an A320 simulator onceklay
Sep 1, 2002 5:44 PM
It was on a visit to Fed-Ex. They were schmoozing me a bit. That was fun.

Lesson learned: A320s don't do too well "off road" and that bridge over the river in Memphis is pretty low ;-)

K
Do Paragliders Count?B2
Sep 1, 2002 9:45 PM
Always a tough decision - soaring or biking? At least you still get some good exercise when you pack a 55lb pack up the mountain. The best part is you don't have to hike down, ...but you may have to hitch back depending on far you get :-).

Bryan
Had a feeling... Somethin' bout them Wright boys and the bike..spyderman
Sep 1, 2002 10:11 PM
I'm working on my Private.

Hopefully I can finish soon... Tough to focus on work, flying and cycling... I plan to get my comm and multi someday. Any tips on creative funding for my other ratings?

Best,
Danno
Yea, get the Govt. to pay for it as in join a branch of militaryLone Gunman
Sep 2, 2002 5:40 AM
Here's a few. . .js5280
Sep 2, 2002 10:26 AM
1. Be an instructor. You build time and make money. Makes you a better pilot too.

2. Hang around the FBO and meet other pilots, maybe they'll invite you up some day and/or be interested in spliting expenses, go on trips, etc.

3. Hang out around the hangars, particularly corporate ones, and make friends. My old girlfriend helped out a Citation pilot who flew for a lawyer. She'd help clean up the planes and do other odd jobs. Lots of times she would help ferry planes around the country or hop along for maintaince flights. She was able to get some good experience in very nice aircraft, including the Citation, this way.

4. Look into flying banners

5. Fly a jump plane (parachutists)

6. Pull Gliders

7. Become a partner with a group of people who own a plane. If you're going to go for your commericial, then owning vs. renting is probably a much better route if you can swing the money. Just like renting vs. owning your own home.
Student with 67 hours ...Humma Hah
Sep 2, 2002 8:14 AM
... I'd have my license now if things didn't keep interfering with the last few hours of training.
re: How many cyclists here are pilots too? nmSkip
Sep 2, 2002 6:17 PM
PP, SEL, Inst., Glider. RV-4.
re: How many cyclists here are pilots too? nmskyman51
Sep 3, 2002 3:43 AM
19 year corporate pilot. Currently with Fortune 100 company.
re: How many cyclists here are pilots too? nmtechie470
Sep 3, 2002 4:44 AM
SEL and Glider for fun flying.

Steve
re: How many cyclists here are pilots too? nmSkip
Sep 3, 2002 9:37 AM
Where do fly gliders, and which ones have you flown?
Former Naval Aviator - Carrier Based.grzy
Sep 3, 2002 8:23 AM
Hold a commercial multi engine instrument rating, but unfortunately I have to work for a living and have a regular job.
Former Navy, Now United, Future CA ANG...ridefly
Sep 5, 2002 10:25 PM
Flew E-6s and Metroliners in the navy. Got out after 10 yrs, hired by United flying 737s. As a back-up job in case the industry goes down the toilet, I got on with the CA Air National Guard and will be flying C-130s. I would rather be a Lance Armstrong or a Roland Green anyday!!! Ride On!!!